We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Courthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Courthouse Hotel
38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Car Park is small and dangerous. If you are in anyway unfit or disabled don't park there. Hotel rooms are shabby and there's no proper fire escape. Bar food poor so we went out to a nice restaurant down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_OReilly, Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We constantly strive to improve guest experience, therefore value any feedback we receive so that we can rectify any problems that guests bring to our attention.
It was unclear from your review what was dangerous about the car park. The entrance does have a height and width restriction as it is accessed through an archway but it is sufficient for standard-sized vehicles. It is also locked up in the evening. Car parking spaces are limited but we make every possible effort to ensure guests have a secure parking space.
We apologise that the room was not up to the standard you expected. Again, it is unfortunate that you did not specify the issues so that we could rectify them. However, we will thoroughly review the standard of all aspects of the rooms.
With regards to fire escape, we can assure you that the hotel meets all fire safety regulations with annual inspection.
We are particularly disappointed to hear that you found the food poor as this is an area that the hotel strives on. The quality of food is normally to a high standard and we are disappointed that this was not the case during your stay. We will keep a closer check on the quality of food to ensure it is to the highest standards at all times.
We would like if you could afford us the opportunity to discuss these issues through email or telephone at a time of your convenience.

Regards
Ryan O'Reilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a weekend break recently with my husband and 2 other couples. It was a special deal 89 euro per couple for 2 nights b & b. The hotel is right in the centre and has a small carpark diectly across the road up a lane, you would miss it if the shutters are down, it has limited spaces maybe enough for 12 cars but the hotel ensure you get a space, even having cars moved if not staying in the hotel.
The hotel is in need of some work,the entrance area is quite grubby with stained carpet and some of the decor could do with some sprucing up but it did nt spoil our break. Our bedroom was very nice with a very large double bed, bathroom with bath and shower, tea making facilities and t.v.
Breakfast was nice and fresh with a choice of full irish, choice of eggs, fried,scrambled or poached. There was also 3 cereals to choose from and orange juice. We had dinner the 1 st night in the bar and it was very nice.There are no lifts so it might not be suitable for the less able bodied though the receptionist did ask if we needed help with our lugage.
Lots of shops for us women to go to and very close by. We found the staff friendly and helpful and feel we got good value for money.

Room Tip: The single beds looked very small but our double bed was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_OReilly, Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi Maria

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bedroom comfortable and enjoyed the food. Your advice on the reception is greatly appreciated. We will definitely be taking measures to improve this area.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Regards,
Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had a two day break with a friend loved the area and the people were very friendly. the hotel is a little dated but the staff cannot be faulted from the time we checked in until we left (late checkout no problem and free) the only slight complaint I would have is the breakfast is very stodgy an option of fresh fruit and yogurt would be nice full irish, cooked food or choice of 3 cereals is a bit on the heavy side dinner was excellent spare ribs yummy and stir fry fresh and tasty. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_OReilly, Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Carlow to be a nice destination for a break. Thank you for your compliments on our food. Your advice on offering a wider range for breakfast is very helpful and we are currently reviewing our breakfast choices. We agree our decor is a little dated and unfortunately in these hard times it is not possible to upgrade at the moment but hopefully we will be in a position to refurbish in the future. We are glad to hear you found the staff friendly & helpful. We do thrive to make guest experience as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Regards,

Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August as part of a Groupon Deal. Hotel is very basic but clean. The decor is very dated. Our room was on the second floor and unfortunately this hotel doesnt have a lift, which made carrying our bag up 2 flights of stairs very arkward.

Location of the hotel is good, just around the cornor from The Foundry & Dun Ri Hotel, which has an amazing beer garden. Breakfast was included in our deal but we missed this both mornings. The bar does do an all day breakfast which is great, and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room to the back of the hotel, as it's postioned on a main road and the noise from traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_OReilly, Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found the service good. We agree it is unfortunate that our building structure does not make it possible to have a lift and carrying luggage to the 2nd floor can be difficult. You should have been asked if you needed assistance with luggage on arrival. We apologise if this was overlooked during your stay and will ensure in future that guests are asked every time. We appreciate you bringing this point to our attention. We are aware that decor is a little dated but in these hard times it is not possible to refurbish at the moment but we do have plans to do so in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lurgan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We are just home from a wee break, wat a wonderful hotel, thanks to the bar staff Gary and Clause for an entertaining few days, sorry we didnt get to say goodbye, fool excellent, new chief on board, and the Chinese food is to die for it would be worth a 2 hour drive for the chicken satay, would defo go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_OReilly, Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hello Joanne,

Thank you very much for your kind words, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Garry and Claus have both been made aware of their special mention and sends their regards.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Ryan O'Reilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed in this hotel recently and would highly recommend it . The room was spacious and spotless . The staff were very friendly and helpful . Breakfast was lovely and we also had dinner in the bar and it was superb with a very big choice on the menu and plenty of everything on the plates . There was also entertainment in the bar and it was very enjoyable . We will definately stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Carlow .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_OReilly, Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food, entertainment and more importantly that our staff looked after you well. Your kind comments has been passed onto all and it has certainly boosted their morale. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Regards,

Shelley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I had read the reviews and wondered what this accommodation would be like but it was absolutely fine and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The bar food was well cooked and the breakfast was good. If you asked you could also have brown or soda bread.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in March 2000, The Courthouse Hotel, with its town centre location and close to the River Barrow walkways, town park, shopping areas, George Bernard Shaw Theatre, Visual Art Centre, and other bars, restaurants and nightclubs, it makes for an ideal place to explore the sights of Carlow. The Hotel is located on Dublin Street in Carlow's town centre. It is approx. 1 hour from Dublin and just over an hour from Rosslare. The Hotel is also less than 10 minutes walk from local train and bus station – a great base to plan your weekend or holiday break from. With a total of fifteen bedrooms all en-suite with bath, each room has complimentary tea and coffee making facilities with multi channel television and direct dial telephone. There is also a small meeting room available for business meetings or for that presentation evening. Secure car parking is also provided directly opposite the hotel in our lock-up car-park. With newly refurbished bedrooms in May of 2013 and our friendly team, the Courthouse Hotel makes for a very memorable experience. Perfectly situated for all the action of the town but also ideal for those wishing to get away from the hustle and bustle; with the Delta Sensory Gardens located nearby, an oasis of peace and tranquility await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.