We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend the AVLON House 100%” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avlon House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save upto 15% Book Direct
Ranked #1 of 12 Carlow B&B and Inns
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would recommend the AVLON House 100%”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We travelled to Carlow for a family event with a large party. The standard of the Avlon was excellent and I would say better than a lot of hotels I stayed when on business before. The attention to detail the owners have is incredible. The rooms were clean, spacious well equipped and very comfortable. The choice of breakfast meals was superb but after the first full Irish I had to have it again!! The lounge areas were again to a very high standard and there was even a garden terrace completete BBq, Summer room with Chess, Poker and Music again showing an incredible attention to detail. On our next family trip we will be definitely booking the Avlon. M Bains, Sussex

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
118
33
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I thought tom was very friendly and he would let you do your own thing when you want to come and go.Breakfast was by choice everyday, we got spoilt.
it was quiet, easy access to Carlow IT and the town.

Thanks Tom.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We arrived at avlon house to be greeted by Tom, who made us feel very welcome. He asked us what time we wanted breakfast at which I thought was nice and also what we wanted for breakfast. We were really surprised when shown to our room - it was bigger than most hotel rooms with a double and a single bed, plenty of wardrobe space, nice furnishings and a lovely clean tiled bathroom. The whole room was spotless, everything was at a very high standard, didnt spot any stains or wear or tear even! There was everything you need to make tea and coffee including biscuits and even a trouser press and hairdryer which i certainly was not expecting! Complimentary toiletries were also provided and the bed was really comfortable! There were two lounge areas which we did not use but they did look nice. The breakfast room was very nice and comfortable with everything laid out on your table for you. The breakfast was cooked to perfection. Really have nothing to complain about! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed for just 1 night in late june.
Great location, The house is fab and the rooms were the best we have seen and better than a lot of hotels. I will be staying again if I need an overnight in Carlow. The breakfast was also top notch. I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Carlow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vonnie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A lovely stay at a lovely guest house.
Room & facilities were 1st class, breakfast was great, tasty and huge portions!
Great location to town centre, a nice stroll which is easily manageable.
intend to go back there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

A very pleasant and reasonably priced place to stay with all amenities and excellent service from our genial host, Tom. The house and gardens are immaculate and secure. We were very happy that Tom was not pushy or over-attentive, but was always there with advice and help when needed. He very kindly phoned our next hosts, whom we had difficulty contacting through Skype, and refused payment for the call. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

This is only the second time we have ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. We were pleased with this place. It was clean, comfortable and in an excellent location where you could walk to centre of town and movie thearters.

Breakfast was excellent.

Played golf at Carlow golf club which is short drive from this establishment. Nice place to play with reasonable rates. Club rentals only 15 Euro per person, includes pull cart, which by experience is good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avlon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlon House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avlon House Bed & Breakfast Thanks past guests for sharing their experience of our product at Avlon House B&B Carlow as a result of their efforts we have being awarded a 2014 Consumer choice award from Tripadvisor. A big thank you for making Avlon House B&B Carlow the number 2 B&B out of Tripadvisors top 25 B&B's in Ireland 2014. Avlon House B&B also carries an AA "Highly Commended" 4 star award for consistently offering guests a quality of product within the top 10% of AA4 star establishments in UK & Ireland. Our Bed and Breakfast is a boutique Failte Ireland 4 star Irish Tourist Board approved Property. We are located within 7-10 minutes walk north of Carlow Town on the R448. Great rates & Good reviews just some of the reasons to book your accommodation at Avlon House in Carlow Town Ireland. Secure off street free parking with CCTV protection. Breakfast served daily between 7-10am full menus. All Rooms En suites with power showers, Bedrooms are fully equipped with Multi Channel TV, Telephone, Tea / Coffee facilities, Trouser press, Hairdryer, Toiletries & Mineral water are supplied with our compliments (Body Lotion, Shower gel, Shampoo, Conditioner, shower cap, Soap, Razor & Foam, Toothbrush & Paste, vanity kit, Nail Kit, Mending Kit, Shoe Shine), Wired & Wireless Broadband access in all rooms. 2 Lounges for guests use 1 with 700 DVD library, other with daily papers & 300 title book library. For the smokers we offer the use of our log cabin with board Games to help pass the time. During the fine summer evenings you can relax on the patio while listening to the water trickling through the water features or smelling the aromas from the Barbeque. Snack menu available daily from 4-8pm. New for 2012 Avlon House accommodation in Carlow town is now offering complimentary use of bicycles to explore the Carlow Country side to guests staying 2 or more nights (must be reserved at time of reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avlon House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avlon House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.