We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old family home turned into a culinary experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sha-Roe Bistro

Sha-Roe Bistro
Clonegal, Carlow, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 restaurants in Carlow
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old family home turned into a culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I might be biased because my Mother grew up in the house that is now Sha Roe Bistro, but it still is an amazing spot. I was there last Saturday night for the 7pm dinner seating and the meal was fantastic. All locally sourced produce and meat. The steak was the best. Don't forget to swing by Osborne's Pub either before, after or both. The pub is next door! Perfect for a group dinner or a romantic night out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    60
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Loved this restaurant, from the minute we walked in we were looked after so well. The food from starter, main course to dessert & the wine was delicious. I would definately go back & will be recommending to all my friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“O M G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have been waiting to go to this little restaurant for a while and my god was it worth the wait. My Wife and I had a beautiful dinner which we could only describe as PERFECT.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wonderful meal in this award winning little Restaurant. A hidden gem in County Carlow

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We live close by & treat ourselves occasionally to what is always a perfect night in Sha Roe,as they say whats seldom is wonderful.The setting,the atmosphere,the staff, all excellent, as for the food, it is always top class.Always something a little different on the menu which is great,everything fresh & sourced locally. It's a little gem hidden away in a beautiful little village,you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sha-Roe Bistro also viewed

Carlow, County Carlow
 
Carlow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Sha-Roe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sha-Roe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.