We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an airport hotel but you could probably do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Geneve Aeroport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Geneve Aeroport to your Saves list
Ibis Geneve Aeroport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Chemin de la Violette, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Allentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK for an airport hotel but you could probably do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My brother and I stayed here recently for two nights. The hotel is fairly close to the airport but it isn't right next door to it. They have shuttle service to and from the airport - shuttles depart about every 20 minutes or so - but you can also walk to the hotel from the airport (although the path isn't easily found and it isn't all paved). The shuttle takes about 5-7 minutes to get between locations.

Our room was a little dated but it did the job - nothing to complain about but it wasn't anything to brag about either. We overlooked the highway and airport but, surprisingly, the room was fairly quiet. The bathroom we had was quite large compared to the size of the room - we had a huge shower which was a welcome change from some of the other hotels we stayed at on this trip. They were a little skimpy on towels and pillows. We could have asked for more, I guess, had we needed them. The free wi-fi was okay but a little slow and is only good for 24 hours. You need to get a pass from the front desk to use it - the first pass I received didn't work.

All visitors to Geneva get free transportation passes within the city limits which was nice but we had to ask specifically for the passes as they were not offered to us at check-in. There's a tram nearby (about 5-10 minutes walking) that will take you to the downtown area in about 10-15 minutes. You can also use the hotel shuttle to get to the airport where there's a train station. We found this to be more convenient for getting to the center of the city.

We were a little disappointed in the check-out procedure. We had an early morning flight and needed to be on the first shuttle of the day. We got downstairs early to check out but no one was down at the front desk. Eventually a staff member appeared but he didn't want to assist us. Rather, he went about taking his time to clean the bar and breakfast area (and made an espresso for someone in the lobby). As additional guests came down to check-out, he ignored them or just told them to just drop keys on the front desk. We left the hotel without any receipt which was a little disconcerting. A receipt was mailed to me about a week after returning to the U.S.

If I was going to stay in an airport hotel in Geneva again, I would definitely consider other options. While the room served its purpose, I found the staff were not very helpful and didn't feel as if they appreciated our business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    251
    128
    30
    17
See reviews for
44
147
93
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room was fine, the location was difficult to find. The room was very quiet. I went to buy a bottle of water in the downstairs lobby and I was quoted over 7 dollars for a one liter bottle of water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Once again, I stayed at this hotel for business purposes. And once again I have to express my satisfaction.

This time, I arrived at 11:oopm after a more that 24h trip without my luggage when I realized that I had simply forgotten to book my room at the Ibis.

When the shuttle arrived, he told me I had to wait for the last departure 30 minutes later and when he saw my face, the driver was so kind to make an exception and drove me as a favor immediately to the hotel. A very good point.

Shuttle, from 5am to 11:30 pm, every 20 minutes.

At the reception, even if they don't know me I think I know pretty everybody there :-), the check-in was so fast. They found me a room available at the best price they could (the best rates are at www.accorhotels.com) and delivered me my keys and as many internet access codes I needed for all my devices for the stay.

At midnight, I could enjoy my double expresso. My priceless pleasure ;-) They offer a 24 hour service of drinks and selection of snacks in room and also have vending machines.

Excellent night in the pretty well sound proofed bedroom equipped with TV, queen size bed, shower, free wifi internet, desk. Not luxury, practical. Roomy enough.

The day after, breakfast buffet. coffees, hot chocolate, ovomaltine, teas, juices, yoghurts, cereals, multiple breads and ... good croissants and pains au chocolat (chocolate croissants), butter, marmelade, pork ham, turkey ham, cheese....simple once again, but really enough and more!

For dinner, simple menu but well priced, good quality, excellent service.

Check out was smoothly as usual.

Conclusion...it is a 100% satisfaction again! Gentlemen at Ibis Airport, keep your smile on. It is always a pleasure to have an opportunity to meet you and to talk to you some time to time. Really prefer your budget hotels Vs. many other luxury ones I have tested around. Congratulations !

Room Tip: Personally, all the rooms I have tested were quiet and good. no swimming pool nor fitness center..s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very clean rooms with private bath. Free breakfast. Got a good weekend deal of $120/night otherwise it would have been a big dent at double the price on regular days. Left the hotel very early at 400am and shuttle was free. Very near the airport and bus stop to city center was 3 minutes from hotel. Hotel gave free 24 hour bus/tram pass.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was attending a Convention at the Palexpo at Geneva Airport. I thought that the room
rate had been increased specifically because full occupancy was expected due to the
convention. Therefore, my value rating is only 3.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Ibis Aeroporto has always been my choice coz of the convenience, service, safety and charm. We have been coming here for almost 10 yrs and every time we have come we see improvement. Staff is quite friendly and the petit restaurant is grate. I would how ever like if the breakfast is changed over the week coz it is repeated like a prayer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Shuttle bus to the airport was 25 min late - supposed to leave every 20 min! :(
Not very good if one is trying to catch a flight. I was heading to the airport to catch the train to Geneva centre, for a business mtg - not quite as critical but equally frustrating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Geneve Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Geneve Aeroport

Address: 10 Chemin de la Violette, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Geneve Aeroport 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Geneve Aeroport hotel is located in Cointrin, 10 min from the centre of Geneva, close to the international airport and the Palexpo exhibition centre. The UN headquarters is a few minutes drive away. A free shuttle service runs between the hotel and the airport from 5.30 a.m. to 11.15 p.m. 109 air-conditioned rooms, pay parking, a bar with a terrace open 24 hours and a restaurant. Guests on a business trip will appreciate our wireless internet access. Public transport 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Geneve Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel Cointrin
Ibis Hotel Geneve Aeroport
Ibis Hotel Cointrin
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Geneve Aeroport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.