We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   untere Bahnhofstrasse 5 | 8640 Rapperswil, Rapperswil 8640, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rapperswil
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Reasonable and comfortable modern hotel with minibar, tea and coffee facilities and was an acceptable price. The hotel had free internet access. The hotel had chargeable car parking although it did take a while to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs H, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest

With great pleasure we have discovered your feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to do so. We are glad you liked your recent stay in our hotel and are very much looking forward to welcoming you again.

BEST regards
Marianne Kneist
Head of Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
21
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The location of this hotel - across from the train station and near the lake and other shops and restaurants, is incredibly convenient. Service was very helpful, friendly and accommodating, and the staff speaks English. They were able to accommodate our requests (for an iron, for luggage storage) easily and even volunteered making our breakfast-to-go when we had an early departure the next morning! On the positive side, the room was clean, modern and had a small balcony (although with the window open, you hear all of the street noise.) There is a coffee "hot pot," mini fridge, tv and safe in the room, and internet usage is free and reliable. Sushi in the hotel restaurant was very good and service was friendly. We did not have time to use the free membership at the local fitness center.

A few points for other travelers to think about - if you open your window for cool air, you also hear street noise and get cigarette smoke from outside. Second, the "single bed" room option is a twin-sized bed, which is too small for a large individual so you will want to upgrade (and pay more) for a larger bed. Lastly, the front desk is not staffed early in the morning or late at night. We had a 5:30am train to catch and needed to check out the night before our departure. Not a huge deal, but something to know if you have the same schedule.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand the size of the bed if you book a single room. Try to get a room not facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs H, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest

With great pleasure we have discovered your feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to do so. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We are happy you liked your recent stay in our hotel and are very much looking forward to welcoming you again.

BEST regards
Marianne Kniest
Head of Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

On my numerous trips to Rapperwill this hotel is definitely recommendable. Friendly and helpful service combined with rooms, although on the small size, which are well equipped and a good breakfast make this hotel a very good experience for business travelers. Also the commute by train from and to Zurich is well organized which makes this hotel also suitable for Zurich-travelers. And to the staff of Hotel Speer I would like to express a big Thank You for the always wonderful service they provide.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs H, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest
With great pleasure we have discovered your feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to do so. We are very happy you liked your recent stay in our hotel. It is an honour to get a feedback like yours and will encourage us to give a 100% every single day. Thank you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
BEST regards
Marianne Kniest
Head of Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

On my numerous trips to the Zurich area the Hotel Speer stands out as a great value, a good location (on the train line) and the very courteous staff. The rooms are on the smaller side (it is Europe) but they are more than adequate. The location is great - the city of Raperswil is a great little town. There are numerous restaurants to choose from and the town is a delightful walk. The Hotel's affiliation with a local fitness place is a great option. The Hotel's consistent high service level makes it a tough place to book - plan ahead it is worth it!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs H, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest
With great pleasure we have discovered your feedback. Thank you so much for taking the time to do so. We are very happy you liked your recent stay in our hotel. It is an honour to get a feedback like yours and will encourage us to give a 100% every single day with all the power we have. Thank you again.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
BEST regards
Marianne Kniest
Head of Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I found myself alone with my son and no baby sitter was available. The director offered to look after him during my ironman race. Very kind of her and way beyond her obligations.
On top of that the hotel is clean and modern. Not luxury but very good any way.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs H, Leiter Front Office at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Google Translation
Geschätzter Gast
Herzlichen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, unser Haus zu bewerten. Wir versuchen stehts, die Anliegen und Wünsche unserer Gäste nach BESTen Möglichkeiten zu erfüllen. Es freut uns sehr, wenn wir Ihnen einen Gefallen machen konnten. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
BESTe Grüsse von Rapperswil
Marianne Kniest
Chef de Réception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The staff at this perfectly allocated hotel are incredibly friendly. The rooms, though lacking the fancy water view you might get down the street, are more modern, and perfectly comfy and clean with nice balconies. The resto and bar downstairs are popular for non-hotel guests as well because they are that great. The free pass to Aura Vita health club is a wonderful feature. And, as is always important to us, they were very accommodating when it came to our small dogs. Totally recommended for a perfect home base for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: You most certainly want the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urs H, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your Feedback. By telling us what you like about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior esprerience for you and other guestes in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
BEST regards
Marianne Kniest
Head of Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and compared to 3 years ago, it is even better. The rooms got an upgrade and they really look nice. Excellent beds made us sleep like babies. The suite is also used as a family room, which is not completely what it is. It misses some storage space and a larger bathroom or separate toilet would be great. The coach which serves as an extra bed has a very thin mattress, resulting in a bad night for our doughter. But with just a simple question, this was solved by the hotel staff. They all are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is easy to reach and plenty of restaurants and shops are around. yet it is very quiet at night.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street have a great view over the lake and surrounding hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer

Address: untere Bahnhofstrasse 5 | 8640 Rapperswil, Rapperswil 8640, Switzerland (Formerly Swiss Q Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Rapperswil
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rapperswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapperswil
Rapperswil Best Western
Best Western Speer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Speer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.