We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chorlton-cum-Hardy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Lodge
Save
You added Abbey Lodge to your Saves list
501 Wilbraham Road, Chorlton-cum-Hardy M210uj, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed one night to be near our relatives. Our room was large, very clean and contained two comfortable armchairs and beds, as well as table, tv etc. The bathroom was lovely, with ample towels and emergency toiletries. We particularly liked the fact that the facilities were not "overchintzed" and the welcome we received, being told by Heather that we could help ourselves at any time to fresh milk and other things on the landing outside where the continental breakfast is laid. Breakfast was ample and leisurely, with trays provided so that it could be carried into our room. Abbey Lodge is a welcoming B&B in a non-intrusive, non- fussy way. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorltongirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I am pleased that you say that you will stay with us again. We will make every effort to make each stay at least as good as the last. We are constantly upgrading in order to keep up a good standard. Our aim is to be unfussy and not to intrude, whilst being friendly, so I am pleased you appreciated this approach! Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here in June 2011 and I wrote a review immediately afterwards. We stayed here again at Christmas to find the same levels of excellence as before. This is a top quality establishment where the customer's comfort is paramount. There are many excellent reviews on this site all of them justified. The only negative reviews have been regarding the style of breakfast. This is clearly stated in the web site and, of its kind, is the best I have ever had.

This visit we did not have a car so a point on transport is worthwhile. Almost directly opposite is a bus stop where you can take a bus into Manchester centre in half an hour. Also the new extension to the Metrolink Tram is just a couple of hundred metres down the road. Finally, for the shoppers, there is a bus from Chorlton to the Trafford Centre.

Finally, to the most important aspect of your visit to Abbey Lodge, your hosts. Heather and family are the most warm, welcoming and helpful people that you could wish to meet. Due to circumstances beyond our control we finished up being alone on Christmas Day. Once Heather realised this she pulled out all the stops to make things bearable for us. We will be forever thankful for all of the kindness received.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorltongirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We were sorry that you had difficulties over Christmas but are pleased that you chose to stay with us and that we could help. It is our priority to make sure that all our guests are comfortable and have what they need in order to have a pleasant stay. Thank you for your review. I hope thing are going well for you in Spain. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night on the spur of the moment. Nice warm, cosy atmosphere with a very welcoming hostess. Lovely and clean with absolutely everything you could need. I liked the idea of helping yourself to breakfast then taking back to bedroom where table and chairs were provided. I will certainly stay again even though the rooms at front are little noisy for us who don't live on a busy street. Take earplugs is the answer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorltongirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. i am sorry that you found the noise from the road disturbing. Our windows are all double glazed which helps to reduce noise and the road quietens at night. I hope you will return. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden,QC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed one night here before flying out of Manchester to go on holiday to Spain and then had booked for our last night after an exhausting week in the UK. I was so pleased to be coming back to stay this last night before heading to Canada. What an oasis!
Our room was spacious,with beautiful furnishings, comfortable ,with two large armchairs, a tray with drinks and a couple of kit Kats even! I loved the way breakfast was organized.
It was all laid out for a help yourself in the morning to be taken in our room, sitting at our own table.
Ground coffee, yogurt, fruit, toast etc.
If ever we are back we know where we shall be staying. Thank you Heather, you are the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorltongirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I hope you missed the hurricane on the way back home to Canada. I believe it moved north after you left here and was moving toward Toronto, I hope you were settled before it hit town. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I hope you will return soon. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

this guest house is an absolute gem if you are looking for a home away from home. the rooms were spotless, lots of home comforts, big bath, sofa, comfortable beds. the owners were really welcoming and accommodated 6 filthy bikers after a day doing our coast to coast with storage and a hose for bikes. it's only 2 miles from the trans penning trail and chorlton is a lively place with trendy bars and restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorltongirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
It was a pleasure to accommodate your group whilst you attacked a difficult cycle journey. I hope you all completed the route. If you could post a copy of the photo we took outside before you set off for the next day's journey it would be great to see it. By the way, you may like to note for your next attempt, that the lovely photo of you on the bed in Room 3 would not look the same as the bed has now been upgraded to a larger 5' size and would offer you more space to spread out. Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night and although the price for a single traveller was slightly expensive, (I had to take a double room as the single had been booked) the room was lovely. I was fortunate enough to be able to look at all rooms whilst waiting to leave and each has a unique character. Heather is a warm and helpful host who goes out of her way to ensure that guests feel welcome. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. I would stay here again and would point out that the price for two is very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorltongirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review. It's a shame that we have only 1 single room and that we were unable to offer it to you on this occasion. A Saturday night is the busiest of the whole week for us and we are usually fully booked all year. I hope you will choose to stay with us on another occasion, if so, please give as much notice as you can., I look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is our second visit to Abbey Lodge and it has maintained its high standards of welcome, comfort and cleanliness. This time, we remembered to bring dressing gowns and slippers, in order to go and choose breakfast from the buffet on the upstairs landing (without having to get dressed first). We asked for skimmed milk and decaffeinated (fresh) coffee on the online booking form, and these were duly presented to us on arrival. The room was spacious, with easy chairs and a dining table. The shower room was tiny, but adequate. Good quality linen and big fluffy towels. The bed was comfortable, although for a superior room I would have expected a bigger, king-sized one. This is very handy for Chorlton and also for the new tram system, (station only two minutes away) for speedy access to the centre of Manchester and beyond. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorltongirl, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I agree with your comments regarding the size of the bed. I have delayed in upgrading the current one as the bedstead is such an interesting design and the mattress is quite new. Unfortunately the bedstead is only large enough for a standard double mattress but we are considering a change soon. Your comments about dressing gowns and slippers have not gone unnoticed, we now have these for hire. If they are supplied to all rooms as standard we would have to increase the price to all so there is a small charge. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: 501 Wilbraham Road, Chorlton-cum-Hardy M210uj, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Chorlton-cum-Hardy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chorlton-cum-Hardy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Lodge is a privately owned Bed and Breakfast specialising in offering the best accommodation in generously sized, well equipped rooms. Established in 1990, and with the present owners for 12 years, we are proud to achieve the status as Number 1 Bed and Breakfast in Chorlton and the Certificate of Excellence 2013 from Tripadvisor.Perfectly situated for those who want to visit Chorlton and all it's fashionable bars and restaurants, for those who want to visit further afield using the Metrolink tram or for those looking for a leisurely stop off on a longer journey around the country, or via Manchester Airport which is only 7 miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Chorlton-Cum-Hardy
Abbey Lodge Chorlton-Cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.