We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casona de Quintana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casona de Quintana to your Saves list
Casona de Quintana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Sitio del Castillo, 1, 39806 Quintana de Soba, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wow - what a lovely stay in a beautiful place. Nuria and Jose gave a very warm welcome and although we do not speak Spanish, they really went out of their way to ensure we had a great break, and gave us helpful advice on places to visit. Casona de Quintana is a lovely place, it felt homely and the lounge and gardens were the perfect place to relax with drinks and a book after a long day. The food and wine was excellent - we ate breakfast and dinner there every day. A gourmet 6 course dinner was arranged especially for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and neither Nuria or Jose could have done more to make the evening extra special - lovely thoughtful touches at the table and fantastic food! Perfect! The region itself was beautiful. We will look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    17
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
128
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Jose invited us to think of the hotel as "our home" when we arrived. It might never be quite that, but it does reflect the gracious and hospitable welcome that we received. Others have mentioned how peaceful a place it is, and it certainly is a wonderful place to relax and slow down.

The quality of the food was excellent throughout our stay. Very fresh ingredients, beautifully cooked and presented by Nuria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place invokes contentment. Every corner has esquisite decor and antiques, nothing is over done and is a perfect balance of feeling at home and pampered. Got lost on the way but added to the adventure and sheer delight on arrival to find such perfection. The view from every room and garden is magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nuria and Jose have done a superb job of creating a wonderful hotel in the middle of nowhere, one worth making a special trip to stay in.

We stayed for 7 nights and never grew bored of the location or the food in the equally top notch restaurant, in fact to our surprise we ended up eating there every night! Our hosts went out of their way to accommodate our awkward dietary (vegetarian) preferences.

There are lots of beautiful walks nearby in the Valle de Soba, yet Santander and Bilbao are only a short drive away should you find yourself yearning for a day trip to the city.

Needless to say, a car is essential.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

. . . and the thought our hosts Nuria and Jose have put into creating this wonderful haven really shines through. Although we do not speak Spanish, there was no mistaking the genuine warmth in the welcome we received or, on taking our leave, the belief that Jose and Nuria really meant it when they said they hoped we would return to Casona de Quintana one day. For the delicious food and wine, the smiling faces of Ana and Schezerade, and the sheer beauty of the Cantabrian mountains, we truly think we will.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The owners have created an impressive hotel-experience where all details have been thought through. There's a story and an idea behind every meal, every furniture and every room. The house is beautifully renovated. The house is filled with beautiful antiquities. And the food is mouthwatering. As a result we were enjoying every minute at Casona de Quintana.

The hotel is way out in the middle of the mountains so a car is required. With a car you can access Santander, beaches, caveman caves, hikes. I can recommend the michelin-starred Solana restaurant close. It's pretty cheap and the food is incredible. Let the owners guide you to experiences in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The owners have put a huge amount of effort into making this a wonderful little hotel. The rooms are decorated with style, and the food is first class. They are clearly and justifiably proud of their hotel in this peaceful location and have made every effort to make a stay as enjoyable as possible. There is no need to to find any local restaurants, just try one of the special house gin and tonics while sitting on one of the may terraces in the beautiful garden, order dinner, which won't disappoint, and take the owner's recommendation on wine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: If you can, book the Suite de la Tore - Suite in the Tower - it has its own private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casona de Quintana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de Quintana

Address: C/ Sitio del Castillo, 1, 39806 Quintana de Soba, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Quintana de Soba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quintana de Soba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casona de Quintana 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casona de Quintana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casona de Quintana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.