We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical view of Beatenburg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beausite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beausite to your Saves list
Hotel Beausite
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mauren 555, Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
England, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Magical view of Beatenburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This small modest B&B has wonderful views of the Swiss Alps from the front of the building. This "almost" makes up for the lack of comfort in our small bedroom and the very tiny basic bathroom. The area must be the most beautiful place in the whole world. It was amazingly quiet and peaceful.

Rita and Kasper are very friendly and good at their job; they are always ready to suggest excursions and help with local attractions and travel arrangements. The food is not special but eating at Beausite is convenient because the choice of restaurants close by is limited. The breakfast is also basic with tinned fruit on offer with the usual bread and cheese of continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountains side are a must as apart from the view they are not too special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Family Burtt
thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel Beausite.
We are a hotel with 2 stars. In fact our rooms on the second floor are smaller than the rooms on 1st floor. You booked very late and we arrange it that you could get a room to the south without any changing.
Our breakfast-buffet offers every day fresh fruit (which you obviously did not see it on the buffet) and also tinned fruit for making Müesli together with yogurt and curds. We also offer a variety of Swiss cheese (5-6 different kind of cheese), ham, sausage and salami, 2 kinds of bread, rolls and croissant, 4 kinds of marmalade and honey from Beatenberg.
Every evening we serve a 3-course-menu traditional Swiss cuisine and there also some à la carte menus to choose. From the most of our guests we received many compliments for our menus.
We wish you all the best. Rita and Kaspar Pfeiffer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I dont usually make reviews, but the Beausite was a perfect getaway B&B, wonderful views of interlaken area, jungfrau, aiger etc with an easy walk from the local yellow Post Bus. Rita and Kasper were great hosts, providing hiking suggestions and local area attractions, plus offering an exellent dinner for excellent swiss value. We stayed 3 nights (extended from 2) and even saw some snow in May!

If you want a nice short hike with some folklore, there is a fitness course/walk about slaying the dragon nearby (from wikipedia: According to legend, Beatus was a missionary who came from Ireland to Lake Thun and who there expelled a dragon from the caves above Sundlauenen. His domicile in the dragon's cave has become a place of pilgrimage. Even today, the kilometre-long limestone cave with its subterranean lakes is a main tourist attraction of the locality.)

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a balcony and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Julie
thank you very much for your reviews and recommandation. We hope to welcome you again some time and we assure to you and everybody our best attention and service. With best regards from your hosts: Rita and Kaspar and from the dragon of St. Beatus !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

On a driving holiday from Spain to England we stayed over 3 nights with Rita and Kaspar at the Beausite Hotel in early May. They had just reopened following a busy skiing season and we just about had the place to ourselves.After some fairly hectic travelling it was an absolute pleasure to relax for a few days in their beautiful rustic chalet.They were the perfect hosts, helpful with suggestions for visits in the area.We did visit the places that we wanted to see in the area like Thun,Grindlewald, Interlaken etc, but I must say we were more than happy to sit on the room balcony in the sun and take in those magnificent mountain views, Jungfrau,Monch, Eiger and many others all in a line at the other side of Thunersee thousands of feet below us.
The room was typically Swiss, lots of wood, warm and cosy with very comfortable beds and the only noise we ever heard was the occasional cow bell. The drive up from Interlaken is problem free on a well engineered road.
We were made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble and both Rita and Kaspar have very good English. A special mention must be made of the evening meal which was nothing less than sensational and provided by Kaspar a highly trained chef.They say the test of the quality of a place is would you go back? The answer - definately! Highly recommended.
Terry and Carolyn Partridge

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a balcony,face south , are slightly more expensive but the views of the Jung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Carolyn and Terry
thank you very much for your recommandation to new guests. We will do our best to keep our service and to improve some small details. We would be very pleased to welcome you in the near future again. with best regards
Rita and Kaspar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a small, family-run chalet hotel. There is nothing grand about it whatsoever.

The rooms are quite compact and quite old, with wonderful views if you uprade to the front of the building. They have considerable Alpine charm, and are cosy and warm.

What makes this place special is the hosts, Rita and Kaspar, who are excellent in every way. Rita does front of house, speaks fluent English, and is hard-wired to be helpful. She is a fount on knowledge on the many local attractions.

Kaspar is king of the kitchen. Dinner is highly recommended. It's all fixed menu, and served rather early at 7pm, but it is excellent, simple food. I use "simple" in a positive way. It is not haute cuisine, but it is faultless. Kaspar's food is well-flavoured with herbs, and very, very good indeed. Every plate goes back to the kitchen so cleared it almost doesn't need cleaned! We enjoyed his food much more than the infinitely more expensive gourmet meals we ate in other Swiss resorts.

All in all a very pleasant stay in snowy Beatenberg, and excellent value for Switzerland. Very friendly, personable service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth uprading to the mountain/lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Besten Dank für Ihren Bericht. Er spornt uns an, unsere Gäste nach unserem Motto "Beste Aussichten für Geniesser" zu verwöhnen. Gerne hoffen wir, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen und senden sonnige Grüsse aus Beatenberg. Ihre Gastgeber: Rita und Kaspar
Thank you for your review. We shall to our best to spoil our guests in our way. We would be very pleased to welcome you again sometime. All the best to you and sunny regards from Beatenberg.
Your hosts Rita and Kaspar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed five nights with our two children during the second week of August and had a wonderful time. It was a real treat and experience to stay in this Swiss Chalet as oppose to staying in Interlaken with is very touristy and a bit beaten down. Beatenberg is up in the mountains and is less than 15 minutes from Interlaken by car. The views from Beantenberg and the Hotel Beausite are spectacular. The Hotel is very nicely furnished. The hospitality of the owners Rita and Kasper was warm and much appreciated. They were very helpful in planning our daily trips in the area. Both the breakfast and dinners were great and came with generous portions. We stayed in a suite which was clean and pleasant.

The Michels Family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Family Michels
Thank you very much for your recommandation. It was our pleasure to spoil you and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the near future. All the best to you all.
Your hosts: Rita and Kaspar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

First of all I want to state that Rita and Kasper are in my opinion the perfect hosts. They were always helpful without ever being intrusive.For all the places we wanted to visit Beatenberg is also well placed, as we did not want to stay in Interlaken which can be too busy. Rooms were clean and their rustic design suits the hotel really well. We also appreciated the free wifi service and the TV with an ample choice of stations. Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant too. A small shop just opposite the hotel provides picnic for your day out . Overall, value for money was excellent considering that Switzerland is rather an expensive place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Mario an Family
thank you very much for your report. It was a pleasure to spoil you in our small Swiss Chalet-Hotel and we hope to welcome you again. We wish to viist your country Malta in the near future!
with best regards - Rita and Kaspar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011 via mobile

This hotel really functions more like a B&B. Breakfast is local bakery bread, swiss cheeses, and eggs made to order. Rita and Kasper hold up to their great reputation in other reviews. We had a room with an alp view. This view was amazing and overlooked lake Thun 2400 feet below. You can see 10+ peaks from the hotel with completely uninstructed views. The dining area also has excellent views. Beatengerg is about 10 minutes from interlaken and I am SO glad I didn't stay in interlaken. That seemed more of a tourist town. We went murren for a day, and it was about a 25 minute drive to the cable car. Murren etc. is on the other side of interlaken, and this makes a good base, though if I went there everyday I might just stay right in there. There are awesome hiking trails right by the hotel, and the roads in the area provide great views. Kasper is an amazing chef and I would highly recommend the dinner at the hotel. All in all, I would give this a perfect score and I would recommend beausite to anyone planning a beautiful vacation in the Bernese Oberland.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Hello Steve
thank you very much for your excellent report and recommendation to other guests. It was a pleasure to spoil you and we hope to welcome you again sometime at our small Swiss Chalet-Hotel.
with best regards - your hosts Rita and Kaspar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beausite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausite

Address: Mauren 555, Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Beatenberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beausite 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Beausite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beausite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.