We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Employees Are Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$225 Booking Bonus!!!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Boscobel
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Employees Are Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

There are a few key members of the Beaches Ocho Rios team that assisted in making our family vacation a truly relaxing experience. I will preface my review by saying we have an 18 month old and a 3 year old.

The Kid Zone is fabulous. In particular, Charissa did a wonderful job with our girls. She assured that they were comfortable with their new surrounding and took them to various Sesame Street themed activities. We also requested Charissa for private nanny sessions which allowed us to go out and enjoy activities as a couple.

The pool bar is an ideal fun spot to cool off and let the kiddos float around. Arron and Devon are a fabulous team that make tasty drinks. Dirty Bananas and Reserve Pina Coladas were at the top of my list.

Team members also go around photographing candid professional photos. They put a wristband on you with an id number to identify pics in their photo shop. My kids came home with them after character events like the Elmo & Abby Tea Party or Baking Cookies with Cookie. Suewayne captures beautiful images and is patient with the little ones. Suewayne also took our family photos - I was finally in some - I'm usually the one behind our camera.

Grace was the lead housekeeper for our Hibiscus suite. Our room was always back in order early in the morning and we had an abundance of fresh towels.

Lifeguards at the kiddie pool were superb - I think they were Lee, Ryan, and Damion. They happily assisted all of us on the slides, helped save our pool chairs in the morning, and always had an eye out for our fast footed girls. They also assure that the kiddie pool is just that - for the little ones.

Overall, the staff works their behinds off. I almost felt bad for how many hours and how much effort they put into a day. I wish I could remember everyone's name who referred to our girls as "Princess". Thank you to all who made this a Vacation for us.

Room Tip: Hibiscus was ideal for king bed and 2 kids. We requested a crib for the 18 month old and the 3 year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from Beaches hotel ocho Rios where by we had an excellent time. The transfer took a little longer than I thought but it really did not matter.
The staff were excellent friendly, always had a big smile on their face & in somecases very entertaining, could not do enough for you.When we arrived it was late & we were escorted to our room & check in was quick & welcoming.
Our room was clean and very comfortable over looking the beach, & was attended to twice a day.
The food was good, having a choice of five different restaurants in different settings, made the meals varied.
The entertainment staff 'The Players' were superb. Really engaged with the children well at all times & there was a constant varied amount of games played with the kids near the pool side stage each day. They worked really hard to get all the family joining in with the fun, during the day & in the evening. There was also a variation of acts including my favourite the Jamacian steal band who were amazing & gave a real feel of the Jamacian culture.
The beach is a private beach for the hotel, and was big enough to accomodate the guests comfortably with plenty of sun beds & offering watersports such as snorkelling banana boat canoe windsurfing all included. The watersport staff were also friendly & very helpful on the beach to assist you.
I have four children ages 14, 8, 8,7 & they had such a good time as the resort as is so safe for them to run around, whether they are on the beach the waterpark, pool side & games/ art craft room etc. they made friends so easily through interaction of the staff & the games they played by
the pool.
Would definitely recommend this resort for an excellent family holiday, and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at Beaches Ocho Rios and had an absolutely amazing time. My husband and I have stayed in the Caribbean before but it was the first time our 7 and 5 year old sons had flown on a plane to a holiday destination. The welcome lounge at the airport was a lovely treat - so nice to have an air-conditioned area and complimentary drinks. Yes the bus ride to the hotel is around two hours but that is made clear before the start of the trip. Yes there is a stop along the way but there is no pressure to get off or buy anything (I actually missed this bit as I was asleep). The welcome at the hotel was fantastic. We have nothing but positive comments for the cleanliness and comfort of our room (and the whole site - we must have missed the construction taking place as we saw or heard nothing!) The staff (apart from one person at the BBQ/pizza place) were superb. We visited the medical centre twice (a banged head and a splinter removed) and LeTanya was so patient with both boys.
A big hit was the Arts and Crafts Centre - our boys loved the different activities they could do there (for a small fee) and we are very grateful to Auntie Pat (Patricia) for her time and patience in encouraging Sam and Jack with their craft activities - they have lovely souvenirs to remind them of their trip.
The beach was beautiful - although some resorts would have bigger it was certainly spacious enough for this resort - we were always able to get deck chairs any time of the day at the pool and the beach and it was reassuring to have the swimming sea area roped off to increase safety. The sea was beautiful. We went on a glass-bottomed boat ride which was interesting but the big hit was the aqua bikes. (We were aware of the huge range of water sports available but these were the ones most suitable to us). We all loved the main pool, swimming up to the pool bar and the boys loved ordering their bling bling cocktails at the swim up bar. We have seen rowdy behaviour in the past at other resorts but completely missed it at Beaches - the swim up bar always had spaces and was welcoming to children. The main pool was lovely to swim in and we enjoyed taking part in some of the organised activities - water volleyball, pool olympics and games. The range of activities on offer each day was incredible, and was clearly communicated to guests in the daily newsletter - the Sunny Times. The water park was great and the boys would have happily stayed there all day. There were numerous staff available to help out and we had no fears with safety. The water slides were amazing and the boys also loved the lily pad toys. We also enjoyed playing outdoor chess, shuffleboard, borrowing Monopoly and playing in the Xbox lounge. We did not get round to playing tennis or basket ball - but will have to do that next time.
The food at the Venetian restaurant was fantastic - as was the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Where do I begin on this review, I've been debating weather or not to write it. Its changed, so this is a difficult review to write as we have been here many times. The service that we have always received is gone. Many of the long time employees are gone for one reason or another, yet that has nothing to do with this review. I read a lot of recent bad reviews and have to agree on many things. No bananas, seriously like everyday!!! Room a/c didn't work, maintenance did try with no avail. We weren't even offered another room either. It's a family resort, yet many couples (and drunks) were getting out of hand; rowdy & crossing the line what would be considered appropriate behavior at a "family" resort. In the main pool area (especially), pool bar & other areas were acting like it was a couples or a singles resort. Rooms were cleaned late, except for check out day, they came to the door at 9am, yes 9am, when check out is 11am. Talking to many guests (new & repeat), where they recv'd several level room upgrades (concierge & beach front). We did get an upgrade on 1 of our 2 rooms, and no it wasn't a concierge or beach upgrade. Concierge rooms are really for people who want to drink, nothing more. So if you're not a drinker, save your money, they'll probably upgrade you anyway. The food was not bad, but we felt that leftovers were used for buffet lunch. Venetian's food was excellent. Neptune's had 2 nights of mixed cold food on the plates & shortage of shrimp one night. One particular night at Bayside was awesome. All restaurant service was good, except for lunch at the BBQ pit was slow. Up to 1/2 hr wait at times for pizza, burger, fries, or chicken. One of our room refrigerators was not stocked upon arrival, as in empty. Construction is going on, so you will hear banging and saws, but it wasn't bad. Life guards, water sports, bartenders, girls who get the drink orders by the pool were all great! The beach was clean & more open, but you no longer can get a massage or hair braiding on the beach. Resort bathrooms were short on hand towels & toilet paper, but they were very clean. Beaches no longer allows adults/teens to use the tubes on slides at the water park, so that was disappointing. Nothing against the new employees but the feel & vibe of the place is different. It's different management now, so I'm sure that has something to do with it. Wasn't impressed with entertainment employees. Some females just didn't seem overly happy at work. One of the entertainment girls talked about how she used to like her job & had fun at work, but no more. It shows too! Some employees are happy and some aren't, I heard money is an issue with a few. Hopefully the nice big tip we gave her helped (and no it wasn't turned down). Yeah, yeah I know gratuities are included, but we're a sucker for a sob story. On the positive side, the resort renovations look absolutely beautiful! As for going back, I don't know...It might be time to move on and try something new as we really enjoy the little things like a/c in 90* temperature. We're giving it 3 stars because we no it has potential, maybe it just needs some employee house cleaning/overhaul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

SCUBA--1st time diving in the ocean my husband and I were recently certified JUDY at the Dive Shop was AWESOME and PRINCE our Dive Master was Incredible. Prince was knowledgeable and extremely helpful with my buyoncy issues. We got to see a lot of beautiful coral, lion fish, eel, sea cucmber, sting ray, & ship wreck. The resort was very clean unfortunately the food service was a bit slow for something quick go to Bayside. Ride from Montego Bay airport was 2 hours which was longer than we expected-beware of pit stop extremely pricey $4 for yoplait yogurt. We would have liked more music and adult nightlife eventhough this was a family vacation (great entertainment for the kids). Catamarran trip to the falls was a blast! The staff was all great overall awesome trip...YEAH MON!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Before I begin I want you to know that even if you enjoy the place, for the same price you can go to Turks n Caicos and get triple the value. The ambiance sucked. The food sucked. The service sucked. The place is small and the water park is small. The teen club? It's a room with a little bar and a tiny dance floor. Kids hated it. It was an awful vacation. I paid $150 for a 50 minute massage. Are you kidding? Beaches, learn how to have consistent quality at all of your resorts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and have boasted of our accommodations. However, as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process so we thank you for your review.

We are always looking for ways to improve our resort to exceed the expectations of our clients. Since we are in a constant state of evolving our resorts and updating our amenities, I will be sure to send your feedback to the General Manager and relevant departments.

Kind Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We are a family of 5 (kids age 12,11,11) and we visited this resort for a week in March 2013. We have only got round to writing this now, but better late than never. We had previously been to Beaches Turks and Caicos, which is far more upscale (so unfair to compare) but the staff in Jamaica are mostly local and all incredibly nice. We are divers so when we signed up '"Captain Jack Sparrow" - Shovan - at the diving school asked if we wanted to get our twin 11-year old girls certified. We were hesitant following an unsuccessful attempt the previous summer in Turks & Caicos. He reassured us and was so calm and confident that we decided to put them in his capable hands. This man deserves a medal for his unlimited patience and calm - our girls were not easy students. They both got ear infections and had to wait a few days in the middle of their course. Captain Sparrow remained calm throughout the hysteria and arranged for them do get in all their dives once they were declared fit by Dr. MacDonald and Nurse Murphy - two more great people at this resort. They were all so accommodating and helpful. The girls finished their diving course and we were just amazed at Captain Sparrow - he is absolutely the nicest dive instructor we have ever met in our lives.
The resort is nice - the food is nice and the staff are all so great. There were always queues for the restaurants early evening that makes it very diffiucult for tired kids (We had dinner in Eleanorés one evening , and in addition to the long queue found we found the host quite rude.
All the other restaurants were all willing to bring pizza and plain pasta for our 2 fussy eaters. The kids adored the strawberry daiqiri's, Jamaican patties, popcorn, nachos, chocolate chip cookies and ice-cream in the self-service area in the middle of the resort. They were quite independant this trip and even went to eat lunch alone one day in the BBQ restaurant and had a ball ordering alone!
The room was spacious - not luxuxrious in any way but practical and comfortable.
The beach was really great - I don't know why some people complain about the size.. It wasn't an issue for us. We did the catamaran, banana boat, pedal boat, kayak... it was all great and a lot of fun. We dived every day at least once. Aside from the phenomenal Captain Jack Sparrow (and I really can't mention this enough), Claude and Judy and everyone at the dive shop were all very friendly and helpful - ready to solve any problem and help with anything.
One serious complaint that we had was the jetty to the dive boat was destroyed in a storm and hadn't been rebuilt.We were given to understand that this might take some time.. Hopefully not. It is an inconvenience for everyone as you have to wade out to the anchored boat, with all your gear... The boat trips were pretty rough when we were there - because of the sea, not the Captain! As I suffer from seasickness, that was an issue and sometimes a damper. The dive sites were ok. We went on a dive though little caves on our last day and that was really special. The other spots were nice but not noteworthy.
We are returning in August because this was such a nice place in all and because our kids want to revisit their Instructor Captain Sparrow!
This is a really great family resort and we certainly recommend it.I have rated Beaches excellent but there is still room for improvement - specifically for us the jetty at the dive shop and the long queues at the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios
Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.