We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice loctaion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rheinfels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Rheinfels to your Saves list
Hotel Rheinfels
Rhygasse 8, Stein am Rhein 8260, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Stein am Rhein
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice loctaion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

It was booked by the organizers of Star Symposium . I got a river side room, which offers a very nice view of the Rhein river. It is bit small and congested hotel. But rooms are nice. A river side restaurant is just beneath. Breakfast is fine. Staff are not nice though bit weak in English. Room charges are bit high. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this lovely little hotel for 2 nights in September. It`s an unusual hotel, very interesting inside, with an old castle decor-there is even a statue of a knight standing in the corridor! Room was nice and comfortable, with a view over the river. The hotel stands right on the river like a ship, and it`s right in the middle of an old town. They have a free internet and the staff are friendly. The breakfast buffet was a bit dull -only croissants, jam, cornflakes and cheese -that`s the only downside, otherwise-interesting hotel, with a great view. Perfect for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: choose a room with river view. All rooms are the same price-town view and river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Entire hotel was DARK as in not enough lighting, which included the halls and bedroom. It was difficult to try to read due to the poor lighting. One night we ate on the hotel outdoor dining room and were told by the hotel staff that their specialty was the fish dinner, so we ordered the fish at 40+ Swiss Francs a meal.
Terrible RIP OFF. I have had much better fish meals cooked by my wife. The view from our bed room was fantastic as we looked out on the Rhine River. Saw 6 men jump into the river off the bridge. Wouldn't stay here a second time, not worth the money. Had to carry luggage about 2 blocks as you cannot stop in front of the hotel as they have no place to park. Location was good to get to Old Town, which was 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

fantastic location, but an odd place. Dated furnishing in rooms, dated bathroom and no bath. But we will most remember this hotel for the stunningly rude reception we received on arrival which went way beyond indifference to downright rudeness.
We were pre booked on a package tour or would have left there and then.
On our second night the hotel was unable to guarantee us a time for a dinner reservation ('come back later after 8 and we will see if we have any tables free') so we ate elsewhere. There are plenty of other hotels in the town, I suggest you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

We had a lovely overnight stay in this hotel beside the Rhine river in Switzerland near the German border. Our large and comfortable room looked directly onto the Rhine river and across to pastoral hills & pretty houses. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent & has a pretty flower bedecked terrace overlooking the river for outside dining, weather permitting.
This hotel sits on the edge of the small, fascinating village of Stein am Rhein (stone on the Rhine) where the heart of the village is traffic free. Most buildings here have beautiful painted facades & enchanting oriel windows are found in abundance. Stein am Rhein is a wonderful place for strolling & viewing historic medieval buildings and Hotel Rheinfels is the perfect place to base oneself.

  • Liked — room size and comfort; view of the Rhine river
  • Disliked — ease in checking in
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rheinfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinfels

Address: Rhygasse 8, Stein am Rhein 8260, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Stein am Rhein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Stein am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rheinfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rheinfels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.