We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Urspelt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau d'Urspelt to your Saves list
Chateau d'Urspelt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Schlass, Urspelt, Clervaux 9774, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urspelt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The building is very well conserved and new refurbished. Staff were friendly and breakfast was ok with lot of choices and good coffee. We were in summer, so we were able to explore the area. It is not so far from a nice lake and a small town. The best was the private sauna which you can reserve on advance. It is a very romantic place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    92
    43
    18
    3
See reviews for
13
233
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haaltert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Plus: The rest is a fixed value, were it not for a photo shoot going on was just at the time of our stay for a wedding magazine. The guests were to + - 0200u in the night noise in the courtyard ...

Less: Staff very unfriendly bar. Almost 40 minutes to wait for the ordered our drinks. Bartender was more interested in the guests who were there for the photo shoot. Was same bartender who served in the restaurant, and it was therefore correspondingly its commitment to the bar ...

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

What an awesome place , I wanted to go to Bastogne so see the war memorial , we drove there at night - Would not do that again - roads are a bit badly lit and winddy).
It is a lovely place in a great setting - would like to be by the fire on a winter day - it must get cold there.
It was not expensive - and had a sauna and a hot tub.
Go on - go there

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was acceptable in most aspects apart from the restaurant. The single waitress showed very little interest in us spending most time out of sight. It was 25-30 minutes before we could ask for a drink. The meal continued in the same way. We eventually received our main course which was cold. We did not attempt to order dessert. We received no water or bread along with our meal. Other guests were also having trouble communicating with her.

Our experience was reported that evening and on checking out. I left a constructive written letter to the manager which has not been responded to.

I was also asked not to publish anything on trip advisor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We recently bought a Wonderbox coupon and decided that we wanted to stay at Chateau Urspelt for one night. We didn't have a reason to be in the area other than to explore Luxembourg. It's in a nice and quiet neighbourhood not far from Clervaux.

We thought the Chateau was very nice - smaller than what we thought it would be based on the pictures. The inside was lovely, candles everywhere, an amazing rustic smell... the outside was well maintained. Yes, there is farmland around it and it gives of a certain smell, but we thought this was part of the authentic experience :)

It was warm-ish in the room (on the top floor) but there was a fan in the room that made it bearable.

Our one big complaint would be the mattress - it is WAY too soft. Perhaps it is because we both have sensitive backs, but for this reason alone I am happy that we only stayed one night. I could not have slept on it for a second night.

We took advantage of one of the spa rooms (hammam and jacuzzi) and it's very nice that you get the room to yourself for an hour. Perhaps it would be good to have towels available in the spa area.

Overall we were happy with our stay. The Chateau is clean and staff is very friendly. Breakfast was delicious and a large selection of different kinds of food was available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Although the hotel accommodation was good, the experience of staying there was spoilt by the restaurant. Do not eat there, after 1.5 hours we had still not eaten, other guests had the same problem, staff did not inform you of a delay, they avoided you! We had to ask for drinks and bread and left without eating! The food was very limited in choice and very over priced, the wine was also very expensive.
Yannick the general manager appeared from out of the kitchen when we phoned him from reception, he was apologetic and offered us discount, this was appreciated but we went to bed without any food as the nearest restaurant was 3 km away and we has already been drinking so couldn't drive anywhere else.
It could be improved as the room was good.
Church bells rang continuously at 6.30 am!!!

Room Tip: Don't go for ground floor as you hear everyone above and beside you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick R, Directeur général at Chateau d'Urspelt, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Allisonhereford !

Thanks for your recent stay with us.

As I've explained to you during our nice meeting in the lobby, we have experienced an unexpected staff shortage on last 27th of Mai.

This incident has generated a significant delay in our food service, for your table & a second one indeed.

I'm very concerned about this incident, extra procedures has been now initiated in order to avoid this situation, well beyond our standards.

Concerning your experience, we have been very sorry to have seen you left when your plates were brought to the table, and we deeply regret this situation.

Food room service was directly proposed but refused.

It may be also useful to balance your overpricing & choice remark : 22,- € for a Beef "Filet Pur" plate is below average market price in Luxembourg. Concerning choice, 25 different meals are proposed, which is also above average "à la minute" menu card.

As stated in your review, a significant (55%) commercial reduction has been indeed directly applied on your hotel bill. Unfortunately for us, your review don't take in account any of our efforts, but I guess that's part of the game.

Anyway I truly regret to have not be able to convince you of the quality of our kitchen.

Feel free to contact if needed.

Regards,

Yannick Ruth
General Manager
Château d'Urspelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Chateau for our friends wedding; quite honestly it was a perfect place.

We drove from the UK with our 11 week old daughter and arrived at 10am, far too early for check in but the staff made our room ready in 30 mins.

The setting is wonderful and quiet. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. Finally, the food is absolutely magnificent.

Would recommend this Chateau and Luxembourg to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Urspelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Urspelt

Address: Am Schlass, Urspelt, Clervaux 9774, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Clervaux > Urspelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urspelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau d'Urspelt 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Oesling region, this luxurious, 18th century castle is fully renovated and offers a classic and stylish setting for your stay in Luxembourg. With beautifully decorated suites and guest rooms that exude the authentic grandeur of this castle, château d'Urspelt provides you with a romantic haven of peace. This magnificent residence is classified as a national monument and features modern convenience and style, while adding its traditional charm.this castle is located in the area of Clervaux, surrounded by green fields and charming villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau d'Urspelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Urspelt Hotel Urspelt
Chateau D'Urspelt Luxembourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Urspelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.