We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor choice in Carlow” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pompei Restaurant - CLOSED

Pompei Restaurant
Riverdell Centaur Street, Carlow 059, Ireland
059 91 79717
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor choice in Carlow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was below average. Not good atmosphere. There must be better places in Carlow.
And it's pretty expensive given the poor quality.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Lasagne I have eaten in a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went with my boyfriend for our anniversary and it was better than expected. The views and the location are lovely and the restaurant has really nice decor and friendly staff. I had home made bread and soup , the soup was a little bland but the bread was amazing. For main i had lasagne , clearly freshly made and it was really tasty best lasagne i have had in a while. I really enjoyed it good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Looks better than it tastes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ate here recently. The setting is superb, by the river and a nicely decorated interior. Perhaps the chef was having an off night but the food was quite bland. I had 3 courses from the set menu and all 3 were not as advertised, in fact I was given a totally different dessert than what was ordered and when I enquired why i was simply given a shrug of the shoulders and promptly ignored.
The owner is a nice friendly man but the staff he has hired leave a lot to be desired.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best italian in a long time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Went with a group of ten. Nice table set up for us. Set menu also but good choices. Food was just amazing. Service was great and so was value for money. Unfortunately though where we were sitting was freezing!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great river view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This restaurant is located beside a lovely river setting, very relaxing, staff pleasant and great food with good choices.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pompei Restaurant also viewed

Carlow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pompei Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.