We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dolmen Hotel, Carlow...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Woodford Dolmen Hotel to your Saves list
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Dolmen Hotel, Carlow...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently stayed in the Dolmen Hotel, (Oct 29, 2013) I was weary of booking it as it hadn't great reviews, people saying it was hard to find, not sign posted etc & in my experience if getting to the hotel is the start of an argument in the car it ruins it for me! But I got a really really good deal on pigsback.ie so I hoped for the best. I followed the directions the girl on reception gave me & seen plenty of signposts & found it no problem. The hotel itself needs a good revamp but it was warm & comfy and staff were lovely. I'd defo recommend it to a friend, if what u want is cheap & cheerful that's the place to be!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi OFran
Thank you for taking the time to comment here on how well posted the hotel is & how easy it is to find us. With the new M9 motorway open our location is very convenient to all travelling from North & South of the country as you simply take the number 6 exit off the motorway & we are just 5 minutes drive straight in the road.
I'm very glad to read your enjoyed your time with us on one of our great value Pigsback deals & I hope we can look forward to welcoming you to Dolmen Hotel again soon
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    77
    44
    15
    13
See reviews for
62
103
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PORTLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The weather was awful but the staff and hotel were great. Friendly, nice rooms, good food, breakfast and evening meal and Soooooo friendly, Could not fault it.
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Sue19
Thank you for your 5 star rating of your 3 night stay with us. I'm delighted to read your enjoyed your time with us, our food & our friendly service. Sorry about the weather, unfortunately we have no control over that....maybe next time if you return you'll get the see experience "Sunny South East" weather.

Thanks again for taking the time to post here & for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here as a family member had his wedding here. When we arrived everyone was checking in at the same time. We were dealt with swiftly by a friendly receptionist. Keys were given out (very old fashioned that they don't have key cards) and directions to our rooms (very vague). I was not impressed with the room, the decor was dated, the room could have been cleaner, and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall, but as we weren't spending much time in the room and the hotel was at full capacity I did not complain.

I can't fault the food at the wedding reception - the staff were quick to serve all tables and to clear away afterwards. Food was delicious and piping hot.

Back to the room after the wedding and we had the most uncomfortable nights sleep ever! The bed was terrible - every time either of us moved the whole bed moved. You could hear music from the function room even with the window closed. You could also hear people walking past going to their respective rooms, chatting and laughing, which also kept me awake.

I decided at about 8 am that I'd had enough of trying to sleep so went to have a shower...the shower wasn't working! A tiny trickle of water was all we could get from it.

Breakfast was ok, no selection of fruit juices, only orange juice and the sausages and bacon were only luke warm.

We did report the issue with the shower and the noise to the receptionist when we were checking out. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi northern_munchkin
Just read your review here & I'm delighted to read you enjoy the wedding meal & the service from our staff. I am however disappointed to read the rest of your comment. We are currently undergoing a bedroom improvement programme to update & refresh our bedrooms so hopefully if you stay with us again you will notice a difference in these.
I can only apologise for the shower as this is not the norm & I will have our maintenance guy take a look at it in case there is any problems with it.
In relation to hearing other guests pass your room on the way to theirs, this is a common experience in almost all hotels but I'd imagine it was only for the short time between the wedding ending & all others attending going to bed as our night porters are well trained on dealing with guests who may be causing a disruption in the corridors.
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your visit with us as we appreciate hearing our guests experience.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I booked an overnight stay at the Dolmen Hotel as we had a number of business meetings. We booked room only as we knew we'd be too late for the hotel restaurant and we wanted to enjoy a lie-on the following morning, so we did not book breakfast either.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who quickly checked us in to our room which was on the first floor. As requested, we had been given a quiet room to the rear - our room faced out to the Courtyard.

We found the room cosy and comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had a blissful night's sleep and awakened refreshed the following morning.

As we did not dine at the hotel, I cannot offer a recommendation on that front, but I would certainly recommend it as a hotel to stay in for a good night's sleep. One thing, I thought a bit off-putting though is that the doors are opened by a key and are not self-locking so you have to keep remembering to lock them as you leave - its a bit outdated in this day and age I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard or the gardens and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Alcudiafan
Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment here on your stay with us in Dolmen Hotel last week. I'm delighted you enjoyed your room & nights sleep & I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again next time you have business down this way.
Thanks again for your recommendation as word or mouth means so much in this business.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The ground floor at the reception looks really nice with a lot of old furniture. We had been welcomed by a very friendly blonde receptionist. The rest of the staff we met was average.y
The first room we got wasn't really in the best shape. The walls looked not really clean and the wallpaper had some scratched. In the bathroom there had been a lot of mould around the bath tub and so we asked for a different room which was organized in a very professional and friendly manner by the blonde receptionist. This room was much cleaner, but unfortunately also much closer to the reception. Especially on a Thursday night this will keep you awake till 1am when they have the adult dancing.
The room service was not very good. First they didn't change our used towels which we had left on the floor for change. Later on there was a large chunk of dust under the heating device. This was there for our entire stay and wasn't recognized by the cleaning staff.
The breakfast is good. They serve you Irish breakfast, orange juice and cereals. Unfortunately they only asked us on 3 mornings what we would like to have to drink (we spent 6 nights there).
Dolmen Hotel is located about 2km outside of Carlow. If you want to go to Carlow you have to call a Taxi (10 Euro one way).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Dominik-Sandy
I've just read your review here of your stay with us in September & I wanted to reply & say how disappointed I am to read your comments about our room servicing.
As part of our green policy here at Dolmen Hotel we only collect towels that guests leave out for changing but I genuinely cannot understand why your towels were not collected as unless requested otherwise fresh towels are dropped to each occupied room every day of a stay, even for rooms with a "Do not disturb" sign we will leave fresh towels outside the room door.. I will speak with our accommodation manager to see if there was any specific reason for this case. I will also address the issue of the dust under the heating device as if this was missed during the daily hoovering of the rooms this is not acceptable.
I'm glad you liked the look & feel of the hotel overall & were happy with our breakfast service & I hope that if your staying in Carlow again that we get the chance to welcome you back to Dolmen Hotel.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I booked in very late one day during the ploughing championships and was delighted to see they were not ripping people off as other hotels in the area were.
On booking I asked about room wifi I was told my room did not have wifi, the receptionist very quickly changed me to room that had which meant I could catch up on work.
Restaurant food was excellent and excellent service.
Clean room powerful shower good breakfast
I'll be staying again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Sean F
Thank you for taking the time to feedback here on your stay with us during the Ploughing Championships. We are well known for our great value offers available all year round so it's lovely to see your comment about our rates.
As next years ploughing championships have been set for the same location just 30 minutes drive from ourselves, we look forward to welcoming you back to us again.
Thanks again for your comments & recommendation.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Dolmen Hotel in County Carlow in Ireland is a lovely spot to visit. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are excellant and the restaurant is good value. The grounds of the hotel make for a pleasant early morning walk. All in all a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a beautiful view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi brianandtts
Thank you for your 5 star rating of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted your enjoyed your time with us & found our staff to be friendly, our food excellent & our rates good value.
I hope if your back to visit Ireland & Carlow again that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Dolmen Hotel.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Dolmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.