We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traveler's rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Woodford Dolmen Hotel to your Saves list
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good traveler's rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A welcom find on the way south out of the Wicklow Mountains toward Kilkenny.

Welcoming staff, good food & service. 120V outlet in room nice for N. American travelers. Overall good with easy on & off R448 road.

But could be cleaner and tidier outside, with litter & trash in landscaping, cigarette ends outside window from prior guests. Walking path down slope to and along river "slippy" and overgrown, creepy not relaxing. Backside of hotel needs makeover.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    66
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
51
91
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

stayed here on saturday attending a wedding the wedding reception was nice but the rooms are terrible .if you like a nice bedroom to stay in this is not for you, i had a family room here it was shocking orange with bright orange walls the carpet was burned the wallpaper was torn to.also the smell of damp in the room and the hallways is not very pleasant to . its more like hostel rooms than hotel rooms. stay away so you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay at Dolmen Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding but was most disappointed to learn of the issues you encountered during your stay with us and would gladly welcome the opportunity to discuss these in more detail if you would like to give me a call on 059 91 42002

We are currently conducting a program of soft refurbishment in all of our bedroom facilities and to date we have almost two full floors completed. It is regretful that on this occasion you were not situated in one of these bedrooms, but we would hope to have these soft refurbishments completed over the coming months.

Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service. I look forward to hopefully being able to personally discuss your stay in more detail.

Warmest Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed midweek on a Wednesday night. We had booked two rooms as we were a family of five travelling together. We were using a groupon deal otherwise we would not have considered this hotel in Carlow. The staff at reception were very helpful and polite and made us feel very welcome. The bar area had a nice comfortable feel and again the staff were very polite. We had scones and coffee on arrival. We had a steak dinner included in the deal which was served up very well and cooked exactly how we ordered. The staff in the restaurant could not do enough for us and were very helpful offering cordial for the children and making sure we had everything we needed. Unfortunately the major let down to this hotel was the rooms. The bathroom in our room was terrible, the tiles in the shower were cracked all the way down, the grout was dirty, the toilet was coming away from the wall. The carpet on the floor was very worn and torn. Unfortunately we only realised how bad the bed was when we went to go to sleep and by then it was too late. Every spring in the mattress could be felt we had to put the duvet over the mattress to get some sort of sleep. If we had realised how bad it was we would have asked to be moved. Again I must remind you this was a Wednesday night and the hotel was very empty and the management could only offer us a room of a this poor standard. When we were leaving the room beside ours was open and we went in to find the mattress was far superior and the bathroom was much cleaner and the toilet was newer. When I pointed out how bad the beds were when we were leaving and that we may have been given it because we were on a voucher we were told this was not the case we were given what ever was available. I really dont think this was true. I am sure management are aware of the state of these rooms and the fact that they are allowing guests to stay in them is unacceptable in my opion. My advise to you if you have the deal check you room first before you settle down dont accept what we had. The rest of your stay will be very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time let us know how you got on with your recent stay at Dolmen Hotel. I am delighted to hear that overall your experience with us was enjoyable & that you received the warm & friendly welcome from our staff that we are renowned for.

However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room & would like to reiterate our receptionist response that your room allocation was in no way determined due to you availing of a Groupon deal. We are currently conducting a program of soft refurbishment in all of our bedroom facilities and to date we have almost two full floors completed. It is regretful that on this occasion you were not situated in one of these bedrooms, but we would hope to have these soft refurbishments completed over the coming months.

Again thank you for your feedback. Hearing what our guests have to say is very important in helping us review and improve the hotel’s facilities and service so we are always grateful to hear your comments.
Warmest Regards
Colin Duggan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artane, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Nice room and fantastic food. Very friendly staff. Would go again and hopefully will be soon :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We availed of a special deal which was excellent value and used it to celebrate our 20th wedding annviersary. On arrival we were checked in by very welcoming staff. However, the big surprise of the day was being upgraded to a suite!! A complimentary fruit basket was a very welcome addition to the room.It certainly made our anniversary all the more special by such wonderful management of this hotel. It brought us very much back to our wedding day.

Aside from this super surprise, the hotel itself is a really lovely place to stay. The welcoming tea and scones on arrival was a great way to start or visit to Carlow. Our evening meal that evening also went down very well, as did breakfast the next morning.

Overall, excellent value, very helpful and welcoming staff, and a management who succeeded in making two people so happy by their thoughtfulness in making our anniversary so special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here in June having purchased a midweek Menu Pages deal for €89 for 1 night for 2 people with a steak dinner, breakfast in the morning and tea and scones in the evening of arrival. The hotel is easy to find from the town, the hotel staff were lovely at reception, restaurant staff were nice maybe they were busy but 1 or 2 of them weren't as happy to be there. Anyway the hotel grounds were very clean and the views of the surrounding areas were beautiful. The hotel itself, rooms and bathroom were very clean. The tv was small but it worked, beds were comfy enough, it was a basic 3* but I'm not complaining as the deal I got was fab.
We had the steak dinner which came with mash, chips, onions, mushrooms and pepper sauce and it was really nice, I would recommend the food in the restaurant. Later on we had the scones and tea (which I dont remember being included in the deal) and they are fab. So fresh!
The only down side to the hotel is that the sockets were hard to find and there wasn't enough of them. All in all I wouldn't let that put me off staying here again, a lovely relaxed location, nice staff in a clean hotel with yummy food in the restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Recently we stayed here for the evening. It is a beautifully presented hotel with a lovely restaurant and bar area. The night we arrived there was a folk singer in the bar which had the place rocking!
The rooms we had were on the ground floor. They were comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was lovely. It is a buffet breakfast with a choice of everything!
The staff here were very helpful as well.
There is plenty of car parking available and this is a quiet hotel to stop in too.
The following day we made the trip to Carlow to do some shopping and have lunch. It is such a lovely picturesque place and well worth a visit.

This wouldn't be my first choice of places to stop; but the Groupon deal we bought made the value we paid well worth it.

Room Tip: If you like views, choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodford Dolmen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.