We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches Ochos Rios Resort Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Online & Save $55!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beaches Ochos Rios Resort Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We are a returning customer to beaches. Our first experience to beaches was in Turks and Caicos in 2011. It was fabulous so we decided to book again in Ochos Rios in Jamaica June 2013.There is no comparison with resorts and I will describe below. The rooms seemed cleaner in Turks and Caicos. We arrived to Jamaica June 8, 2013 around 4:30 PM and waited only a few minutes in the lobby until our room was cleaned. The room lacked towels a few days in which we had to ask for them and received them quickly. We also lacked toiletries and finally after asking twice received them on Thursday after going over a review with one of the staff. The room service consistently stocked our refrigerator with complimentary soda (coke products) and water. The staff in Jamaica was friendlier than Turks. In Turks, we had to figure everything out ourselves and missed out on a lot of activities for kids. In Jamaica, we were offered tour of the grounds. Ash was phenomenal. she (one of tweens leaders) came around several times daily to make sure our sons knew about activities going on throughout the day and made sure the kids had a great time. She kept mom and dad informed of everything. She was very personable and excellent. Renex, Mario, and Junior
were particularly a hit with the kids and kept the party going. They were great also. Kerry Lee made sure everyone stayed entertained and had a great time with kids and adult games. She even completed a survey with us on the grounds so that the resort knew how we were doing and how they could get better. Diving was excellent with Prince. He was very patient with new divers and personable. However we are certified divers and it was nice to know that you could sign up daily for diving vs Turks. When we were at Turks, diving was signed up for the entire week leaving those that just arrived with no time slots until end of week. Jamaica was fair with diving and snorkeling. However, the Turks had a working dock and more boats than Jamaica. The reefs are no comparison as Turks are beautiful due to marine reserve. Jamaica's reefs were not as beautiful and were constantly fished due to no marine reserve? The banana boat ride was a hit with kids. Snorkeling was fun but not enough time. Need more boats in Jamaica so others can snorkel through day. The beach was small, water cloudy, and swam in a bunch of seaweed. We remained at pool rest of trip. The food was good. Hats off to the chef at Eleanor's. Fantastic food there nod Venetian. The bay side was good for kids as well as Neptunes. We had a candle lit dinner one night on the beach (extra cost) which was great. Sushana did an excellent job serving us and even came up to us at breakfast the next day to ensure we had a great time. She is very good at what she does. Gavin was fun, energetic, and a great cook at bayside buffet. He kept us entertained at the buffet and came out to say hello while we were in the pool. He even held a cooking show where we sampled some Jamaican dishes which were yummy! Our experience was a good one in Jamaica. Turks was great as well. There are always plus and minuses wherever you go. Overall a great time!

Room Tip: We had a suite which was great for family of 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    860
    285
    150
    134
See reviews for
2,171
66
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Beaches from June 8 to the 15th. Our family of 4 went, two boys 6 and 9. Starting from the beginning our ride to the resort took 1 hr and 50 minutes which is normal for a Saturday due to the high volume of people using the road. If you want the 90min ride go during the week. Our ride was easy and our driver was very knowledgeable and shared info along the way. Call us crazy but the ride across the island was enjoyable for us. It gives you the opportunity to see how people live. Our arrival at the resort was great! We were greeted with Rum Punch and a smile. Our room was ready and everything was in working order and very clean. We were escorted to our room and given a brief tour. There are no hotel maps currently because they just switches things around and they are getting them printed. However, they have two orientations everyday for those who wishes to have a guided tour around the property. We did not take a tour we simple walked around and explored on our own.
Food: The food was great for me and my husband. There were plenty of options available. I will say there could be some more options in the Bayside for the kids. There is a small kids corner with usually 2 items. The Venetian was excellent!! They accommodated our picky eaters with plain steaks and plain noodles. DAVIN was an excellent waiter!!! We did not eat at the really nice restaurant Elenor's. They do not have a kids menu which is fine. So we just skipped it. Neptune's was also good and located right by the beach which was nice. We ate most of our meals at Bayside the buffet restaurant and we loved GAVIN the omelette maker, JUANITA the mimosa pusher, Chevron and Milton our waiters most of the time. The BBQ place and Pizza place are connected, we ate here several times. Kids enjoyed the pizza. We also enjoyed the unlimited ice cream.
Bars: All the staff at the bars were very nice. Great selection of drinks! We loved the Dirty Banana drink however there is still a shortage of bananas due to hurricane sandy. So we only enjoyed them on a couple of the days. The kids loved the swim up bar as did I. The staff made my boys endless chocolate milkshakes.
Entertainment: The players made our vacation!!!! CHLOE, JUNIOR, KERRY-LEE, RENEX, MO-MO, JAMELIA and if I forgot someone SORRY. We loved all of you!! You made us feel like family. Our 9 years old loved JUNIOR and he cried went saying goodbye to him. The games were AWESOME!! Huggy bear, in the river on the bank, the Olympics, the treasures hunts and pool games were great. The evening shows were also enjoyable. The fire eater was great. Zappato was also great he balanced our 9 y/o on his shoulder and rode a unicycle. We loved the beach party and roasting marshmallows in the pit.
Misc: Both kids enjoyed the Xbox lounge. At the welcome party the spa staff offered free mini massages which I enjoyed. The Sesame characters were always around doing pics and giving hugs. The stage shows with the characters are cute. Cookie monster did cartwheels!! We did 4 snorkeling trips two 2 different spots. ORLANDO was a great guide and very funny! All the water sports staff were great. My 6 y/o loved the banana boat rides daily. We used the trike-bikes, kayaks, catamarans, paddle boards, and enjoyed it all. The equipment is in good shape. The dock was swept away in the hurricane and they plan to rebuild it but nothing yet. Recovering from a hurricane takes time. The boats pulled very close to the beach and you had to wade knee deep to get on the boats, not a big deal and the staff was there to assist. The kids loved hunting the hermit crabs and big crabs in the bushes.
Pools: The main pool is huge and in great shape. There is a smaller quite pool. The water park area was bigger then what I expected due to the reviews. The are 3 big slides two windy and one fast straight one. There are 5 medium slides two straight and fast and 3 windy. Then the rest are short slides for the little kids. Our 9 and 6 y/o were very happy with the water park. We live in Orlando, FL and have been the both Disney water parks and they were happy. No it isn't a massive water park but it does the job. They also had a shallow wading pool for the little ones. Two large hot tubes are also open to everyone.
We had a wonderful time and would recommend this resort!!! Ruppert at the Soon Come Back desk was very helpful and we did book a return trip in January and we can't wait to return.
Other tips: Do not let the porters in white at the airport take your bags 50 feet to ask for a large tip. we took our suitcases on our own. The welcome lounge at the airport says Sandles not Beaches but they have free drinks and a bathroom. Our wait wasn't long at the lounge barely enough time to drink a drink but you can always take it to go. Sign up for snorkeling trip happens the day before at 8:30am so if you want to go you must get up early to sign up. Our 6 y/o did try out the kids camp and had a good time but was more interested in the xbox lounge. We felt very safe and allowed him to go between the main pool and lounge on his own. Pool towels there was a shortage from time to time but not a big deal to us. We were always able to get a chair at the pool. Again, my 9 y/o loved the snorkeling but I have snorkeled at much prettier reefs. We did take one trip the zip-line and bobsled, had a great time at both. The people were very funny at the zip-line. We did not go to the welcome back party/dinner because our kids are picky and didn't want the food offered. Again not a big deal to us.

Again the people are GREAT and made the entire trip. The entire family agreed it was our best trip ever and we had to return. We have been to all 3 Beaches and the people at this one won us over. No one asked or expected a tip. However our housekeeper was fabulous and we did tip her at the end of the week. She reluctantly took the tip. She was in our room 2 or 3 times a day making it perfect.

A big thank you for making us part of the family and helping us make great memories!!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and we climbed the steps every time. In January we will request a ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're so thrilled to read that you had such a great stay with us at Beaches Ocho Rios. We love to hear that we've met and exceeded the expectations of our guests. I will be sure to let our staff know of your kind mention. They will all be proud to know how much they contributed to your amazing experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another fabulous stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Here with 40 members of a wedding party. Mother in law has sore neck and scared by ride from airport (other passenger threw up from carsickness), more than one room not ready late into afternoon so family members living in lobby after tiring travel to resort, shortage of towels at pool, much touted chocolate buffet empty 20 minutes after opening, room safe not working after 3 calls for repair, rides from both airports turn out to be 2 hours or more. Limited info on facilities, no site map. Noisy carts in hallways, machinery noise, on and on. Astonishing paperwork snafu kept us from Divng today. Counterbalance is the delightfully charming and pleasant staff. Very nice people - but it seems that this resort fails in many ways. My opinion is that the staff works hard, but they struggle with serious lack of effective process. All smiles, promises, pleasantness and limited results.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying your stay with us. I encourage you to reach out to our Director of Guest Services. He has been alerted and is expecting to hear from you. Please give us a chance to make this up to you. We always want to ensure that all of our guests are having a wonderful vacation and it would be nice if we were able to turn things around for you.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to making contact with you soon.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just spent a week at Beaches Ocho Rios and have already booked another trip for next year!! The trip itself was fantastic (getting there and back,not so great- let's just say you should NOT use Spirit Airlines!). As soon as we arrived in Montego Bay, we were greeted by Beaches staff and escorted to the Beaches waiting area. We were the last group in for the day and only had to wait a few minutes for our shuttle.

Prepare yourself, the shuttle really is just under two hours to get to the resort. Driving in Jamaica is very interesting and not at all like we are used to in the United States. There were many times that I was truly scared that we were going to crash! It's bad enough that they drive on the opposite side of the road, but the way this driver, "Shorty," handled things was frightening! We were told later that "we make room, mon."

Despite the drive, once we arrived, it was nothing but relaxation. As soon as we stepped off the bus, we were greeted by staff with ice cold, lemon grass scented washcloths. The guys outside who greet the buses were absolutely wonderful! We were then escorted inside, where we were given our room assignments and information about the resort. Our luggage was whisked away and taken directly to our room. We discovered later that because our arrival was so late, we missed out on the "orientation" tour. No worries, though... we managed to orient ourselves pretty easily!! We were given a slightly upgraded room with a patio view of the ocean. The room was spacious, with plenty of room for a family of four or five. The refrigerator was stocked each day and we were given turndown service and room refreshing in the evenings. If it is not delivered to your room, make sure you get the "newsletter" that provides you with the activities each day, along with the information on restaurants and what the theme is at the buffet for lunch and dinner. We usually had to swing by the front desk in the morning to grab one, and they are available in other areas, such as the Bayside restaurant. I am guessing there was not enough space to slide it under our door...

Overall, our experience at this resort was quite amazing. We made many friends among the staff, as they were so welcoming and entertaining. The hostess at the Bayside Buffet, Susan, was a bright and happy face each morning as we went to eat. Our first morning breakfast, we were entertained by Gavin and Juanita, two servers at the Bayside. They seemed to truly enjoy their jobs, as they were singing back and forth and were very cheerful with the guests. They were a joy to watch each morning, as they made our meal time fun. We enjoyed a few delicious dinners at Neptunes, were Kirklon took great care of us. The steak there was quite tender and the view was spectacular, especially at a sunset dinner!!

As we relaxed by the pool, we were taken care of by Sheneak, who came by frequently to make sure we didn't need more to drink and to take away the cups from our most recent libation. The bartenders at the swim up bar, Aaron and Devon, were great guys, who took good care of the guests. They remember your face and your drink and don't hesitate to make sure you enjoy your trip.

The best part of the trip was the entertainment staff... Throughout the day there are scheduled activities and games that the whole family can be involved in. We played several games, "earning" points toward a souvenir at our departure. More than the activities, though, the entertainment staff took the time to get to know the guests. We spent lots of fun time with Junior, Ricardo, Chloe, Monique, and Jamelia, and really got the chance to get to know some of them. They are really great people who are committed to making sure you get the most out of your time there. It was truly sad to leave them at the end of our week there.

We took an excursion to the Dunn's River Falls- which, I have to tell you, was spectacular!! I was hesitant to sign up for this trip, but can honestly say I am so glad I did. The scenery is beautiful and the climb was not as difficult as I thought it might be. The guide we had was fun and funny and made the trip completely worthwhile. Unlike our previous experience in a shuttle bus, our drive for this trip "Marvelous" Marva, was absolutely amazing. She was a wealth of knowledge about the country of Jamaica, its heritage and culture, and its people. She answered many questions on our short drive and was cautious and safe, making us feel well taken care of.

We took our kids on this trip (age 17 and 12), and barely saw them at all... Between the Xbox garage, the gaming room, the water slides, and the "kids drink of the day", they did not need good ol' Mom and Dad at all!! There was a variety of beach activities, such as the Hobie cats, the glass bottom boat, the banana boat, the water tricycles, the paddle boards, and the beach itself to sufficiently entertain all of us, regardless of our age. The pool volleyball was also a hit each day, as people of all ages would continue to play well past the structured game time.

If you are considering a trip to this resort, I would not hesitate- book now!! It is well worth the price and the travel to get to this amazing location with the impressive staff...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Beaches Ocho Rios. We're so happy to read that you had such an amazing vacation. You enjoyed our lovely accommodations, friendly staff and exciting activities.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another wonderful vacation!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family and I recently got back from beaches Ocho Rios. I am 11 (the little sister) and I hung out
with the teen and tween group. We all had an amazing time and we were so sad to leave... There were so many options for dining and countless activities throughout the day! It was very interesting to taste new foods and meet new people! My favorite part of the trip was the staff!!! We had a concierge room and service was amazing!!! Renna was always there to help for anything we needed! Patricia was the Arts and craft staff. (an additional cost from $8+) She was very helpful, happy and kind. I would definitely recommend trying a few crafts!!! At the beach, West or Orlando would take my family and I out on a catamaran for a nice ride. They also offered paddle boarding, kayak, windsurfing, glass bottom boat and banana boat rides! Everyone everywhere was very very helpful all the time. The dining options were great! My personal favorite restaurant was the Venetian restaurant. They served Italian food and our server Paula was great and very kind. The water park had rides for all ages and never very crowded. There is daily maid service, Karen, that would accommodate our needs. Overall the trip was the most enjoyable and you will not want to leave!!!
I'm 14 and the big sister. I enjoyed the trip a lot, there was always a ton to do. The teen activities were a great way to get to know the other people your age, and Liquid was especially fun. The people that worked there were great, and Kemar hung out a lot with us teens. Junior was a lot of fun, and so was Renex. They always knew how to make us laugh! A tip for teenagers, don't be afraid to say hi to anyone you see, as soon as you make friends with the other kids your age, the vacation will be much more exciting!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals Resorts Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We want to thank both of your for taking the time to review our property. We're so happy to hear that you and your family had a great time at Beaches Ocho Rios. It's refreshing to hear the comments of our teen visitors. The staff will be so proud to read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon for another amazing vacation!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

1st time visitor, 2 families & we had 5 boys ages 12-18. By the end of visit it was hands down out of the mouth of babes the best vacations ever. The teens loved the endless activities, the youth staff kept an eye out to include the more shy kids & get the youth to meet- which was an ever changing group. One fav. was the 8-10 pm shows @ main stage- many with audience participation, 10-11pm Liquid lounge dance club. The beach activities were endless, recommend getting PAdi (scuba) cert. program- kept boys busy - if you are certified free dives 2x a day! Adults loved the staff, felt safe to let the kids the freedom to roam (security guides & staff are always watching out we realized as the mentioned things we thought only we noticed), relaxing @ beach & pool, food choices were great, Staff super professional & friendly. NOTE: Bring Swimmers Ear drops if you do normally spend time in H2O. Would have prevented 3 of the boys from ear infections (RN in on site however Dr. must be called in to get prescriptions $$). Excellent Family vacation!

Room Tip: Get top floor room on (I think south sidewe had 1338- same side as main stage) quieter- for the $ be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals Resorts Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We're thrilled to read that you and your family had such an amazing vacation with us at Beaches Ocho Rios. We always strive to offer fun and exciting experiences for our guests of all ages and we're glad you all had a fantastic stay!

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your return!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just recently returned from our vacation at Beaches on June 3rd. My family of 5 consists of my husband and I and our 3 children- ages 8,5,5. The property is really nice and everything is closeby and definitely accomodating. We stayed in a Family Deluxe room initially on the Ground Level but we moved up to the 3rd floor level. The room was ocean view and had a balcony. It was cleaned every day by the very friendly staff at housekeeping. Honestly we usually keep our rooms pretty tidy but it was definitely necessary to have cleaning as we were back and forth at the beach.

I was extremely surprised by the Kids Camp. Its a feature of the resort that I was not too sure we would use. I am probably a bit overprotective but its really hard for me to trust the care of my children to just anyone. So the first day, I let my kids go to KidsCamp for about 2 hours as a test run and they loved it! The ladies of both camps made me feel comfortable about letting them care for my kids. Not once did I worry. It was not over crowded and the quality of activities exceeded my expectations. Each day had a theme and there were corresponding activities each hour or so.
My oldest son was in the 8-10 year old camp. The lovely ladies there Tashmarie, Charissa and Shavaun treated him like family. They engaged him in activities even if he was the only child (which he didnt mind at all) They did tye-dye tshirts, bracelet making, they taught him to make objects with straw (straw market) snorkeling, glass bottom boat ride, beach and pool games, science projects, pirate activities, tshirt cutout designs, talent show, bonfire party. Way more than I ever expected.
My twins were in the 5-7 year old camp with Miss Lamar, Simone and Nastacia who also treated my babies with lots of love as if they were family. They did many activities too. Glass bottom boat, exercising with Elmo, baking cookies with Cookie Monster, Exploring Nature with Grover, Sesame street stage show, beach and pool activites like sandcastle competition and slide pool fun, science projects, letter of the day and lots of other crafts. There was also the parade which was really nice as well.

My husband and I had time to spend with each other, rest on the beach, experience fine dining, and do water activities like the water bicycle and snorkeling which are activities that we would not have been able to do if we had all the kids with us and without worrying.

Definite Pros...

Things like self serve pop, icee and ice cream machines which made for good quick snacks to cool off for the kids.

Kid-friendly food. Sometimes they just wanted chicken fingers and spaghetti

Most of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way.

Entertainment nightly- stage shows, music, live bands

Xbox game lounge- We hung out in there as a family. I Never play video games but I actually learned how to play one game really well and enjoyed the Kinect sports games with the kids too. They loved seeing us play with them. And theres an airhockey table which was pretty fun.

Pirates Island slide pools. Lots of splashing and not too deep. I think the pool was about 3 1/2 feet. My kids are beginner swimmers so that made me more comfortable.

Indoor and Outdoor dining options. Lots of food to try.

The place was not too crowded and likely because of the time of year. Most families are still in school. So there was plenty of space on the beach and in the restaurants.

On Jamaica Day, the Straw Market and other craftsman had tables around the resort so we didnt have to leave to purchase a little bit of Jamaica to take home.

Dinner for Returning Guests. The entertainment was great and we as guests got to mingle with staff during cocktail hour and dinner. The steak was delicious. There was a balloon artist/magician who did tricks for the kids at each table. They also gave each of us a bottle of rum as a Thank you gift.


Cons

Crows and a few pigeons nibbling at leftover plates in the outdoor restaurants.

Flies near and around the breakfast pastries and dessert platters. We hardly had desserts or pastries because I did not like the idea of a swooshing away a dozen flies before grabbing a sweet roll. (Not that I needed a sweet roll, but we were on vacation I would have eaten one or two, lol)

Wish the beach was a little larger which cant be changed, but I think it may feel a bit more crowded during busier months.

The pirates Island slide pools open from 10-5. That meant that after 5 there was only the main pool which is standard like 4'6"-5'5" feet and my twins are shorter and not great swimmers so I couldnt just let them go loose. So I wish at least the pools (maybe not the slides) were open to at least 6 or 7.

Come Back Soon Desk- We at first decided to take a look at other Sandals and Beaches resorts with the thoughts of booking our next trip but I soon started to feel uncomfortable and slightly pressured to book "tonite." I felt like we were wasting valuable vacation time sitting at a tour desk. I think they could do this process a little different. I just dont have any suggestions.

Overall the pros outweighed the cons by far and we had a really great trip. We would go back again and refer our friends. The Beaches staff really took care of us and addressed any concerns we may have immediately. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
55.2 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 40 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
89.4 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
52.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.