We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOLBOT HOTEL CARLOW” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Hotel Carlow

Save Saved
You added Talbot Hotel Carlow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Carlow
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“TOLBOT HOTEL CARLOW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice hotel with Friendly & helpful receptionist.Bar food & breakfast was nice with good service. Didn't use the leisure facilities as we only stayed for 1 night. The bar had an nice atmosphere with music in the evening. This hotel is a little outside of Carlow town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear OrlaDoyle12

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for 1 night and in particular the lovely atmosphere in the bar with music and that our reception team looked after you so well on arrival

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow and perhaps we can look after you for a couple of nights!

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    172
    87
    41
    33
See reviews for
255
205
12
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
co antrim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three day break which was really enjoyable. The hotel is great value for money. The staff are excellent and very helpful and the food was delicious. We stayed in the suite which was lovely. Leisure facilities are very good although we spent a lot of our time sightseeing in the area. We would highly reccommend this hotel and will almost certainly visit again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear John_bCoAntrim

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us celebrating your 25th Wedding Anniversary Break, found our hotel to be of great value for money and that you took the opportunity to sight see in the local area & enjoyed all that Carlow has to offer

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very pleasant and efficient staff, room clean, bed very cosy, ample tea & coffee

Restaurant was amazing, pleasant staff, great food and drink, very accommodating to children, which was important as my granddaughter spent the night and enjoyed the swimming pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel for it's value, accommodation & facilities.................I had a quick wash and blow dry at the salon there and it was very pleasant and reasonable.

Room Tip: Was on the 3rd floor and with the elevators, everywhere is easily accessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Breda Q

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us was great and that you all enjoyed the restaurant in particular with great food & drink and our pleasant staff looked after you so well including your granddaughter. We are very family friendly and its lovely to hear that you experienced this during your stay with us!

Talbot Hair & Beauty offers great value for treatments so thank you for sharing this with us too!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed mid week with my Mam and two young daughters. We arrived at the hotel earlier than we expected and asked the very helpful friendly girl on reception if we could leave our bags with her and she said our room was ready we could go get settled in. Spacious,clean, comfortable room with clean blanket in the travel cot which was all set up when we entered the room. Girls loved the swimming pool, and the Dome which is located next door to the hotel. This was quiet enough as it was mid week , which was perfect for my little ones as they basically had the run of the place ! Fabulous food in the hotel bar, catered for children's needs . We also had dinner in the hotel bar and asked if I could play portable DvD player for the girls,which manager said was no problem at all and girls sat quietly watching peppa pig while we enjoyed our meal ! Breakfast offered good selection . Will definitely be visiting again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear m m

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with your Mum and 2 daughters. Its great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us and also took the time to visit the Dome next door to the hotel and that your daughters had the place to themselves! Our food that we offer in the Talbot is a very important part of your stay with us and I was delighted to hear that you all really enjoyed this in the bar and the restaurant at breakfast time.

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Talbot Hotel, was nice comfortable and clean. We were on a family short break for two nights and it was totally family friendly. It is right beside a super huge indoor play area for kids which was the highlight for me. It also has an indoor swimming pool which the kids loved although the pool temperature was cold. Overall it was good, breakfast was great and the kids had a great choice.
The only negative thing i could say was you need to lock you hotel door from the inside otherwise anyone can open it from the outside...so check you have locked the door.
The staff were very friendly, so would recommend it for a family break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear MaryMayoIreland

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Family break with us and thank you for sharing your feedback with us in relation to the Dome Entertainment Centre which is located next door to the Talbot Hotel and really is very popular with all our guests at the Talbot from the young kids to our adults!

Thank you for letting us know about the lock on the door, we have replaced this so it locks properly now and is secure!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonderry
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

11 women stayed here 1st - 3rd march to celebrate two 50th birthdays (and the derek ryan weekend). the rooms / food / bistro/ staff /hotel in general was good.(special thanks to all the girls in the hair and beauty salon - thanks) no complaints and would reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Carol m

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your recent stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow to celebrate two 50th Birthdays, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted that you chose the Talbot Hotel Carlow for your special break away!

Thank you for letting us know that the girls in Talbot Hair & Beauty salon looked after you so well, i will be sure to pass on the lovely feedback to them

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed there for a night with my partner. The room was nice and spacious, and it was on the top floor, so we could not hear people waliking in the room above us ;) We got a good B&B deal and will certainly go back this week. The only things I was unhappy with were breakfast (just average, nothing amazing, and definitely not the 4-star quality) and my bathroom, which was kind of clean but not perfect, as there was a long black hair in the bathtub, which might indicate it had not been cleaned prior to my arrival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Aggie S

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms to be nice, spacious and quiet and that you got a great B&B deal. In relation to the bathroom in your room we do set very high cleaning procedures for ourselves and we are disappointed to hear that this was no perfect for you. We have addressed this and ensured that we triple check all our rooms prior to guests arrival so thank you for letting us know!

I am sorry to hear that you would have liked more options on the breakfast menu, thank you for sharing this with us and we willl certainly look into it!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Carlow is a leading four star hotel located just 2km from Carlow Town. All 84 guest rooms along with two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guests comfort and convenience in mind. Range of dining options await you at Corries Bar & Bistro which serves delicious food throughout the day and the 4th floor Liberty Restaurant for Breakfast & Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m deck level pool, kiddies pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room & state of the Art Gym. Classic Beauty Salon provides a range of pampering treatments. Weekend Kiddies Programme available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Hotel Carlow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.