We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Woodford Dolmen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Carlow
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hotel beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here as wedding guests the hotel is beautiful and although it is big it feels personal and homely. staff are brilliant rooms are clean comfortable and spacious back rooms have a beautiful view gardens are huge and look amazing lovely for a walk around. food was delicious bar very friendly and comfortable I have no complaints

Room Tip: For a more peaceful stay and a beautiful view ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Jean C,
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay with us as a wedding guest. It's really nice to read your comments about the hotel feeling personal & homely as this means we are living up to our "Warm Welcome Awaits" ethos.

I'm delighted you enjoyed the river & garden views from your bedrooms, & had the chance to take a leisurely stroll though our gardens. Terry our gardener takes great pride in his work & loves to see the sun shining so our guests get to experience his handiwork first hand.

I hope you enjoyed the wedding & that we can look foward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    53
    38
    12
    10
See reviews for
39
63
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Clean room; nice crisp bedlinen. The carpet was stained and worn. Dinner not great but not terrbile either. The location is outside of Carlow so you need a car. Seems like a wedding venue with nice gardens sloping down to the River Barrow. Staff are satisfactory - some are excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi JBlunt
Thanks for this review on your recent stay with us. As you mention out location just 5 minutes outside Carlow town & our scenic setting is ideal for a wedding & coupling this with unbeatable value wedding packages, we are one the leading wedding venues in the South East.

Thanks for your kind comments on our staff & bedrooms, I'm sorry to read about the carpet in your room but I'll pass this on to our housekeeping staff so they can rectify it.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel itself is a bit dated, the decor and design is a little boring, it could do with a bit of a re-vamp. All standard rooms I think are on the lower floor and my room had a view of a little courtyard with cigarrete buts on the paths. If this side of the hotel was facing the beautiful grounds at the back I would have loved my experience that little bit more! the receptionists were really friendly and down to earth! The breakfast waitress was a doll, very pleasant and helpful. It was a bit offputting the way the breakfast food was layed out, it felt like more of an sudden change of place to put the food then anything else. Friendly great staff, but with an upgrade ( bigger with lesiure facilities)and employing a designer, the Dolmen Hotel would be a place to come back to time and time again.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a view of the river and grounds at the back, it's striking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Sabbathmc
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us last week & I'm glad to see that overall you loved your stay with us..As you say the garden & riverside views from our bedrooms are fantastic & if you stay with us again, please just mention you'd like one of these rooms and I'll arrange it.

Our staff really are our differentiator as they are renowned for their warm welcoming & friendly approach so I'm delighted to read that this was your experience.

As a 3 star hotel we don't currently offer a leisure facility but we find that a leisurely stroll through our 10 acres of landscaped gardens, breathing in the fresh country air & taking in the breathtaking views revitalizes the body & brain as equally as a stint in the gym.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We travelled all the way from Sydney to have our wedding with family in Carlow. The reception was at the dolmen hotel and the staff, Colin Dugan, and team at the dolmen, including Vichy, made preparations easy and delivered service that made our day so special and memorable. Guests had a great time and the food was amazing. The room for our meal was decorated in such a romantic and beautiful way, creating the perfect wedding ambience. the balcony and views of the hills with heaters outside
Provided were breathtaking. Thanks to Colin Dugan and all the lovely staff at e dolmen for going that extra mile to cater for us and help us have the Individualised wedding we will always cherish, paula and mark, from Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: The bridal suite was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Paula H

Thank you to yourself & Mark for this fantastic 5 star review of your wedding day with ourselves, we were honored to have you travel from so far to come to celebrate your wedding with us.

I'll be passing on all your lovely comments to our team especially Vichy who takes pride in decorating the wedding function room & adding those little touches that as you say "creates the perfect wedding ambience" & making the day unique, special & memorable for each bride, groom & their families & friends.

I hope you're enjoying these 1st few very special weeks as husband & wife & if you can make it home for your 1st Anniversary we look forward to welcoming you back for your complimentary stay with us.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

At the end of a long hard day and too many miles - a decent welcome. Lobby layout and decor somewhat strange, strange pieced of furniture here and there.
e and no leisure facilities
A large fairly full car park in the later evening, as we arrived. Reception staff were attentive and welcoming. Rooms were basic, with lower quality fixtures, with little room to deal with the paperwork of the day. Disappointed that there Was no restaurant open. What is it about having to dine in the bar in Irish Hotels nowadays, and in most cases the prices are the same as one would expect in a real restaurant. The food was fine if not special, steak disappointing as is often the case nowadays, little of the expected excitement of a properly cooked steak, somewhere between boiled and fried. The young lady serving was a treasure, charming, chatty, helpful engaging, ideal to make a professional career in the hospitality business.
Breakfast really was a disappointment - awful room without windows, and poor light, only the occasional staff presence. The lay out is nonsense every thing all out of sequence, felt it would be easier to cook a breakfast at home seemed to have to go over and back the the self service counter to find things, and the counters are at opposite ends of the room.
Buffet breakfasts ! Really hoteliers its time to rethink this, ubiquitous mediocrity, they read well and seem to have most things but in the end everything is mawkish they really are not enjoyable, loads of food sitting in steam, yellow stuff that is possibly pre prepared scrambled eggs. To ask for a fried or poached egg anymore OH dear!
Used the bar, nice crowd in, probably at a wedding and hen party. Felt a bit like pubs use to feel. But ordering a drink honestly between the till and the optics it was all inefficiently strenuous and time consuming.
Didn't notice The Manager around which possibly explains things.
Probably stay elsewhere if or when I'm in Carlow again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Aidan G

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us & for your comprehisive feedback on each element of your stay, in particular your comments on our breakfast layout..I have passed this on to our Food & Beverage Manager to take a look at.

We welcome all your comments as they help us to identify areas for improvement which help increase our guest satisfaction which is our overall goal.

If you do visit Carlow again & you decide to stay with us, please feel free to contact me directly to make your booking.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had our daughters wedding in the Dolmen Hotel Carlow on Friday May 24. There is nothing I would have changed about the hotel or staff which could have improved the day for all concerned. A big thank you to the staff for helping make this wonderful day as memorable as it should be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Nuala56,

I just wanted to say thank you for your 5 star rating of your recent experience with us. It was our pleasure to have your families here with us to celebrate your special day & I'm delighted to read your comments about it being a memorable day as when a bride & groom book a date with us, our promise to them is a unique & memorable day for themselves & their guests so it's lovely for us to hear this back.

Wish Sarah & Neil all the very best from us & I hope they are enjoying these very special 1st few weeks as husband & wife.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel for more family occasions & special days.

Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice large room with good amenities. Service was good and restaurant reasonably priced for good food. Breakfast was very good with wide choices. Location is well placed being both handy to Carlow and also motorway.
Only one small negative was the small non flat screen tv in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hi DoggerfromOz
Just wanted to say thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Your lovely comments about our food, service & your overall experience with us are very much appreciated as your recommendation means a lot to future guests in helping them make a decision when booking for their next breakaway.

Sorry about the TV but hopefully our scenic setting where you can take a stroll through our landscaped gardens, enjoying a walk along the riverbank reduced your need for a TV.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Dolmen Hotel again soon
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Dolmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.