We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Geneve

Save Saved
You added Suite Novotel Geneve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suite Novotel Geneve
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Louis Casai 30, Cointrin 1216 , Switzerland (Formerly Suitehotel Geneve)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cointrin
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in the hotel in Oct 2012 with 2 young children.The front desk was very helpful,We reached only at midnight due to our flight and had no problem checking in.On arrival we got our Room keys and travel passes for the 3 days we stayed.The travel pass covers all buses,Trains and trams and boats within city limits.We had to pay around 13 Swiss Frank for City tax at the front desk as I think its quiet normal in all Swiss hotels.The room was very comfortable with a queen size double bed and 2 single beds.Children were so happy and the linen was of really good quality.The room had blackout blinds ,so it was really nice and Cosy.Room is really spacious and was cleaned daily.The Toilet is seperate from the Bathroom which is very good because the toilet could be used when the kids are taking shower or bath.

Also there is a bus number 10 which leaves the airport and stops right in front of the hotel.As such the hotel doesn't have any shuttle because of bus number 10.Once you collect your baggage there is a machine from which u take a ticket for free for the bus.It is valid for upto 90 minutes after u collect it.Very good.Once you collect your baggage follow directions for bus ,not shuttle bus,as we followed shuttle bus and totally got lost.And make sure you wait at the stop which has number 10 written.There are about 3 bus stops outside for different buses.The bus stop for 10 is on its own about 100 meters from the other 2 bus stops.We missed 2 buses because we were waiting in the other bus stop which was for 5.

The only downside was the Breakfast as there was no hot food,only hot stuff was the toast and of course tea and coffee.There was no eggs,hash-browns or baked beans or nothing like that.We were so disappointed as we had no choice other than a slice of toast and cereal with cold milk.Cereal selection was poor as well as there was only cornflakes and some other chocolate based cereal.There was a fruit basket jus with apples and some yogurt.Jus opposite to the hotel is a huge shopping mall and if you choose a room with no breakfast I would highly recommend just to cross the road and have it in the mall as you can surely get something hot.

The gym was in a small room with just cross trainer I think,nothing else.So don't have high hopes!!!

Overall the stay was pleasant.Very easily accessible from airport,good transport connection to and fro airport and also to city centre.Will highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were given a room facing the mall and it was quiet nice.No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    158
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
136
41
30
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good location with easy access to the airport. Direct bus from outside airport to opposite hotel (with free transportation ticket upon arrival at the airport) and then free public transport ticket for your stay, allowing you to take the bus from outside the hotel back to the airport.

Rooms were large and clean and the power shower was excellent.

Breakfast is terrible and expensive for a few pieces of old bread and some watered down coffee. There are plenty of choices near by, in the mall opposite or even at the airport/at the train station or in the town itself. Do not waste your money on breakfast at this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a garden view room. There is little noise on this side of the building if you prefer to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have chosen this hotel due to its proximity to the airport (5 min drive), having a morning flihgt to catch.
Though we selected the biggest room they seemed to have (a Superior Suite), it was rather small for the 4 of us. However, the modern design was very practical, and made the stay bearable. A number of small a simple details were simply genious: a curtain to divide the room into 2, TV on a wheeled pedestal, a table just of right size, also on wheels - we could rearrange the room for each time of day. Still, very small bathroom and toilet ("airplane style", but separated), and almost no wardrobe space.
Welcome present for kids. Reasonable breakfast. Fast and free Internet. Public transportation down the street, free for hotel guests (15-20 min to the center). And a huge shopping center just across the road.
Got a very reasonable price (booked in advance) with the only disappointment of high parking price that you cannot avoid. Good for a night or two, but not more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and impossible to fault. Our room, which was on the ground floor, faced a courtyard and was quite large. The bed was large and comfortable (medium hard). Wifi was available in our room and was free / of a reasonable (average) speed.

To call for the hotel shuttle upon you must walk to Europcar in arrivals (at the furthest end from the resaurants) and use their telephone, which has a direct line to the person responsible for coordinating the shuttle.

The hotel location is actually about 5km from the airport by road (the website says 2km but this is only as the crow flies; the true route is quite indirect) and the 5km took us over half an hour from the airport due to traffic and also the fact that about ten minutes out of the airport our driver turned around to collect new arrivals who had just phoned in. Originally we had waited at the airport about twenty minutes for the shuttle after collecting our baggage so in all from airport to hotel was fifty minutes (20 minutes wait plus half an hour driving).

Note that you must book the shuttle to go back to the airport from the hotel - we were not told this and were just lucky to be squeezed onto a shuttle with some pilots who'd already booked the shuttle bus. Our trip back to the airport took about twenty minutes due to less traffic and no diversions to collect other passengers.

Be aware that as an airport hotel kind of in the middle of nowhere there is not really anywhere convenient to eat other than the hotel restaurant and cafe, unless you are happy to pay for a cab somewhere else. The restaurant is my main criticism of this hotel.

We ordered the five vegetable soup for entree and I think they must have had a mixup in the kitchen because there was about a quarter-inch of melted butter sitting on top of the 'soup' and the soup tasted a lot like a sauce you would put on ravioli (I am a bit of a cook and I swear the soup was not a soup - for example, it was definitely not based on vegetable or chicken stock that I could tell but rather was like a butter and cream - based sauce).

Not surprisingly neither my husband or I could stomach drinking a bowl of buttery cream sauce but I hate complaining in restaurants so I just didn't eat it and said nothing. Unfortunately the waiter noticed I had barely touched it and asked if everything was OK. My husband said, 'well to be honest, it is very buttery'. The waiter simply said 'no I don't think so' and that was that. I felt frustrated because it was the waiter himself who asked if there was a problem and when my husband gave an honest answer, he was shut down.

But I think the waiter and chef must have at some stage tasted the 'soup' and realized the mistake because although we signed a dinner bill of $40 Euros, our dinner bill had silently and without explanation been reduced to $30 Euros by the next morning. But nobody said sorry or acknowledged the mistake, they just silently reduced the bill. So that was odd.

Also, the main course was simply awful. Normally I cook rice myself the old-fashioned way but when I really can't be bothered I use microwave rice. Therefore I know what each type of rice tastes like. Well, they served us microwave rice - I can say this with 98% certainty! No big deal I guess but I go to hundreds of restaurants and this is the first restaurant all over the world to serve me what i am virtualky certain was microwave rice. Also, the actual main itself was extremely bland and tasted like the marinated vegetable mixes you can buy at the supermarket delis in Australia. I have no proof that the chef took these shortcuts though, so all I can say with great certainty is that the whole meal tasted terrible. Perhaps the chef did labour and do things the way most other restaurants do them, and I am mistaken in my suspicions, but nothing can change the fact that the soup for entree was absolutely nauseating to two people and the main was not much better.

Given that it is hard to avoid the Novotel restaurant unless you really want to make the effort to catch a cab elsewhere, I think the restaurant is a bigger deal than it might otherwise be but honestly, the chef seemed to be doing an okay job of fries and burgers so maybe we were just unlucky with what we ordered.

In summary I think the room was outstanding value for its size, comfort and cleanliness but I couldn't recommend this hotel to a friend because the restaurant was kind of gross and there is nowhere else to eat easily. Also the waiter was kind of aggressive when my husband answered the waiter's own question honestly and I think the fact that our bill got reduced shows they probably did taste the soup later and realized the mistake (ie it wasn't our imaginations that something was wrong with the soup.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel is very handy for the airport. There is also tram stops that take you right into central Geneva which was great.
The room is a good size and clean. The bathroom was spotless and well equipped.
Although its near to the airport we could slightly hear a distant rumble of an aeroplane at worst, which was great.
The breakfast was the only let down. It was basic and I wouldnt pay for it again.
The secure car park was excellent.
All in all a satisfactory hotel to stay at

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suite Novotel Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Geneve

Address: Avenue Louis Casai 30, Cointrin 1216 , Switzerland (Formerly Suitehotel Geneve)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Cointrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite Novotel Geneve 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel, across from the Balexert shopping centre and 15 minutes walk from the airport. 86 inviting modular suites with air conditioning, 30 square metres in size. Friendly atmosphere. 24 hour services include Boutique Gourmande gourmet food counter, gym, private undercover parking. Accessible facilities for persons with limited mobility. Free public transport for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Suite Novotel Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Geneve Hotel Cointrin
Suitehotel Hotel Geneve
Suitehotel Hotel Cointrin
Suite Novotel Geneve Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Geneve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.