We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice selection of Real Ales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bar

The Bar
533 Wilbraham Road, Chorlton-cum-Hardy M21 0UE, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Hamburgers, British, Vegetarian, Tapas
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Trinidad, West Indies
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice selection of Real Ales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Pub is located opposite the Chorlton tram stop, and is one of four. What sets it apart from the others is its great, laid back hard working staff, and its great selection of Real Ales which are well looked after.
The layout of the place gives a roomy yet not sparse feel. And the clientele which frequent the Bar are by and large a very friendly group, (Hi Dee, Andy and Nat).
But I can't speak enough about their selection of Real Ales, and the experts seem to agree in that the Bar has been featured in CAMRA's Good Beer Guide, a couple of years ago.
Never ate here so can't comment

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hit and miss, will be giving it a miss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Really fed up of getting bad food at this place now! Had a really poor veggie Sunday roast a few months ago where the manager admitted that the chef hadn't had time to make enough nut roast or gravy, but at least he listened to our complaints and took them on board. To be fair, then had a decent Sunday lunch there last month, but still don't understand why the veggie roast comes without Yorkshire pud and if you want it, you have to pay 50p more - making the veggie roast more expensive than the meat! Today's meal was really poor - cheap white bun with a 'garlic mushroom and haloumi burger' - in reality, one flat mushroom and two small pieces of haloumi, with chips which had evidently been cooked and re-fried. A cheese pie which was basically cheese sauce with a couple of pieces of beetroot in it and the same tired chips, both small portions and at £8 for each really not good value, even in Chorlton! Having not eaten all day we did eat it and were prepared to give feedback on it to the staff, but no-one came to ask how it was and we weren't asked when we went to pay either. Will stick to DeNada, 1847 or Pi and won't return to the Bar for food again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Oasis of Total Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to The Bar but having been regulars at sister establishment The Knott Bar in Castlefield we decided to explore further afield and see what we've been missing. Comparing The Bar to The Knott Bar is a bit like comparing Stephenson's Rocket to a Virgin Trains Pendolino but each has its followers and there are plus/minus points on each side. Objectively The Bar is roomy, light, very relaxed and just the right side of being bohemian, service is polite, prompt and ordered, the selection of beers as wide as one could reasonably expect - twelve on our visit - and the jukebox subdued enough to be able to hold a conversation without shouting, tasteful enough to tap one's feet to.
As with the Knott Bar the main attraction seems to be the food. The menu encompasses pub staples like burgers, home made steak and ale pie and club sandwiches but is supplemented by head chef Oz's specials. On our visit these were asparagus risotto (tempting), pan fried sea bream with potato salad (very tempting) and beef goulash with rice (too tempting to resist). My wife opted for another tried and tested staple from the Knott, battered haddock with hand cut chips, mushy peas and home made tartare sauce. Both choices were amply rewarded by bulging plates of top quality food as sensible prices.
On a quietish mid week afternoon the ambience was calming and very pleasant but it can easily be seen that The Bar can, and presumably often does, become jam packed and that this attention to detail may be challenged. Chorlton is not on our regular route but, with a new Metrolink tram station just across the road and Manchester a matter of tram minutes away, I have a feeling that The Bar will become a regular and welcome addition to our dining circuit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Came here on sunday, food was great i had the welsh rarebit and for such a simple choice it was delicious my husband had the fish n chips and really enjoyed it... will definately be going back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“how to cook fries and chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The new chef needs to get in touch with the old chef, or the the chef of Albert's Shed, and ask how to cook fries and chips. Lovely steak meal with loads of mushrooms and onion rings, accompanied by pathetic slithers of what could be lovely crisp things. I know the kitchen has the capability,it's the guy in charge who doesn't.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar also viewed

Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
 
Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
Chorlton-cum-Hardy, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.