We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for more than 1 night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wallawwa to your Saves list
The Wallawwa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stay here for more than 1 night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Overall this hotel couldn't have been better! It provides exactly what you need and far more. We stayed here for one night after arriving from the airport and returned here for dinner on our last night.The staff are great, food is fantastic (and there is lots of choice too) and the room was really comfortable. We considered this initially as an 'airport' hotel, but we left wishing we had spent more time here! I also thought their email communication was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    86
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
90
281
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent our first night and last night in Sri Lanka here as it was fairly near the airport (20 mins) - also the website looked so nice! We were met on arrival after a long flight and taken in air-conditioned comfort to the hotel - an oasis with beautiful lush gardens and a refreshing swimming pool which we loved. We had a family suite on both visits - with a connected room for the children and a two huge bathrooms. The rooms were modern, clean and nicely decorated with mosquito nets over the beds. The air conditioning worked very well. The highlight was the food - probably the best Sri Lankan curry we had on our trip, and excellent breakfasts - we enjoyed watching the ground squirrels at play nearby! We also appreciated the nice extras such as afternoon tea on the terrace which was complimentary. The staff had a very friendly and relaxed attitude and the driver who took us down to Galle to our next stay (Amangalla - another excellent hotel!) was very pleasant and drove very well using the new highway which had recently opened. Because of the beautiful lush surroundings of this hotel there are mosquitos - they provide mozzie spray and plug-ins in the room so the mozzies were not an issue in the rooms. A great 'airport' hotel that is nothing like an airport hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka and arriving off a busy main road you end up in a beautiful, peaceful retreat that feels like you are surrounded by green country. We stayed in the Mountbatten Suite as the trip was part of our honeymoon, it was incredible with a lovely private plunge pool, we did see the garden rooms and would happily go back and stay in one of those rooms in the future as they are beautifully appointed and finished too.

The food was delicious, we had an amazing evening meal in the lovely restaurant setting and also enjoyed a great breakfast with a good choice of Sri Lankan and international options. We also enjoyed the complimentary tea and biscuits and they delivered a Congratulations cake to our room, knowing that it was out honeymoon.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the whole experience made us feel like we were actually enjoying the stay rather than filling time before going to the airport.

Room Tip: The garden rooms looked lovely. The Mountbatten Suite is a fantastic treat with it's own plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We booked based on a friends recommendation. Also read reviews on Trip aAdvisor. We were upgraded to a Garden Suite and it is well appointed and very comfortable. The staff is very focused on guest services in a friendly yet unobtrusive way. Food at the restaurant is spectacular.

After the first Z Spa session, we booked another. Possibly the best massaged I have ever experienced. My wife said the same about hers!

We spent an afternoon with The chef learning how to make sambal, Nasi goreng, and hoppers. And we got to eat the results!! Promptly went out to the local town and procured a hopper pan and the rice flour required to make this wonderful dish.

Only a short distance from CMB Airport, this is an excellent property to start and/or end your visit to Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed two nights at the end of our touring trip of Sri Lanka. Arriving in the afternoon we were greeted with a juice while we checked in and then shown to our room. It was clean, comfortable and spacious. We then enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea sitting on the terrace. The food is excellent, the prawn curry and black pork curry are delicious. The staff are very friendly and had noted that it was my husband's birthday when we checked in. After dinner they brought out a birthday cake for my husband. We were reading by the pool the following day and they appeared with lime sorbets for us. A quite location with excellent service was a perfect end to our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here when we first arrived in Sri Lanka before driving up north to the Vil Uyana. It's a perfect stop off place, about 45 mins from the airport but still very quiet. It's a beautiful hotel, the spa is one the best we've ever been to and the pool is stunning. It's the perfect welcome to Sri Lanka - calm, serene and great hospitality. High tea is served every day at 5pm which is a real treat. Highly recommend this place but probably not for more than one or two nights as there's not much else to do in the area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful welcome to Sri Lanka, after our long flight from Brisbane, Australia a good night sleep and a comfy bed was all we craved and we got much more. Beautiful colonial guesthouse with antiques, great bed, huge shower, food delicious - spicy prawns hot but yum, granola yum. Friendly fantastic service. Thank you for our honeymoon cake too.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wallawwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.