We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality and the best terrace to enjoy the Swiss Alps” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gloria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gloria to your Saves list
Hotel Gloria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindenweidli 115, Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect hospitality and the best terrace to enjoy the Swiss Alps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Bernard and Jacky are the consummate hosts. Their friendly staff, beautiful food, panoramic terrace for an evening drink all add up to perfection. We have enjoyed many an evening on the terrace, drinking their lovely wines and enjoying the beauty of Switzerland. We highly recommend Hotel Gloria and encourage many to visit. Thank you Bernard and Jacky xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent a lovely five night stay at Hotel Gloria earlier this month. The hotel is a traditional Swiss chalet situated in a village high above Lake Thun with uninterrupted views of the Eiger and the Jungfrau. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean, and our balcony overlooked the magnificent view. We ate every night in the restaurant and found the food to be well-cooked and imaginative. There is a friendly feel about Hotel Gloria - friendly but not intrusive. The hotel bar is used by the locals, including a local bridge club when we were there, and the hosts, Bernhard and his (Australian) wife, Jacky, were always interested in what we were doing and ready to give advice if needed. It was on their recommendation that we took the cable car up the local mountain - the Niederhorn, and it was beautiful. We sat and watched the paragliders taking off, and glimpsed a small herd of steinbock or alpine ibex perched on a small ledge (very rare evidently).
Many thanks to Bernhard for the information about Lausanne which was the next stop on our Swiss journey. We spent much more time in the Montreux area than we were planning to, and it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I had the most wonderful time with Jackie and Bernard at Hotel Gloria. They made my birthday special with surprise decorations and champagne. They brought hot milk to our room every night before my pregnant wife went off to bed, without charging for it. They had good vegetarian options besides their signature recipes. Their travel tips to us were perfect and we were always glad we took their advice. We met another pregnant couple at the hotel during our stay. But most of all, their warmth, hospitality and every little thing they did during our baby-moon made it one of our most memorable trips as a couple. We will bring our baby there for sure when he grows up and will probably stay in the same room!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel for five nights during my holiday in Switzerland.
The hotel is quite nice country side one with free parking area. 

Nothing special about this hotel except its friendly helpful staff. The room is good size with nice balcony.

I stayed at this hotel on may so i did not need any air condition but just in case if you are coming in hotter months be aware that there is no AC in the hotel.

Another option you may would like to consider is Dorint resort which id next door to Gloria but larger and more to resort style accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We selected this hotel as a last minute choice for our easter weekend . All we wanted to do is laze around, eat and sleep and this place is just perfect for that. our room was generously big, the balcony was huge and view breathtaking. we were on the 3rd floor with a 17 month old daughter , so the balcony door was mostly locked , but that didnt stop us from enjoying the view. April is not the peak time for this hotel and thus we got all the peace and quiet that we hoped and expected. the staff is nice and polite and considerate but we didnt experience the 'great converstations' that we read in the reviews here. And yes - we accidentally burnt the room carpet (a tad bit ) while ironing and they didnt charge us for that :) food is good. the bus ride was fun and we didnt find the need to hire a cab at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I visited Interlaken in September 2011 and we stayed at the Hotel Gloria in Beatenberg. It's located up in the moutain and it's just beautiful. The views are breath-taking. The ride up was a little scary for me, since I am afraid of hights. We were informed after reaching the hotel to take an alternative route to reach the town of Interlaken, but the cows with huge bells around their necks, grazing on the hillside was like a scene from Hiedi so I am glad we took the steep ride up first.
The hotel staff was great - very friendly and helpful. If you have questions about attractions and the bus to town they will assist you. A bus comes through about every 45 minutes.
We ate ostrich at the hotel; never had it before but it was yummy, tasted like tender steak.
The room was spacious and clean with a balcony with amazing views of the lake below and the Alps behind it. We recommend staying here for your visit in Interlaken.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the loafed suite. The room was a good size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

First an apology

We stayed in this excellent hotel on our honeymoon in May 2010 - I could have sworn we wrote a review then but it does not seem to be on the site. It was only today when looking at hotels I thought I'd look back at this one and found it missing - so apologies to Bernard and Jacky!

First the location - high on the hills overlooking the lake with a mountain range as a backdrop - could it be better? Misty some mornings, but I guess sthat is down to the time of year. On clear days it was quite spectacular.

We arrived on a Thursday and as warned the restaurant was closed, but there was someone to meet us and reservations in the nearby Dorint Hotel (great meal) had been made for us

All the rooms have great views, ours was on the 3rd floor with a balcony, and a mezzanine with some extra beds, presumably for children.

Food throughout was excellent, Bernard is an excellent chef and when he and Jacky discovered we were on our honeymoon he pulled out all the stops! We even had our own individual menu one evening with local specilaities. Stawberries and champagne on our balcony was a lovely touch too...! Food thoughout the week was of high quality (Bernard makes a point of coming around to diners during service to make sure all is well) and we were looked after very well. They are the ultimate hosts, freindly without being obtrusive, helpful with suggestions on things to see, days to go and how to get there without trying to take over. They have spent years in high quality hotels and it shows - some 5* hotels I have stayed in should send managers here to see how it is done.

The hotel is an excellent base for exploring the Interlaken area, although it is about 20 minutes to get to from the main road near the lake.

Highlights?

So many, but the friendliness and genuinely welcoming attitude of the owners permeated the hotel.

Experiencing Bernard's yodelling club one evening was another!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloria

Address: Lindenweidli 115, Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Beatenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gloria 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Chalet Style Hotel,family run & lovingly refurbished, spacious modern rooms all with balconies & spectacular views of Lake Thun and the Alps . Including the famous 3 Eiger Mönch & Jungfrau. Free Wireless Internet & free Car Parking. Family rooms are also available. Our Restaurant with panoramic Sun Terrace serves delicious local and international specialties. Five min walk to Nierderhorm Cable car, a truly superb location, personalised service, great friendly hospitality, attention to detail & special touches are abundant throughout Hotel Gloria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Hotel Beatenberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gloria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.