We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches Boscobel....top in staff service, outstanding toddler/kids waterpark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club to your Saves list
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beaches Boscobel....top in staff service, outstanding toddler/kids waterpark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I had an amazing time at Beaches Boscobel! If you're travelling with kids then you're probably spending most of your time at the waterpark or main pool for activities as majority of kids/parents like the low-maintenance, chillaxed atmosphere of the waterpark. In some areas the toddler waterpark is only inches deep which allows parents to let their little one explore without having a nervous panic attack or having to hold their hand/body the entire time!
The staff ensure that roudy/older vacationers stay out of this area...yes I tested it out (the rope swinging area of course!!). The food is fantastic, the entertainment is awesome...kids zoned right out with their shows, the glass bottom boats and banana boats are so much fun and man, the positive attitudes of their staff just makes the whole trip fun and upbeat!

The beach is small, but honestly, I love the panoramic views from the top-of-the-line pools anyways!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    808
    270
    146
    131
See reviews for
1,971
60
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We just returned tonight from a weeks vacation at Beaches Boscobel. My wife, four boys, sister's family, and our parents all had a fabulous time. Far exceeded our expectations and was a better choice over a cruise.
The people of Jamaica are so friendly, and the staff at the resort were some of the sweetest people I've ever met! We were all on a first name basis with several of the employees.
There's a lot for kids to do, great dining for adults, sailing & kayaking at the beach....
I'd recommend this resort to all families!!

David Greene
Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

There seem to be relatively few all-inclusives which cater to families who need five in a room, but Beaches fits the bill and gets mostly good reviews. For various reasons, we chose Boscobel over Turks and Caicos for our first Beaches stay in mid-December. The resort seemed at about 50 - 70% capacity during our stay.

Arrival/departure -- nothing out of the ordinary. About 1:45 each way between MBJ and Boscobel. The driver and aiport bellcap will expect a tip. Check-in/out were non-events.

Rooms -- we were assigned a first floor room in the main building, with a king bed and a pullout. Not ideal for a family of five. Moreover, we were next to the dance club, so the noise was a bit much (with the first floor foot traffic as well). Politiely asked if an upgrade to concierge was available, as resort was clearly not full. Upgrade available, but not for concierge -- the three-decks of those oceanfront rooms are max four to a room. Instead, for about $100/night, we upgraded from first floor in the main building to fourth floor. Great ocean view, much quieter, and two large "doubles" and a pull-out worked much better for our family of five. Well worth the increased expense. Room furnishings and fixtures were a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable -- no complaints on that front. Would have liked housekeeping to have recognized our group of five during the week (skimped on bath towels, etc). Calls to housekeeping easily and quickly remedied any such issues, however.

Food -- Bayside buffet is the only breakfast option, and it wasn't bad at all. Peter did a very nice job with the omlettes. Bayside buffet for lunch or dinner -- lots of variety, quality was average. Eleanors -- thought they did a nice job for dinner. Veneitan - dinner was pretty good, nothing to write home (or on TA) about. Arizona's -- one of our best dinners (steakhouse), although our lunch there (Tex-Mex) was disappointing. Ate at the BBQ park a couple of times for lunch, and the jerk/fried fare was right on par with expectations. Overall, desserts were a bit disappointing. Drinks were good, alcoholic and otherwise. Bartenders served non-alcoholic concoctions to the kids with a smile.

Activites -- lots of good water activities are all included, which was a big plus for us. Just sign up for an outing and go -- glass-bottom boat tour, two or three snorkeling outings per day and scuba. We didn't dive, but if you're certified, all you have to do is sign up and they provide the gear. Water bikes, sailboats, kayaks and banana boat are fun too. We found the water sports staff to be excellent.

Beach was small but tidy, and there's enough room to splash around and play in the sand, if that's your thing. Plenty of chairs on the beach (no need to "save" as at other resorts). Be aware that the vendors on the far dock the side/behind the watersports area are very aggressive.

The waterslide area definitely lived up to the hype, as our family spent time there every day. There were also a couple of pool tables in this area, and my older two kids discovered they enjoyed games of eight-ball while taking a break from the slides. There's also a pool table on an outdoor patio just above Arizona's restaurant.

Entertainment -- pretty typical for a resort such as this. We thought the activities were fun, and the staff generally upbeat. Thumbs up to Ainsley, who did a great job despite some pretty obnoxious folks we noticed. Some of the activites didn't exactly happen as noted on the schedule, and others were on "local time." If you're a planner, that could be frustrating. Otherwise, the "no problem, mon" attitude is helpful in this regrard.

Our girls very much enjoyed the crafts they made in the arts & crafts area. The woman working there was great.

X-Box garage -- our kids are not huge gamers, but it was a welcome and fun diversion, and it was conveniently located. My older kids remarked it was more fun when not so crowded (best times were just before and just after the lunch hour, when it typically closed).

We did not play golf, but I talked to some folks who did. The good -- it's included. The bad -- the course is not on-site; it's about a 20-minute drive away.

Kids loved the fact that they could grab an ice-cream, snow cone, drink or other snack at the BBQ park at anytime. Did not like the bees/wasps that area attracted so much. At one point, we were treated to the amusing spectacle of one of the staff sucking up the flying pests through a vacuum cleaner.

Outside the resort, we hired a cab and spent a morning climbing Dunns River Falls (on the west side of Ocho Rios) and then had lunch at Scotchies (great jerk chicken and pork) a bit further west. Both highly recommended. If we had more time, we would have tried Mystic Mountain. Maybe next time.

All in all, our family really enjoyed our stay. For the cost, the resort probably fell a bit shy of expectations, but much of that is what you make of it. Would return in the future, but would prefer to try Turks & Caicos or Negril next time.

Room Tip: We drew Room #1118 for our first night before upgrading. As noted previously in these room tips, tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I went to BEACHES BOSCOBEL from 12-17-11 to 12-24-11. I had fun but there are few problems. CONS- They miss place one of my suitcase. There are a lot of bees. The power went out a few times. The water went out for a day. And on the last day i saw a cockroach at the breakfast place ( Bayside ). The AC stop working. POS- I like the food. The people are so nice . I like my room it was big and nice. The water park is amazing. The beach so blue.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

If not for the incredibly loud evenings in our room EVERY NIGHT I would have rated this hotel a 4 or 4.5. I was dumbfounded that having seen a couple of complaints about this from reviews in years past that it is still no better. Douple or triple pane sliding doors and windows in the affected rooms maybe? Is it so hard? It literally sounded like the drums and rest of band were in our room, and we were not even close to the stage. For this reason alone, sadly, I could not imagine ever going back there which is a shame since the pools, staff and children's entertainment were all excellent. Sesame street programming is great as well - plentiful and well done but not in your face. Food was less than I had hoped for, even for an all inclusive, but tolerable. Rooms were new and very clean. Beach is small and not very pretty but gets the job done for the kids that want to splash in the ocean and play in the sand or adults that want to tan. Lots of seating at beach and both pools.

I have to say I just can not believe the volume in the room until 10:00 or 10:30 every night for a "family" resort. I think someone in management needs to spend a couple of nights trying to put their kids to bed at 9pm in a main pool facing room to really understand the problem and hopefully do something about it. Great view though, for what it's worth (still here for a couple of days!)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our first time to the resort and we plan on going back! We went with our 3 kids--13yrs, 5yrs and 3yrs old. The resort had the perfect balance of things to entertain the children, and the adults. The day camps that are no extra charge are great, our 13yr old had great experiences , things that if she hadnt signed up she never would have been unable to do. Our other 2 wouldnt go to the camps, however we were still able to relax while they played there with us. The staff are super friendly and accomidating. Our room was large,clean and very comfortable. The restaurants that we tried had great food and a wide variety at the buffet, with a different theme daily. The nightly sesame street show was something that our whole family looked forward do every night. It had the kids singing and interacting with the characters, then able to get their pictures taken with them. Our whole family was sad when it came time to leave, and cannot wait to plan another vacation there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Wished the diving was better. Buffet was okay and didn't compare to the individual restaurants. Learned after the fact, you don't need to tip at the Spa since thy automatically tack on 12.5%. (so they received a 28% tip). Resort was small and doesn't compare to the Turks and Caicos Resort. Staff were so much fun and should be paid more as they are the true asset to the resort.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.