We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Geneva to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Geneva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75-77 avenue Louis Casai, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
229 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
345 helpful votes 345 helpful votes
“Good airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

I stayed her for 2 nights in November 2008. The Ramada Park Hotel is conveniently located about 500 meters from the airport. A hotel bus service runs every 20 minutes but you could also walk it. In front of the hotel bus 10 stops which goes to the city center (takes about 20 minutes). Into the other direction this bus goes to the airport. The hotel provides a free transportation ticket, which is valid for the days of your stay for all public transportation in Geneva.

The rooms are small, but comfortable. I had a door between my room and the adjacent room which was not really sound proof. I could hear the snoring and coughing of my neighbor. Wireless internet is expensive (Cfr 32,00) every 24 hours, which is really overpriced nowadays.

I had a nice lunch salad in the bar and dinner was OK, although not very exciting.

Ramada Park is a very convenient place to have an international meeting and it is cheaper than other A-locations.

  • Liked — Convenient location for the airport
  • Disliked — Free public transportation ticket for Geneva during stay.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    134
    92
    54
    47
See reviews for
23
59
40
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Stayed here as part of a conference booking recently. The rooms were quite dated - I was in a twin room and the bed felt really old and used. It was a little torn on the side and the quilt was dusty. It feels a little like a retro hotel built in the '80s. There's really funky 1950's style door numbers on each of the rooms but it just feels a little dated and not fresh. The windows had broken latches so it was a challenge to open them. Mine looked out on runway of the airport which was a bit of a pain when flights started taking off in the morning. Had to have the window open as it just felt clammy - the air con didn't work.

The water in the shower went hot and cold and the actual shower head was at the side rather than above so spraying at you rather than on you. I'm not sure if this was the case in all rooms.

The hotel is very convenient for the airport and the shuttle bus takes about 5 minutes from the airport. It's convenient for the city too as the bus (no 10) stops right outside the hotel and this goes into the city which takes about 10 / 15 minutes.

Downstairs in the hotel is fine - breakfast was good and it feels a little more modern. The conference room on -2 was very warm and had no fresh air. It was quite hard to be in it for two days with no natural light or air.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

A very good and comfortable business hotel. The great things about this hotel.

1. The staff are very very helpful
2. On arrival you are issued a free pass for all public transport for the duration of your stay (bus, tram and boat). There are plenty of buses, the route maps are easy to understand and it is a very easy way to get around the city. The free pass is a simple but inspired idea.
3. They have complimentary bicycles available, free for the first two hours.
4. The room/bathroom were super clean.
5. They have free wifi internet in the lobby
6. Breakfast buffet is great (but a bit expensive)

The hotel is situated conveniently close to the airport (5 min), in a fairly nondescript neighborhood. The old town is a bus ride away, but there is a stop right outside the hotel.

There is a fantastic Persian restaurant just over the road. Restaurant Khayyâm, Avenue Louis-Casaï 60.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahrain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Ok .. Ramada Park Hotel

when we arrived I was shocked.. the room was too small but then I heard that most hotels in Europe are not that fancy and the rooms are small anyway :-)

at the reception they were very cooperative and kind although the phone in the room doesn't work so well .. so in order to call

the hair dresser dial 3047
room service 3062
front desk 3040

there is a tiny cold store in front of the hotel petrol station you can get mineral water and stuff its cheaper than the hotel of course and you can take the shuttle to the airport every 20 minutes to get magazines and stuff .. if you are not from Europe get an adapter cause you wont be able to charge your mobile otherwise have a pleasant stay ...

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — far from geneva lake
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Insane prices $375 per night for a Ramada. Internet is very difficult and expensive $32/day and you can only get the access number by walking down to the front desk. Really bad customer service. I was jet-lagged and didn't want to worry about meeting the laundry 830am deadline. So, the night before, I called the front desk and asked to have my laundry picked up. He said it wasn't possible. I had to call back in the morning! Ridiculous! I had a cockroach crawling across my carpet near the bed - not fun. The gym equipment is old and needs repair/updating. The maid would just rinse the glasses you used, and put them back instead of replacing them with sanitized/washed glasses. Wow - Ramada corporate offices needs to check this hotel out.

  • Liked — Checking out and writing this review to warn others
  • Disliked — No free breakfast for a $375/night Ramada room in Europe????
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cointrin hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

Normally I wouldn't stay in a hotel like a Ramada, but since I was in Geneva for the Euro Cup, I had to take what I could find. It is a hotel catered towards business travelers.

The hotel is very close to the airport (about 3 minutes by their free shuttle, which runs every 20 minutes between about 6 am - 10 pm), but not close to anything else. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, and the #10 bus come about every 10 minutes and takes you right downtown. One nice thing was that we each got a free bus pass upon arrival that was valid only for the days we were in Geneva. We saved quite a bit of money of transportation that way.

The room decor is outdated and the bed was two very hard mattresses pushed together, which created a very awkward dip in the middle.

Breakfast was not included, and the price was outrageous at 35 Euros per person!

Some of the members of the concierge were helpful, and others were not so much. Near the elevator, there was a sign advertising that there was a pool 100m from the hotel. When we inquired about it, the two ladies working blankly stared at each other, spoke a bit in French (even though they did speak English as well), and then sort of pointed nowhere and told us they didn't really know what we were talking about. We walked around trying to find it and couldn't. My point is, if a hotel is going to advertise something, I think the staff should be informed and be able to tell the guests about it. There was one young man, Daniel, who was always helpful and friendly, but most of the other ones were not.

Wireless internet was free, but it was only available in the lobby area.

There are a couple of overpriced restaurants in the hotel, which we did make use of a couple of times, only due to the fact that there were really no other restaurants in the area (except for an extremely expensive Italian restaurant across the street).

We paid 200 CHF for one night and 350 CHF for the other 3 nights.

I would not stay here again unless it was the only place available.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

This is a perfectly adequate airport hotel, not a destination hotel or a blue chip business hotel. My experience and that of my colleagues was better than the norm in most reviews here. I cannot account for the significant variation in reviews.

Location: In a bland commercial / residential neighborhood very convenient to the airport, not convenient to the historic districts and Lake Geneva. Free airport shuttle service works pretty well, though the pickup intervals were longer than promised. The #10 bus runs frequently outbound to the airport (5 minutes) and inbound to the attractions of Geneva (15 to 20 minutes).
Hint 1: All hotels and hostels in Geneva provide a free bus / tram / train / ferry pass for travel in Geneva for the duration of your stay. Make sure that you request your pass early. Take the #10 bus past the train station to the Bellair stop to begin your walking tour or the historic areas. Or transfer at the central train station to the #5 trolley to visit the UN. Or use your pass on within city public ferry boats for a free tour of the lake.

Room: My single was adequately furnished in contemporary 1980s and 1990s style. Comfortable bed, functional desk, small TV, hot pot with ample tea and coffee supplies, safe, fridge with the usual overpriced beer, wine and snacks. The bathroom was dated but functional. The temperature in my room was comfortable during the hot spell in June. My room was clean.
Hint 2: Buy beer, wine, and snacks at the Centre Balexert shopping mall two or three stops toward downtown instead of hitting the goodies in the fridge. There is a very nice cheese store, chocolate store, and wine store right next to the entrance. Shop like a local where prices and quality are good.
Hint 3: The cheese store will vacuum seal your purchase of excellent local hard cheeses for transport.

Services: The hotel has free wifi internet in the lobby and very expensive internet available in the rooms. 40 francs for 24 hours is high, even by hotel standards. Front desk service was cordial and staff were helpful. At check-in, the clerk wrote the wrong room number on my card. Potentially embarrassing since I emailed that room number to Swiss colleagues with whom I was meeting and to my wife. Fortunately, the lady who received my calls was extremely nice. Lines were a little long, services were a little slow, directions to destinations were not always accurate. Exercise rooms and other recreational facilities were minimal. Breakfast buffet was great.
Hint 4: Do not rely heavily on messaging and other services.
Hint 5: Do not miss the lavish breakfast buffet, with its Swiss, British, Japanese and American offerings. I could enjoy a French omelet cooked to order with fresh fruits and croissant or a cold Japanese omelet prepared with sweet rice wine, lightly salted white fish and salmon, assorted pickles and miso soup ..... or both. The usual Swiss cold cuts, cheese and yogurt were also there. As were British tomatoes, beans, bangers, bacon and eggs. Allow plenty of time to eat breakfast.
Hint 6: Skip the exercise machines and head out on the complimentary bicycles or use that bus ticket to go running in the beautiful park by Lake Geneva. After eating that breakfast, you will need some serious exercise to burn off calories.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Geneva

Address: 75-77 avenue Louis Casai, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Geneva 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 366 rooms Crowne Plaza Geneva welcomes you in an inspiring renovated hotel. All guestrooms have an exclusive design with enhanced comfort. A brand new Club rooms floor and a Club lounge have been created on the top floor with large guest rooms, offering a relaxing atmosphere with great panoramic views. Discover a new dimension with the modern remodeled lobby and the contemporaneous bar. Experience the trendy Seventy5 restaurant offering refined cuisine with international and local specialties. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of a dynamic business district of Geneva and offers a free hotel shuttle bus between the hotel and the airport and a well as a free Public Transport card to the city center. In only a few minutes you reach the international airport, the railway station and the Palexpo Exhibition Centre. Taxis and public transports in the front of the hotel will allow you to reach the city center and the main touristic highlights in only 10 minutes. Geneva’s largest shopping center Balexert is within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel features a garden, two restaurants with beautiful shaded terraces, a bar and a business center with free internet access. For the wellbeing of our guests, the hotel also proposes a hairdresser, a fitness center and a parking. With a banquet and conference center of 18 modular rooms and a total capacity of 1200 people, the Crowne Plaza offers one of the largest event areas in Geneva and is the right place to meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Geneva Hotel Cointrin
Ramada Geneva
Ramada Cointrin
Cointrin Ramada
Ramada Hotel Geneva
Crowne Plaza Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.