We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Courthouse Hotel
38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carlow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed in the Courthouse Hotel for two night 23/24th January. Had a Grabone Voucher. Got great value for the price. The room was very nice, bed very clean and comfortable, nice crisp white sheets. Staff were so lovely. , so helpful and friendly. The food was good if you were hungry, portions were too big ! , basic food really. But we enjoyed it. Hotel foyer is very basic and not very inviting, but staff make up for any shortcomings. It was very quiet all around the town, but good weather would probably make a difference.

Room Tip: We were in a front room, traffic didn't bother us at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Many thanks for your review,
we are delighted with your comments regarding the staff, as we always aim to surpass our customers expectations, We have taken on board your comments in regards the lobby and it will receive a facelift in the near future. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Got the voucher a while ago. Nearly forgot about it. Rang last week and was accommodated last night. Friday, the 24th.
On arrival the staff couldn't have been nicer. Had a slight problem with the room and was immediately offered another one. I had booked a double and this was in 2 singles. The girl offered to make it a double, and at all times was so pleasant about it, we stayed with the singles as only staying the one night.
The room was lovely and warm and the water piping hot. Lovely to see that.
When we went down for dinner we were given two different menus in error. Mine was the current one, my husband ordered from the older one - they would have been happy to accommodate him if he had really wanted something on that one. He was happy to order off the current menu. When the good came (promptly) it was delicious (only thing, not a bad thing - but there was nearly too much).
The staff were so friendly, recommended a few pubs to us and they were exactly what we were looking for.
We were so impressed with the staff, food and general niceness of the place that we were tempted to check if there was room available for another night, but the weather was so bad that we headed home.
We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for the positive feedback, we look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights 1/3 January so just back .Got the grabone deal at 65euros for two including breakfast and 4 course dinner we booked 2nd nigth for 65 including breakie wow what a fab dea,l food was great hugh portions served by very plesent staff. Particulary the young barman from Dublin he could,nt have done more for us and always with a smile.It was very quiet but that was expected and why we went to Carlow so we could just relax.The location of hotel is great so near to the main street with many bars and restaurants so at a differant time of the year if you wanted to stay out and about late into the night i,m sure Carlow would deliver.Carlow was bigger than we expected and was a nice surprise and the locals were very friendly.

Room Tip: rooms at front a bit noisy due to traffic, so a room away from front of hotel would be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, our Dublin barman was very happy with your comments ;) its great to receive positive feedback and yes our Grab One deal is fantastic value.... we do aim to please.We look forward to welcoming you back to Carlow and maybe this time you can sample the night life it has to offer.

Kind Regards,
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borris, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here on sat 9/11/2013 very easy and plesant check in staff all very nice.stayed in room 102 was a bit noisy because its facing the street but that didnt bother us at all. Missed out on our 4 course meal as my partner came down with the winter bug shortly after arriving at hotel so that was disappointing as I was looking forward to the meal after hearing how nice the food is in the hotel. I stupidly left my phone on windows ledge outside hotel (put it down to fix my shoe n never picked it back up) but a lovely member of staff found it and gave it to my partner for me. Breakfast lovely overall a nice hotel with lovely staff would go back again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are happy you enjoyed your stay, how unfortunate for your partner to get the vomiting bug though, we hope you come back to visit us soon so you can sample the food, and enjoy our hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on the 8th of November with 5 ladies. We bought the deal on grab one for 65 euro base on 2 sharing b/b including 3 course meal. The girls thought it was to good to be true....but I must say they did not disappoint us.. Every one was lovely... from the gorgeous bar man who looks like Paul....my friend Monica's son....to the girls serving our breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious.. This is all you need for a break away from home and fantastic bars to visit in Carlow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

stayed here on 3/11/13 staff were excellent very friendly and helpful hotel while not a 4 or 5 star was very clean rooms were great had all you would need for a break away the food was brill and service very good carlow town has plenty going on very busy on a saturday night some fantastic bars to visit will be back for more soon

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed in the courthouse last weekend for my friends hens we had a great weekend!! The staff were all very helpful especially Caroline the manager she couldn't do enough for us! It's a perfect place to stay for a hens/stags weekend! We stayed in the pub all night on Saturday because there was karaoke & the place was really busy we had a brill night!! Very reasonably priced & a great location walking distance to everything:)
Thanks a million to all the great staff for looking after 25 crazy girls so much!!!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in March 2000, The Courthouse Hotel, with its town centre location and close to the River Barrow walkways, town park, shopping areas, George Bernard Shaw Theatre, Visual Art Centre, and other bars, restaurants and nightclubs, it makes for an ideal place to explore the sights of Carlow. The Hotel is located on Dublin Street in Carlow's town centre. It is approx. 1 hour from Dublin and just over an hour from Rosslare. The Hotel is also less than 10 minutes walk from local train and bus station – a great base to plan your weekend or holiday break from. With a total of fifteen bedrooms all en-suite with bath, each room has complimentary tea and coffee making facilities with multi channel television and direct dial telephone. There is also a small meeting room available for business meetings or for that presentation evening. Secure car parking is also provided directly opposite the hotel in our lock-up car-park. With newly refurbished bedrooms in May of 2013 and our friendly team, the Courthouse Hotel makes for a very memorable experience. Perfectly situated for all the action of the town but also ideal for those wishing to get away from the hustle and bustle; with the Delta Sensory Gardens located nearby, an oasis of peace and tranquility await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.