We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff... Rooms need modernising” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodford Dolmen Hotel to your Saves list
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Arklow, Wicklow
1 review
“Lovely staff... Rooms need modernising”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Grounds are lovely. Bar was nice. Restaurant food was gorge. Aoife in the restaurant was a joy. Very friendly and we had a bit of banter with her. Nothing was too much trouble. Clara the receptionist was very nice. Heat in bedrooms was horrific.... Granted it is extremely hot at the moment but it was on another level and impossible to sleep. Even getting dressed after a shower was painful. Rooms definitely need to be updated. We had a nice big room but tv needs to be bigger. Carpet was nasty... Cut and stained... Curtains so old fashioned. There were 4 spiders in our room and cobwebs in all corners of ceiling so cleaners should concentrate not just on eye level. Rooms let the hotel down which is a pity as the setting is lovely and the hotel itself is really nice and was great value. If not for the bedrooms I would have given 4-5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi TL69895
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of your recent visit to Dolmen Hotel & for your lovely comments on our food & staff members.
The one downfall of the fabulous sunny weather we have had these past 2 weeks has been the effect it has had on room tempatures. As a three star hotel we do not have air conditioning in all the bedrooms but we did do what we could to reduce tempatures by turning off all the heating throughtout the hotel.
While we couldn't do much on the heat front, I do apologise for the cobwebs as this is something our housekeeping staff should have seen to..I've passed on your comments around this to our accommodation manager.
Thanks again for your comments & I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    66
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
51
91
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we spent an overnight stay recently at the dolmen.the rooms are fairly dated but clean,but the staff are friendly and efficient.the food at dinner and breakfast was good.if you are heading into town i would suggest getting a taxi as its a good 30min walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Hayman26,
Thanks for posting this review of your recent stay with us. Glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us & I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here on Sunday night on a "deal" with my husband. We arrived early but the gentleman on reception took our bags while we explored Carlow town and we were delighted to find they had been put in our room when we returned. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Dinner was only ok and smaller portions could be served. I hate food being wasted but it wasn't possible to finish the meals we were served. I personally like a menu at breakfast rather that been asked "full Irish"? before I even get to sit down. The grounds are quite nice to walk around but need a little tidying. The hotel needs a bit of TLC and if done up would make a lovely couples retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Joan D,
It was lovely to meet you during your stay with us & I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your time. We do have a breakfast menu available with a choice of options including the very popular full Irish but also lighter choices ranging from crossiants & scones to a range of cereals, I'll have a chat to our food & beverage manager to ensure all guests are receiving this breakfast menu to allow guests see what choice is available to them.
Thanks for taking the time to let u know how you found your time with us & I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I just want to start this review by thanking all the staff at the Dolmen Hotel, you are an amazing team.

We just had our amazing wedding here on the 4th July 2013...as soon as we walked into the Dolmen hotel we knew it was the venue for us, immediately your greeted with a warm and inviting environment. Then we met Clare and that was it, you would be hard pushed to find a more inviting person..for a woman who spends her working hours discussing wedding, we were made to feel that our wedding was as important to her as it was to us. Nothing was to much trouble...both Clare and Colin were extremely generous with their time, help and advise.

The whole planning of our wedding was so stress free and that was down to the team at the Dolmen.

The food was amazing!!! I have never eaten so well, from the food tasting, to staying in the hotel, the 3 days we spent over the wedding and the wedding meal it's self...everybody commented on how delicious everything was...big portion sizes, steaming hot and plenty of seconds...every meal we had could not be faulted.

The rooms are bright,spacious,comfortable and spotlessly clean, with some beautiful views.

The hotel is very child friendly, which was another great advantage to us, between us there was quiet a few children!!! They were treated the very same as us, welcomed with open arms and accommodated in and for in any way that was need...not a lot of hotels can do this, the Dolmen really excelled themselves.

The killeshin suite, was decorated beautifully, mood lights, starry back drop, the tables were set in such away that they weren't to far apart but not on top of each other, everybody was comfortable.
What's really lovely is the veranda outside, you surrounded by beautiful views and barrow running just below, breath taking always especially when the sun is setting...

For anybody thinking about getting married, visit the Dolmen before you go anywhere else, you won't be disappointed...
Exceptional value for money. Service you can not put a price on. You want the happiest day of your life to be in a happy environment, you won't get it anywhere better than the Dolmen.

To Clare, Colin and the whole team, we can't thank you all enough, you really made our day more than we could have hoped for. From our family to your thank you x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi lizziejm 12
Thank you soo much for this fantansic review of your wedding celebration with us last week. All the team are very appreciative of your amazing comments on all areas of the hotel, especially Clare who works so hard on every wedding to ensure its the magical & unforgettable day that each couple dreams about.....it's true what you say, every individual wedding is as important to her as it is to each couple.
We are delighted you choose Dolmen Hotel for your wedding celebration & it was lovely to have you & your families here for the 3 days. I hope you are enjoying these first few very special weeks as husband & wife & all of us here wish yourself & Ronan a long & happy married life.
We look foward to seeing you both back here for your 1st Wedding Anniversary if not sooner.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room was clean and spacious. Bathroom spotless. Dinner was only ok, and breakfast was good. It's just outside Carlow town, about 15 - 20 minutes walk in. We got a great deal for the hotel, so it was great value for money. Could do with a refurb, but it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi IrishLouise 12
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent overnight stay with us, I'm glad to read you took advantage of the good value of our recent deals to visit Carlow & thanks for your positive comments on our bed & bathrooms.

We run a couple of offers similar to the one you stayed on throughout the year so keep on eye out for these & I'll look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again.

Thanks
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed for a wedding and the setting was lovely, as was the funciton room. The food was lovely and the room was the perfect space for the event.

The bedroom and bathroom were clean and fresh with plenty of space. There was good choice for breakfast and the food in the restaurant was very good.

All staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Kim L
Just a quick reply to say thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review here on your stay with us as a wedding guest. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed both the wedding & your bedroom & thanks for your kind comments about our friendly & helpful staff.

I hope we can welcome you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon,
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here as wedding guests the hotel is beautiful and although it is big it feels personal and homely. staff are brilliant rooms are clean comfortable and spacious back rooms have a beautiful view gardens are huge and look amazing lovely for a walk around. food was delicious bar very friendly and comfortable I have no complaints

Room Tip: For a more peaceful stay and a beautiful view ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Jean C,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay with us as a wedding guest. It's really nice to read your comments about the hotel feeling personal & homely as this means we are living up to our "Warm Welcome Awaits" ethos.

I'm delighted you enjoyed the river & garden views from your bedrooms, & had the chance to take a leisurely stroll though our gardens. Terry our gardener takes great pride in his work & loves to see the sun shining so our guests get to experience his handiwork first hand.

I hope you enjoyed the wedding & that we can look foward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Dolmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.