We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mimosa Wine & Tapas Bar

Mimosa Wine & Tapas Bar
College Street, Carlow, Ireland
059 9170888
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 55 restaurants in Carlow
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Perfection is the only word i can use to describe Mimosa. An absolute pleasure to dine in, accompanied with top class waiters, mouth watering food, excellent beer and an atmosphere that makes you not want to leave.

The staff and owners of Mimosa should be extremely proud of their business, and needless to say I will be back and recommending this place to everyone i know.

Easily the best restaurant I've ever been to.

Congratulations Mimosa!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    132
    28
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A civilised haven in a lovely part of Carlow town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A civilised place to eat and drink in Carlow, set in the vicinity of the new arts centre, Carlow College and the beautiful Cathedral. I love going here with my friends for birthdays and other celebrations. It is a little haven in a town where the majority of socialising takes place in loud overpriced pubs. I don't drink too often but here I can have a nice coffee or a non-alcoholic beer without feeling like a freak. The tapas are to die for. A recent addition to the menu were little mini lamb burgers, gorgeous! Keep these on the menu please. Staff are always so pleasant and good craic. I never feel like we're waiting to get food either. Keep up the good work. Writing this review makes me want to go there now!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Myself and my fiance love this place. It is absolutely ideal for a night out: munch on plates of tapas over an evening as long or short as you like without getting too stuffed; drink wine while having a good laugh and chat.

The staff are very very friendly without being intrusive. They are more than happy to recommend wine or tell you what some of their quirky plates consist of. They will also give you their honest opinion.

This is definitely different from a restaurant dining experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, buzzing atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Heard many good things about Mimosa and we tried it tonight.
Saturday, we arrived at 7 and got a table, luckily we came so early as when we left there was a queue to get in.
You get a menu of tapas and may be under the illusion that somehow it won't be filling.
Its plentiful, delicious and different.
Amongst the dishes we got were Pheasant Terrine, Chocolate Chilli, Lamb Sliders, Pulled Pork, Black Pudding and Quail's eggs all representing great value at €6 a dish, we also tried Garlic prawns which was a bit meagre for €6. A small complaint. All washed down with beers from Spain, Italy and Australia.
Dessert was very nice too.
Atmosphere was electric and the under pressure staff were attentive and friendly.
What a great epicurean experience! Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Came upon this place by chance when I couldn't find the restaurant I'd planned to go too. What luck! This little gem is fantastic. Great food, great beer (i know it's meant to be a wine bar!) and very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimosa Wine & Tapas Bar also viewed

Carlow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 
Carlow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Mimosa Wine & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimosa Wine & Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.