We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Sidcot (A38)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bristol Sidcot (A38) to your Saves list
Bristol Sidcot (A38)
Bridgewater Road, Winscombe BS25 1NN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £58
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winscombe
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business, reception staff were helpful, room was standard. My only complaint was the temperature of the room, it was very very hot, I was supplied with a fan but I think it had seen better days. I would stay here again purely as its close to airport

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    119
    47
    26
    15
See reviews for
79
131
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you are walking the West Mendip Way in 3 days, there are limited options at the 10 mile mark between Cheddar and Weston Super Mare.

Fortunately, the Premier Inn is only 500 yards off the track, so it was in a perfect position.

As promised by Lenny Henry, the bed was very comfortable and the room was free of road noise, despiet being alongside the busy A38 - the rooms are at the back of the property, so some distance from the road.

The only noise issue we had was from the kitchens. Our room was close by and the staff were clattering dishes until 10.30pm, which kept us awake. Yes, that's quire early, but if you have an early flight, or have walked 10 miles, you need an early night

Before we booked, we looked at Trip Advisor and were slightly put off about the comment about the restaurant. However, we were pleased with what we had - good pub food, which you must order from the bar. The staff did their best to give us good service.

If you came here for a special celebratory meal, you would be in the wrong place. This is were you bring the old folks and kids for a family meal.

The all you can eat breakfast was good quality with a good choice of meals. It was however a first to be asked how many pieces of bacon we wanted!! I can understand number of eggs or even saugages, but bacon. At least we didn't need to spoecify how many bits of mushroom we wanted!

A good place to stay if you have an early flight from Bristol Airport.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 23 and 25, especially if you like to keep the window open, because of the noisy kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lovely friendly staff, great, clean room, brilliant choice for breakfast, catered well for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Family friendly.

All together, great value for money, highly recommend this hotel for big! families

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this great premier inn and the location is lovely, overlooking a valley and set back and elevated from the moment we arrived the staff were great, room perfect and the onsite/attached restuarant and pub was perfect for what we needed.

We will stay here again if we get another early or late flight from Bristol airport which is approx 15 mins away.

Room Tip: We choose a family room with a huge bed and two separate single beds perfect for the kids, the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked an overnight stay as we did not arrive into Bristol airport until past midnight and did not want to drive another 2 hrs to get home after a 4 hr flight. On our arrival we were struggling to find the entrance when this lovely member of staff arrived, showed us where to park right in front of the reception, checked us in then helped us to our room with our cases. Praise should be given to him as it was nearly 1.30 and he was a breath of fresh air to 2 weary travellers! Having never stayed at a Premier Inn before we were not sure what to expect. The room was large, had a wonderful bed and we slept very well. As the tempertures were so hot last week and having been to Greece with an air conditioned room we were not expecting to get much sleep but the addition of a small cooling fan was a welcome sight.Well done! We had pre booked breakfast and we were again not sure what to expect. We were showed to our table by a lovely welsh lady and she left us for a while to decide what to choose from the large selection of cereals, yogurts, toast, fruit juice etc. Well, we were still on holiday so decided on the full English and were not disappointed! We were delighted with our stay and would highly recommend The Sidcot Arms to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the Chew Valley and the seeing family in Bristol the following day so an ideal location for us, a little way to the airport so not that easy for that! It was one of the hottest days of the year but the found us a spacious room ( usually a family room I think) at the back and so cool and dark! However this was good as no air conditioning. Very quiet that night so excellent sleep! Only drawbacks were very old tv hard to see from bed, and the feat of engineering that was the toilet! The door clearance to the loo is micrometers, this is to leave room for the family pull out bed. The sidcot arms restaurant was really full but the service was excellent and the food lovely! They were let down by the surly breakfast staff who at 9 am gave the impression it was time we were gone even though lots of others came down at that time. Hot cooked breakfast was served with poor grace , no one checked if we'd like any more or were satisfied, in fact very few staff around we had waited 10 minutes to be seated and left without seeing anyone again. Not the cheapest premier inn in the area, will try another next time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were meeting old friends whom we had not seen for some time. As the lady had been very poorly recently I chose the Sidcot Arms for the view and ambiance. I checked on Trip Advisor and read good reviews apart from one of June 1. How I wished I had heeded this one! As they found, The Front of House Catherine was rude, discourteous and abrupt. A course in customer care and respect would not go amiss for the staff. We chose a window seat but the chairs were filthy. The food was mediocre at best. My reunion evening left me a disappointed, upset and extremely embarrassed lady.
For the record I am a very positive person and this is the first negative review I have ever written.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Bristol Sidcot (A38), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bristol Sidcot (A38)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Sidcot (A38)

Address: Bridgewater Road, Winscombe BS25 1NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winscombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Bristol Sidcot (A38) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol Airport (Sidcot) Hotel Winscombe
Bristol Sidcot (A38) Winscombe, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bristol Sidcot (A38), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.