We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Night on Honeymoon in Sri Lanka - Bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wallawwa to your Saves list
The Wallawwa
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our First Night on Honeymoon in Sri Lanka - Bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The great thing about the Wallawwa, is it's not too long a drive from Colombo airport but just that far enough to give you a) a taste of what's to come by driving through all the fabulous scenery b) that much needed tranquility on arrival after a seriously long flight and c) food that will make you want to clap out loud!

We arrived in the afternoon to a small, cosy property hidden off the main road up a drive way and was refreshed immediately with a fresh Papaya fruit juice and cold flannel to cool our skin down - the heat can be a shock if you've just flown from thick snowy weather! We were shown to our wonderful room through a gorgeously zen courtyard. We just both grinned as we walked around it. You'll find a sumptious 4 poster bed with mosquito nets, beautiful little window seat to recline on, lovely dark mahogony furnishings, an amazing welcome fruit platter to replace the grim taste of plane food and a HUGE bathroom where you can wash off the long haul and have a mini disco at the same time it's so spacious. The rooms are beautifully and simply decorated, (reminded me of Thai architecture and furnishings) and the bed was seriously comfortable which is always important for your first much needed night's sleep. The rooms are not over the top, but enough of a luxury to get you in the romantic honeymoon frame of mind.

The pool is hidden in an enclosure of trees and quite small but given the size of the property, it really doesn't matter. For example, we were the only people when we went to rest on the sun lounger for an hour. Surrounded by wonderful huge trees, home to some fascinating local wildlife, it's a great place to relax, unwind and have a dip if too hot during the afternoon. You also have the option for some complimentary tea and cakes near the main house, which they put out each afternoon and then my advice is you gear your stomach up for the highlight of the stay - the evening meal - or should i say feast!

THE FOOD IS SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS HERE!!!!!!! GO FOR IT. We shared starters, the most light, flavoursome crab cakes with sweet chilli home made dip (not like the packet or bottle stuff you get in the UK) and a soup that was so smoothe and coconutty each spoonful melted in your mouth. For the main course we had curry given we'd just arrived to Sri Lanka and actually, it was definitely up there with some of the best curry's we had on our trip. There are many different influences to the curry flavours in Sri Lanka. Some are definitely more Thai flavoured, others more towards a traditional Indian type curry and then there are those that just stand out alone. Like this one. The vegetable curries (all new flavours to us) were actually out of this world and our favourite - there was also succulent prawn, chicken, beef curry and tons more vegetable dishes including an out of this world cashnew nut & garden pea curry, accompanyments include coconut sambal or something like that, popadoms and of course the soft melt in the mouth jasmine rice. You'd think that would have filled us up but given our excitement and enthusiasm at the food we decided to also try a dessert. Thank God we made that decision. If you stay here, I can't recommend enough if it's still on the menu, the rum bannana fritter and icecream. O.M.G. I have never ever, in my life, had a pudding so utterly delicious and mouth wateringly good. We actually contemplated ordering a 2nd (i now regret we didn't) and i when i think back to it, I can almost still taste what was so good about it. It was PERFECT in every way. I'd actually travel back to Sri Lanka just for this dessert. SERIOUSLY scrumptious and I'm not even a huge dessert fan but this was magical.

With full stomachs, we had a great nights sleep and woke early for our departure not forgetting to have the included breakfast which was fantastic again: a Sri Lankan curry feast for my partner (including scrummmy egg hoppers - sort of like an egg baked in a round bowl shaped pancake and then stringy egg hoppers to dip in the like coconut curry sauce) while I opted American and had amazing scrambled eggs, and toast and bannana bread and fruit platter - which basically set us up for the whole day which was to involve alot of travelling.

The Wallawwa is a really great first night stop gap for those arriving in that day and for that reason, amongst the others listed here - I'd really highly recommend it to kick-off your grand tour or honeymoon if you're travelling around a bit. The food is incredible and the rooms are really cosy and romantic. I'm glad we kept it to one night as there are also so many other wonderful hotels to experience in and around Sri Lanka but I'm glad we didn't miss it altogether.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    86
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
90
281
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnislake
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were originally booked in for only one night here at the end of our trip, but increased it to two so we could look around Negombo and the surrounding area. In order to get a room we had to book a garden suite, and we were so glad we did. After a long drive from Trincomalee, arriving at this beautiful place late afternoon was a real treat. (It had yet another interesting approach track). Our room was beautiful, with a huge bed with mosquito net curtains, the most enormous wet room with shower ever, and lovely large towels, and even face flannels. Oh yes, and a proper domestic hairdryer that really worked! The building was beautifully laid out, and we enjoyed the outside areas, pools (of which there were several in addition to the naturalistic swimming one) and the pretty dining area. The hotel shop was delightful, and I bought several very reasonably priced gifts there, liking the fact they were made by a local co-operative. The food was quite simply the best we had in our entire two week trip, with beautiful a la carte meals in the evening, with great choices. Breakfast cooked to order took time, but was so worth it. Interestingly our two dinners with drinks & wine and breakfast here were the least expensive we had anywhere. Thanks to its proximity to the airport, we were able to leave at a very civilised 0645 for our flight - we declined the offer of a packed breakfast, but they brought us fresh coffee in our room after the wake up call. There were people of all ages there, and all were enjoying it. Afternoon tea was a treat, too and the service was as kind and friendly as we had grown to expect in Sri Lanka. We are recommending it to anyone thinking of a trip to Sri Lanka, at either or both ends of their journey, and would make it our first stop on any return visit. PS: Apparently "Wallawwa" means "headman's house", which is what it was.

Room Tip: The garden suite we had was gorgeous - probably worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What a delight to find this beautifully designed hotel close to Colombo airport, not only for its own qualities, but to avoid the long drive after or before one's flight. Staff are attentive and geared to assist weary travellers on arrival or with arrangements for departures. Elegant, comfortable rooms and excellent restaurant. Sitting on the wide verandah looking into peaceful garden is a great way to unwind after travel or relax before the flight home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in the Wallawwa and it is very good. All the people are very helpfull and the food is perfect even when You have a diatery. The room is big anough and well equipped. So, we have a pleasand time there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It is not easy to find at night when your driving yourself but it's well worth the effort. This is a beautiful hotel in a very unsuspecting area. The atmosphere and hospitality is wonderful. we really liked our short stay and will definitely stay here again when flying in or out of Sri Lanka. I highly recommend this place either to unwind after a long flight or to get prepared for one.. either way this place is perfect.. and beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straftford upon Avon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just arrived home after a wonderful three week tour of Sri Lanka. We choose to spend both our first and last night in the country at the Wallawa, due to its close proximity to Colombo Airport.

We arrived at 10.30 in the morning following a 13 hour flight from the UK. Don't be put off by the rough mud track that leads up to the hotel as the place is a real gem and one of the best we stopped in during our tour. The hotel is small and you are made to feel most welcome by the attentive staff. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with a wonderful tropical woodland swimming pool. Afternoon tea with buscuits and cake was served free of charge at 3pm in the gardens. Our evening meal was superb and due to a very early start the following day we were provided with a packed breakfast.

After spending three weeks in eight other very good hotels in Sri Lanka we returned to the Wallawa for our last night, again our stay here was excellent and most relaxing, being so close to the airport we were able to have a very good breakfast which set us up for our flight home..Rooms were very comfortable..although we were only 15 mins from the airport we were not aware of any air traffic or airport noise.... We are fussy travellers .... this was Excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the wallawwa for one night at the start of our seven night tour in Sri Lanka. The hotel wasn't too far from the airport which was perfect after a long 10 hour fight!! We had a great welcome, the welcome drink and wet cold towel were exactly what we needed on arrival! The hotel room was lovely, the bed was comfortable, we had a problem with our first room as the roof was leaking but we were moved as soon as we mentioned it.

The food was amazing, both for dinner and for breakfast. Great portion sizes. Unfortunately we only spotted the swimming pool as we were leaving so it was a shame we didn't get a chance to give it a go!

This really was a great hotel in a great location, set in beautiful surroundings. A brilliant start to our holiday!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splendia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wallawwa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.