We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UME Unexpected, Most satisfying, Excelent cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ume

Ume
Rue du Cotterd 2, Chexbres 1071, Switzerland
+41 (21) 946 12 03
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Ume is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Chexbres
Price range: $10 - $51
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“UME Unexpected, Most satisfying, Excelent cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

In the village of Chexbres just off the main street you will find UME, a small and discreet restaurant serving Asian cuisine prepared to excellent standards.
Everything we chose (especially the fried beef) was very good, including the vegetables that were actually oriental (and not the usual rice with peas and corn often on offer in Switzerland).
The staff was friendly. The service was correct and not too lengthy.
And pricing was fair. Unexpected and most satisfying.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vevey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nice little restaurant, very good sushi (for Switzerland), good and rapid service and reasonable prices.

Definitely will be returning!

You need to find parking in Chexbres though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, at great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I lived in Japan for a while and in California. Until I went to this restaurant, I thought there were no good Japanese restaurants in Switzerland. The food is really good, with a rather wide selection of Japanese and even some Chinese dishes. The price is absolutely great for Switzerland. In fact, you pay about the same price for a much better suhi selection in this restaurant than what you pay on stores like Coop! Highly recommended. The owner is a bit shy, but very nice and caring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best value for money around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The place as new ownership since it reopened this pas summer.
the food is as good as it was with a bit more of a chinese influence on the menu, sushis are still very tasty and the main dishes are also of high quality.
pricing is very reasonable for japanese food and the 2 ladies serving the guests are friendly and quick on their feet.
Highly recommended restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“New name, new owners, but quality of food and service remains excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I went there last Saturday. We did not know "Chez Yoshi" is now called UMI. The new owners offer both Japanese and Chinese cuisine. The service was really great. We ordered hot sake to accompany our sashimi and sushis. After some time, the waitress came to suggest to warm it up. We tested both the Japanese and the Chinese food. Both were excellent. Simple place and atmosphere, but highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ume also viewed

Chexbres, Canton of Vaud
Chexbres, Canton of Vaud
 
Chexbres, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Ume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.