We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courthouse Hotel
38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Carlow
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

great food,great staff and great location close to everything only one fault is the car park just make sure there is spaces before driving in as its so small it will be hard to get out if its full!!!.id stay here again and prob will very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are delighted you enjoyed your stay,and look forward to welcoming you back, unfortunately the car park has limited spaces as its nestled in among the historic buildings of Dublin street, we do now have arrangements made with another carpark nearby to accommodate our valued guests,
we look forward to seeing you soon,
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here recently with my wife. The staff are one of the main things that make this place. All staff members that we engaged with were extremely helpful and pleasant.
We ate here on one night as part of a deal and the food was lovely with very big portions.
It's only a few minutes walk from the town centre and a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review, Our staff are delighted with your complements, were glad you enjoyed your stay and will hopefully see you return for another stay soon.

Kind Regards,
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Only stayed one night but definitely will be back again. From reception and to barmen they couldn't more helpful. the food was gorgeous and portions were huge. pints were great also. was just short distance from foundry niteclub so it was a short crawl back. overall couldn't fault the place will be back soon. see ya then :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in the courthouse hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed overnight with my husband and two small children .Staff were extremely helpful and very courteous. Found the food of very good quality and my room was lovely .would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many Thanks for your great review your feed back is much appreciated we look foward to welcoming you back,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is absolutely lovely, staff are so friendly and nice, stayed here for 2 nites recently with my mam and little brother (9) which we booked through Caroline and she couldnt have been nicer, even on arrival other staff where so friendly and helpful, rooms were lovely, big and clean, beds are so comfortable didn't want to get up, food there was fab and once again the staff couldnt do enough plus it didnt cost an arm and a leg, its central to the town so if its a night out or a days shopping u after would highly recommend The Courthouse :) xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Many Thanks for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is guaranteed to make your stomach turn and not only that but possibly kill you off with an asthma attack during the night while you sleep from all the dust!! I booked this hotel with the price of €65 agreed on with Caroline, when I arrived I was told there's a charge of €20 because I was staying on a Saturday night!! I was then asked why did I book a king room when it was my mam and I staying!! How rude!! He fiddled around with the cards behind the desk and gave us 107 (even though 105 king was beside my name) which turned out to be a twin!! Anyway over all my night was horrendous and I will not be returning!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Apologies that you did not enjoy your stay, The Gentleman that checked you in is currently undergoing training at reception and did not mean in any way to come across as rude,I understand your boyfriend had been taken ill, and the gentleman at reception thought he was accommodating you by moving you to a twin room, as a king room would of meant essentially one large bed and as your mum had arrived down with you he thought that this would be a preferred accommodation set up, apologies for the miscommunication.I would also like to apologise for the dust issue and assure you this has been brought to the attention of the housekeeping staff

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here recently during the heatwave of 2013 and we had a great experience. Hotel is clean, food is good and staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel although ask for a room at the rear if you want peace and quiet as Carlow is party central at weekends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in March 2000, The Courthouse Hotel, with its town centre location and close to the River Barrow walkways, town park, shopping areas, George Bernard Shaw Theatre, Visual Art Centre, and other bars, restaurants and nightclubs, it makes for an ideal place to explore the sights of Carlow. The Hotel is located on Dublin Street in Carlow's town centre. It is approx. 1 hour from Dublin and just over an hour from Rosslare. The Hotel is also less than 10 minutes walk from local train and bus station – a great base to plan your weekend or holiday break from. With a total of fifteen bedrooms all en-suite with bath, each room has complimentary tea and coffee making facilities with multi channel television and direct dial telephone. There is also a small meeting room available for business meetings or for that presentation evening. Secure car parking is also provided directly opposite the hotel in our lock-up car-park. With newly refurbished bedrooms in May of 2013 and our friendly team, the Courthouse Hotel makes for a very memorable experience. Perfectly situated for all the action of the town but also ideal for those wishing to get away from the hustle and bustle; with the Delta Sensory Gardens located nearby, an oasis of peace and tranquility await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.