We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar, poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bar
533 Wilbraham Road, Chorlton-cum-Hardy M21 0UE, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Tapas, Vegetarian, British
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Nice bar, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Lovely relaxing bar with a good choice of real ale. The food menu looks really appetising but it just doesn't work out in practice. The food takes ages to arrive despite the fact that very few people appear to be dining and just isn't very nice when it does arrive. Nice place for a few beers though.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tastiest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

It is located in the heart of Chorlton. Interior of The Bar is nice and a bit of a pub feel like, lots of tables to choose from on Weekends it can get pretty busy. Some personal touch is paintings of local sceneries. We have been 3 times, last time was Sunday. Menu is of restaurant quality but more reasonable prices.They have a good choice of drinks but the main reason to go is food. The quality is outstanding, my husband had a lamb roars and handmade mint sauce is, well just mint. All is freshly cooked. I haven't tried all dishes but it is my 2nd time having the famous Oz chicken (I can not remember exact title of the dish). It is just amazing, has very Spanish taste, pieces of chicken and chorizo and potatoes. Massive plate, way too big but thats where the husband comes in.

PS: Being a sweet tooth as I am I love how they have nice choice of desserts which i feel is missing in lots of places.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My visit to The Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I went there three times. The atmosphere was very friendly and one could linger over one's food.The fish and chips were among the best that I have tasted in my long life.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Use to love this place pre Trip Advisor days.

Visited recently. Only one Mancunian beer on tap. Bar man totally disinterested. Tables covered in dust. Very few customers in for lunch yet the wait for food was long. The pie was good if a little too peppery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, West Indies
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice selection of Real Ales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Pub is located opposite the Chorlton tram stop, and is one of four. What sets it apart from the others is its great, laid back hard working staff, and its great selection of Real Ales which are well looked after.
The layout of the place gives a roomy yet not sparse feel. And the clientele which frequent the Bar are by and large a very friendly group, (Hi Dee, Andy and Nat).
But I can't speak enough about their selection of Real Ales, and the experts seem to agree in that the Bar has been featured in CAMRA's Good Beer Guide, a couple of years ago.
Never ate here so can't comment

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar also viewed

Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.