We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B in Ireland and loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Avlon House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save upto 15% Book Direct
Ranked #1 of 12 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Juneau, Alaska, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First B&B in Ireland and loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here in mid-May. It was an excellent start to our vacation! We walked in and said, "Wow!" The welcome was grand and personal, the room and bathroom very nice, the two sitting rooms downstairs were relaxing, and the view onto the patio with flowers very nice. I enjoyed looking at the many beautiful decorative objects on the shelves. It was a comfortable walk to the town centre for shops, pubs, and music. The breakfast area at the Avlon House was very nice and the food delicious! We wish we had time to stay another night or two. This B&B is good for those visiting students at the college or on their way from Dublin to Kilkenny. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
136
35
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed there in June. It's in a great location. The room was immaculate and modern - had en-suite, wi-fi and tea/coffee facilities. It had everything I needed. The breakfast was fabulous, with a huge selection of food. The staff were so nice, friendly and helpful. My car was safely tucked away at the back in secluded car park. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in Avlon for a total of four nights, and I could not criticise one thing about my experience there. My room was immaculate and had everything you could need, en-suite, TV and broadband, and facilities to make tea/ coffee. The B&B is in a great location, the town centre was within walking distance, with plenty of nice bars and restaurants nearby. The breakfast included had plenty to choose from. The house really is pristine, and as it was my first experience staying in B&B, I felt it was as good as any hotel I've stayed in, perhaps preferable, as it is probably quieter, more relaxed, and better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights while touring Carlow county. Could not have been more pleased. We travel quite a lot in many countries, in hotels large and small and in places like Avlon. Well run, thoughtful extras, decent lighting, good wi-fi, parking, breakfasts and information. We were both delighted. Without hesitation, we recommend it (and you should have seen our remarks about the expensive hotel in the Canries!). Tony and Aileen O'Connor. Sandyford.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Whilst Tom is not your "in the face" type of host, he does run an immaculate B&B. Whilst many travellers would prefer the more touristy locations, Carlow is an excellent alternative, offering great food and amenities close to Avlon House. I particularly liked the courtyard at the back where we engaged in some social chat with other guests over a glass or two of wine. Breakfast was great, parking easy, room and bed comfortable. Perfect for what we wanted. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast Experience , I can't improve on anything others have said about the it only that it is worth going to Carlow just to experience this beautiful place and the excellent Breakfast .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coulsdon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed there a couple of weeks back and recommend it. I found Tom very helpful, offering ideas for trips. The house was lovely, the bedroom very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The price was very reasonable especially when comapred to eating out locally.
One of the best b&bs I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avlon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlon House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avlon House Bed & Breakfast Thanks past guests for sharing their experience of our product at Avlon House B&B Carlow as a result of their efforts we have being awarded a 2014 Consumer choice award from Tripadvisor. A big thank you for making Avlon House B&B Carlow the number 2 B&B out of Tripadvisors top 25 B&B's in Ireland 2014. Avlon House B&B also carries an AA "Highly Commended" 4 star award for consistently offering guests a quality of product within the top 10% of AA4 star establishments in UK & Ireland. Our Bed and Breakfast is a boutique Failte Ireland 4 star Irish Tourist Board approved Property. We are located within 7-10 minutes walk north of Carlow Town on the R448. Great rates & Good reviews just some of the reasons to book your accommodation at Avlon House in Carlow Town Ireland. Secure off street free parking with CCTV protection. Breakfast served daily between 7-10am full menus. All Rooms En suites with power showers, Bedrooms are fully equipped with Multi Channel TV, Telephone, Tea / Coffee facilities, Trouser press, Hairdryer, Toiletries & Mineral water are supplied with our compliments (Body Lotion, Shower gel, Shampoo, Conditioner, shower cap, Soap, Razor & Foam, Toothbrush & Paste, vanity kit, Nail Kit, Mending Kit, Shoe Shine), Wired & Wireless Broadband access in all rooms. 2 Lounges for guests use 1 with 700 DVD library, other with daily papers & 300 title book library. For the smokers we offer the use of our log cabin with board Games to help pass the time. During the fine summer evenings you can relax on the patio while listening to the water trickling through the water features or smelling the aromas from the Barbeque. Snack menu available daily from 4-8pm. New for 2012 Avlon House accommodation in Carlow town is now offering complimentary use of bicycles to explore the Carlow Country side to guests staying 2 or more nights (must be reserved at time of reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Avlon House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avlon House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.