We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Geneva to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Geneva
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Louis Casai 30, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A conveniently located, easy to use hotel supplying good, clean, basic accommodation close to both the airport and the offices I was visiting. No frills, but they were not needed for a short business visit. WiFi was welcome and easy to use. Breakfast in "bistro" was fine. The only quibble was the price, which seemed high to me for a small room, but that may be what the market has set in Switzerland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    292
    157
    40
    19
See reviews for
98
141
130
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a great stay. Especially for Geneva this place is real value for your money. Transport to cornavin station is easy to get just across the road from the hotel. Shopping mall across the road also makes life easy. I will definitely stay here again should I find myself back in Geneva

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcFISCHER, Directeur général at Ibis Budget Geneva, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your high satisfaction with us on TripAdvisor.

Your comments have been shared with our team and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I needed a hotel near the airport but also near to client's offices at Blandonnet, I was also looking for good links into the city. This hotel fits that bill just right! it's right across the road from a large shopping centre and right next main roads and bus route into the city.
The hotel was clean, functional and the breakfast was fine - usual cereals, bread, cheese & jams etc.(11CHF). The room I was in had a double bed and bunk bed overhead so would easily sleep 3, it was clean and quiet and fine for a 1 or 2 night stay however there wasn't any coffee or tea making facility in the rooms so it was 2CHF in the vending machine in the lobby. It did however provide free WIFI which was a real bonus, especially as some other hotels charge riduculous fees for this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good reasonably priced (at least by Geneva standards!) hotel within walking distance of the airport). Excellent for short stay. Facilities basic but consistently reliable and good. Best to ask for room on Jura side of the hotel if you want to be able to open a window.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Rooms are spartan and small, but acceptable by all means.
Close to the airport, 10 minute walk, but you can take the bus if you don't feel like walking. Down town is one trolley bus away. Hotel is next to Balexert shopping centre, where you can grab a quick bite. ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent hotel. Overall very good experience. Rooms are clean and very well kept. Staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfast is nice. View from rooms Location is convinient and well connected by bus service although not the most optimal location for some. (Something nearer to the railway station may be more convenient for some people). Internet is free which is great.

Somethings could be improved even if it is a budget hotel. (1) Will be good to have a water heater in the room to prepare tea/coffee. (2) It will be good to specify the amenities present/absent in the room and at the hotel on the website so that the travellers can come prepared. e.g. no hair drier, no electric cooker/grill, no mini fridge etc. (3) Did not find information about connectivity to the hotel from airport/railway station. Will be useful to add that. e.g. bus #10 to rive from airport and bus #10 to airport from railway station, stop pally (Balexert). This will be extremely useful to travellers.

Found the room little too cold on first night -- maybe because I am not used to extreme cold. The blankets are good -- but I forgot to cover my head with woolens and got a headache. From 2nd day I took care to cover my head and didnt face any problem after that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Budget Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Geneva

Address: Avenue Louis Casai 30, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Geneva 1*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Geneve (ex Etap Hotel) is an economy hotel located across from the Balexert shopping centre, a 15-minute walk from the airport. The hotel has 204 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free WiFi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Geneve for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cointrin
Etap Hotel Geneva
Etap Geneva
Ibis Budget Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.