We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faulty towers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Woodford Dolmen Hotel to your Saves list
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
paddy by the sea
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“faulty towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

where to start? upon arrival we were greeted by a beautiful friiendly young blonde girl. she told us she didnt have any rooms ready yet but would quite quickly. we retired to the bar for tea. the rest of our party (15 people) joinded us around 1 30pm and were told the same. we waited untill 230pm and upon asking again we were provided a room near to reception which we thought at the time was great. unfortunatly this was not the case for the rest of our party who were gradually awarded rooms by 5pm. not a great start.. then we realised we had no water in the taps. not good. we were only informed of the problem after asking. (were they hoping we wouldnt notice?) the rooms were just average with an actual key to open the doors which was quite quaint. And so back to the bar and dinner. We had mentioned at arrivel that we would require seating for 15 people for dinner at approx 6 to 630pm and were told it wouldnt be a problem. At 630 it became a problem. A waitress who acted as if she were in charge of the area and an entire panzer division and whom i can only describe as having the worst attitude twords customer care i have ever witnessed caused me to pull everyone out and into town for dinner. She was rude and did not even look up to make eye contact when talking to us and completely couldnt care what prior arrangements we had made. i told her to shove it. we ate in carlow town where pur bill came to over 45o euro. way to lose business girl. in the morning the water from the shower was brown so we gave it a miss. panzer waitress was back in action again in the breakfast area barking orders at young waitresses but doing nothing herself and actually stacked 5 empty used plates on the table we were eating at in preperation to remove them to the kitchen for washing. at this point i was looking for basil faulty himself to appear. as we checked out we met the young receptionist again who couldnt have been nicer and more apologetic. she is the reason we actually paid our bill. (8 of our party were given free stays) go to teach dolmain for food and another hotel for accommodation. i didnt even mention the squeaky door in the hall that we could hear every time some drunken lout walking up the corridor to their room opened. the noise was horrendous

Room Tip: the further you walk from reception the less noise you will encounter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at Dolmen Hotel. I was most disappointed to learn of the issues you experienced during your stay with us.

On the date of your stay we encountered a number of unforeseen issues including a problem with our water supply which resulted in no water in the hotel during the day and at the time of writing this review we have no definite explanation as to the exact cause of this issue although it was resolved on Sunday evening & we are now conducting a thorough investigation with all relevant parties to determine the cause.

I am glad you experienced the warm welcome our guests are normally met with from our receptionist but I am particularly saddened to read of your treatment by another member of our staff. Rudeness & lack of empathy towards guests & customers are totally unacceptable & while not excusing this behaviour, I beleive the very difficult circumstances, under which the staff were working on Sunday may have played a part in this.
As you'll see from previous reviews on this site, the friendliness & helpfulness of our staff is a key element of our service & we rate ourselves as having an extremely high standard of customer service.

In relation to checking in, our check in policy is from 4pm & while we make every effort to accommodate early check-ins for any guests who request this or for those who arrive early having not taken note of this time on their booking form, we cannot guarantee checkin before 4pm. Again the issue with our water supply affected guests checking out on Sunday morning & this delayed our accommodation staff in cleaning & preparing the rooms for new arrivals and I do apologize to you & your party for these delays.

While I accept this response does not change the experience you had during your stay with us, I hope it gives you a little understanding of what happened & that it does not put you off visiting us again. I would love the opportunity to apologize to you personally for your treatment during your stay & if you would like to give me a call on 059 91 42002 I would be happy to discuss any of the issues you have raised in more detail.

Warmest Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    66
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
50
91
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel nice and clean. Would have liked a choice of evening dinner,only steak on offer with deal. We were put into a smoking room which was very unpleasent as we do not smoke. A bit disappointed overall. Would not go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My sister and i recently stayed at the Dolmen hotel in Carlow, located a little a out side the town.

We went for a lovely walk around the grounds which were hidden away, our room was very spacious and clean.. Our deal inlcuded dinner and as the time we were there it was quiet and the bar meal was standard.

The receptionist staff were freindly and interested. the hotel was friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle West, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel was very suitably located just outside Carlow town and ideal for those on a business trip as well as a family hotel break. The hotel at first glance impressed us and exceeded our expectations as there was a decent car park, the entrance to the hotel was impressive and the greeting at the desk was excellent.
The room again appeared good and was very clean and well presented. The en suite was also clean, if not a little cramped when two were using it, but overall was adequate for our needs. The main problem we found was with the double bed. The mattress was of very poor quality and sank down the momment we sat on the bed. It had the tednancy to either throw you out of the bed (which resulted in us both having to hang on to the sides all night!) or to roll you to the middle. It had seen a lot of life and really should have been changed a long time ago. It spolit the room quite a bit as we had a very uncomfortable sleep and we would think twice before returning to this hotel just on this reason.

Room Tip: I asked for a room that had wifi available and was given room 103 which was close to the reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocton Lincs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were initially going to stay at the Dolmen for 3nights however we extended our stay for a further 3 nights,as we found all the staff were very helpful,and our evening meals in the bar were of good quality fare and impressive presentation.Our room was comfortable (pillows were rather hard) the shower facilities were good.Fresh towels each day.This hotel had many evening social events during our stay a charity dance and 2 weddings, at our room location we were not affected by any noise ,the only issue is if you venture out in your car during these events you will have a problem finding a space on your return.Finally we would like to thank Tom Ryan at how he resolved a minor issue we had on our last night. Will return again on our next visit Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a few months back with my partner, around the time of the pan-celtic festival.

The Dolmen is a wonderful hotel and the surroundings are gorgeous. The staff and food were lovely.
We only had dinner in the restaurant the one night but it was really good food with great table service, we were slightly disappointed we hadn't taken further advantage of the facilities! The breakfast on offer had a wide spread and you had the options of hot food, which was great.

Rooms we're neat and clean. While not being lavishly furnished were quite nice and very comfortable.
Couple all that with the grounds, which were lovely. (It was just nice to be able to go for a bit of a ramble and admire the river with Swans!). It was just a really nice stay overall.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room near the back of the hotel with a view of the river and forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Attended a wedding here recently, the food really was not good at all in fact it was terrible. Due to it being a wedding we didn't like sending it back we just didn't eat it under any other circumstances we would have complained. Unfortunately we stayed over and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and the pillows were rock hard. Breakfast was average. Staff were friendly but would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Dolmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.