We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovations are not done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
High River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“renovations are not done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff is amazing! everyone we met was happy, fun and friendly. I couldn't belive how they remembered our son's name.

We were very disappointed that the resort is not ready.

To get to the waterpark area there is a temporary wooden staircase of 18 steps up !!!
How are mothers and strollers able to do that? they struggle ...I helped quite a few parents get up and down this walkover during our stay.

There are no bathrooms close to the waterpark! Nearest bathroom is on the other side of the buffett restaurant which takes 5 minutes to get to.

As the resort is under construction,to get to the ala cartes you go down a back alley, then down 3 flights of stairs
A manager assisted friends of ours with their stroller and he fell down the flight of stairs , luckily the baby wasn't in it and no one got hurt.

The beach bar is also under construction so to get a drink you have to climb 3 flights of stairs up to the pool bar.

Very small beach area too.

Room Tip: if you are travelling soon I would request an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We understand that some areas being closed or moved can be seen as inconveniences but every staff member is committed to keeping our guests happy and we are all willing to go above and beyond to do so. We've added made all of our staff members more available to ensure our guests avoid any inconveniences during our beautification process. Along with staff around to lend a helping hand with strollers up and down steps, we have added servers on the beach to bring your choice of beverages and snacks right to you while you relax.

I'm so glad to read that our friendly, smiling staff made your stay one to remember. We always strive to provide fun and exciting vacations for our guests. Thank you for your feedback.

We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to exceed your expectations during a future stay.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    808
    270
    145
    131
See reviews for
1,970
60
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

All inclusive resorts have some pluses and minuses. The pluses of Beaches Ocho Rios are if you are a lap swimmer the have Ana amazing pool to do long lap swimming. There are two main pools. One more for adults and one for kids with amazing water slides. People with kids will love this resort. They have a great kids program and amazingly helpful and talented staff. They do shows for all to enjoy and everyone on staff says hello and introduces themselves. The tennis courts are very nice. But bring your own racquet for the clubs racquets are just adequate. Want to go snorkeling, and like scuba, if certified is included. If the weather improves, I hear it is a nice one hour of great snorkeling. The food is adequate but not great. Had a good chocolate mouse desert at the Venetian, otherwise desserts have been very unimpressive. The jerk chicken and pork are very good as are the fresh made omelets. The rooms are very nice. Water pressure in the showers could be better. If you like to drink, drinks are free. I am not a big drinker. The house wines are Berlinger and free at dinner. If you want other than the house wines, which I did like, you will have to pay. The resort is about a two hour ride from the airport. Due to hurricane Sandy the elevator to the beach is broken and it is a three story walk to the beach, the hurricane also destroyed the dock and is no longer there but still in the web site. All the stairs at the resort has been hard on my elderly parents knees and those with strollers struggle to with the steps.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the upper level on the ocean side of the pool just one level down from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Beaches Ocho Rios. We always strive to provide fun and amazing family vacations in our clean and comfortable environment. Therefore, we're thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed our exciting activities, luxury-included amenities and the genuine hospitality of our staff.

We're currently in the process of improving our resort to appeal more to our guests. Ramps have been constructed at almost every staircase so we are able to better accommodate our guests with strollers and those with difficulty walking up and down steps.

We hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just returned from an 8 night stay at Beaches Ocho Rios. Nov. 15th - 23rd. So let me start with the negative. There was on going construction when we arrived, and the beach was a disaster.( it was fixed by the next morning) There is a lot of walking up and down the stairs as the elevator is broken. Basically that is about it, so now to the other things. First of all, I have to say that the service was absolutely 1st class. That all started with our Concierge, Justin. He was great !! My family has traveled all over the world. China, German, Poland, Dominican Rep., all the Virgin Island, Mexico, and Aruba. You don't get the service in these places that we received at this resort. They took care of every question, concern, and problem. The first night we arrived not all of the resturants were open, and we were hungry. We told one of the waitresses, and in 2 minutes the head chef comes out and asked what we wanted. We told him maybe just some snacks or ice cream. He comes back in 5 minnutes with huge bowls of ice cream for the 4 of us with toppings. He also had a plate full of cookies. Coconut Macaroons, yummy !!!

The resturants were good, especially Eleanors. Lamb Chops and Surf & Turf were outstanding!! They even let my son order two lobster tails. Again, service... The buffett was good to average with a nice variety of food to choose from. They always had lots of fruit, veggies, and salads.

Now to the beach.. Yes it is small, but it is cleaned/coombed every morning. No seaweed/kelp, and it was not rocky at all. And only on Thanksgiving Day did we have a problem finding beach chairs. Watersports....I can not say enough good things about the watersports team. They are AWESOME !!! They made my trip an absolutely dream come true. Watersport Manager, Patrick along with Divemasters Claude, Prince, Attoy, and of course the lovely Ms. Judy !! They made the snorkeling and diving easy. My son and I went diving in Mexico, but it was a lot more work and not as enjoyable. Lots of fish and clarity was very good most of the locations. There were two dives a day, and I beleive 3 snorkel trips. My nephew had never snorkeled before and he felt so comfortable with these guys. My son and I have only been diving for two years, saw our first wreck there. Thanks again to the watersport team!! We will defintely comeback and the watersports is a big reason why.

Overall, this is a great resort. There was a little more walking than we thought, but the service made this the right resort for us. My son and nephew(13 & 11) loved all of the teen & tween activities as there was always something to do for them day and night. This resort has something for everyone!!

I will defintely be back!!

Tim M.

Room Tip: I think next time I would choose the Terrace level suites so we are half way between the beach and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your great review of Beaches Ocho Rios. We're so delighted to read that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us. It's great to know that you enjoyed our delicious dining, fun activities, pristine beach and the friendly, helpful customer service provided. Our standards are high and I'm so glad we were able to meet them during your stay. I will be sure to share you review with the staff. They will all be encouraged to hear of your kind mention.

We can't wait to welcome you back for an even better stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went to the resort from 11/16/2012 to 11/23/2012 for our wedding with 15 family members. As pointed out in most of the reviews, the staff was awesome! Yes, there was construction going on but we were having such a great time and the staff was so great, it didn't bother us at all. My wedding planners Kamesha and Michelle were excellent. They took care of everything, "No worries". They really went out of their way to make my wedding day perfect! The wedding was beautiful. We have 3 teen boys and they had a great time as well. They actually made friends with so many of the staff too! Special thanks to Gregory for the boat ride he took our family on, we all had the best time! Thank you Sheldon- for making sure everyone was having a good time, the ladies in the spa- my hair and make-up were beautiful, our concierge, the restaurant staff, the marriage officer Andre and all others we had the pleasure of getting to meet. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Before I explain what I mean, please understand one really essential point: The staff was top-notch! Everyone was happy, agreeable, and focused on our satisfaction at every turn. By the end of our trip, they were anticipating our requests and doing everything possible to have what we wanted in front of us before we even asked for it. The resort was also very safe for my kids so they had the luxury of being free and independent for the first time ever and I feel they really grew and matured from the experience. Having said that, it still fell far below our expectations from a cost-to-value perspective. We were hoping for an Amenyara for kids but what we found was a big Holiday Inn.

Getting one hot shower in 4 days isn't my idea if a luxury vacation. The grounds were undergoing extensive construction making getting around the property cumbersome. Many of the restaurants were displaced and you could tell they were "making the best" of the situation. There was an obvious lack of high-end food and drink available and the few high-end items they had on their purchase menu were out-of-stock. Blocking off the fitness center from morning until 3PM during one of our days just about sent us over the edge.

We purchased the "Concierge Service" and thank God. If it hadn't been for the bellman, Rockeeto, I doubt that most of our requests would have ever been fulfilled. The staff was clearly as frustrated as we were in that they had to be the regular bearers of bad news telling us that our requests could not be fulfilled or the wait would be substantial. Don't even get me started about the clattering A/C system that would be relatively quiet during the day but would rev up like '56 Chevy in the middle of the night.

Given the cost, we just expected a lot more but often that's what you get with "all inclusive" resorts. If you have middle-of-the road tastes it's probably just great. If you expect the finer things you'll be pretty diappointed overall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We went from 11/17/12 - 11/24/12 with 22 in our group. Kids through grandparents, so our interests and activities covered the full vacation spectrum. The Beaches staff were amazing. Very attentive, polite and really went out of there way to make it a special ocassion for us. A special thanks to the Watersports Team, specifically Don, Judy and the Dive Team who always took care of our group. Don went the extra mile to make our experience special and the Dive Team were terrific with our families first time scuba divers (10 - 13 in age). The Snorkel boats were also excellent with our sr. group who needed a little extra help getting on and off the boats.

If an option for you, I'd highly recommend getting a room with Concierges service. It's absolutely worth the extra dollars. That group was extremely attentive to every request.

This was the first week back for the resort following the hurricance and a remodel that was still going on while we were there, but they did a decent job trying to not let the construction interfere with our vacation. Certainly would have made for a better trip if complete, but it is what is "no problem mon". Should be great for future vacationers.

Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a Concierges level room. Worth the extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our employer treated all employees and their families to a 4 day stay at this all inclusive resort. Even though this was a business trip it was also for pleasure. We all had a fantastic time, food, location and service were all amazing! Great family & couples resort! Our hostess Shalleck was terrific. He made our stay very enjoyable! Kudos to him and the rest of the employees.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.