We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau d'Urspelt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau d'Urspelt to your Saves list
Chateau d'Urspelt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Schlass, Urspelt, Clervaux 9774, Luxembourg   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urspelt
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon (late) September 2012. I find it hard to believe there are negative comments about this amazingly restored chateau.

This was by far the best experience with an accommodation venue we've ever had. The suite is absolutely beautiful, the attention to detail with the restoration was first rate, the room furnishings are exquisite, the restaurant food was to die for, selection for breakfast was ample.. really - we could not fault anything. We were truly made to feel like royalty by the attentive staff.

Wi-fi strength is weak outside of the greater reception area (due to the stone walls etc), but staff were more than happy to supply a network cable for us to access the internet from our rooms.

Nespresso machine in the room was also a very welcome touch.

We booked in for the wellness centre on our last night, (i'm still surprised they don't charge extra for it) the massage spa was great. The jacuzzi was even better!!

I would recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: Go for the suite! it's worth every cent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    84
    40
    15
    3
See reviews for
12
210
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable four nights there. The rooms could do with air conditioning rather than having to open windows and invite the flies in. Breakfast was a little slow, but the food was good when it was replenished. The staff seem to be a mix of bright friendly youngsters and one or two crusty unfriendly oldies.
Plus points: Comfortable beds, lovely restored building and the location - absolutely superb.
Down sides: Slow service at breakfast, rip-off evening meal prices and constant classical music all day and all evening in every public space ( I used to love classical music before this!)

Room Tip: Don't overlook the courtyard - it's where the marquee is erected for big weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on 9th August and were very impressed with the castle, the furnishings,and the room ( although we were disappointed to find no tea and coffee making facilities ) We arrived quite late but were able to catch the restaurant for a meal, which was excellent with great, friendly service. The bill was quite large but we felt that we were at the high end of dining so didn't think twice about it, although my husband had to ask for the receipt.
The night was quite hot and we soon found that the room was too, as there was no air conditioning. We had to open the window to get what little air there was. Because of this we were woken up early the next morning by the noise ( and disgusting smell ) from a pig farm only metres away from the the grounds of the hotel. We realise that this is out of the control of the hotel, but it doesn't make it any more bearable.
At breakfast my husband decided to look at the restaurant bill from the evening before, and found that the figures didn't add up. It transpired that we had been overcharged by 50 euros for a meal for 4 people. When we went to reception to query this we found that several quests had the same experience. The restaurant staff said that the computer was at fault ! We did get our money back and the reception staff were very apologetic and accommodating. We realise that mistakes can be made, and accepted this as it was dealt with in a professional manner.
We enjoyed the experience of staying there, they have restored it beautifully and sympathetically, and the staff are delightful, but I would have reservations about staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited Chateau d'Urspelt for a two night stay. The location and the way the buildings have been restored are extremely recommendable. It is a joy to linger around and think of yourself as a castle dweller for a few moments. The room was perfectly nice, spacious, clean and well appointed. A small heads up for the beds though. In this room, they were "lits jumeaux", not to wide and very soft. Roll around in your sleep and you may slide off. Well, it happened to me, but it did not take away from the enjoyment of the stay.
The private use of the wellness is also a bonus and was very much enjoyed.
We visited the Victoria restaurant once and took the menu of 39 euro. A very well rounded Chassagne Montrachet was on offer for 40 euro. All in all, the cuisine was very good. Small let down on the creme brulee which was not tepid but came out of a cooler.
Taken into account the ambiance, we felt perfectly content with the experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

First, we are 40 years old and our references are more the European 5 stars hotels (Kempinski, Sofitel,..) than the 4 stars ones. Our feedback is balanced to take this into consideration.
Second, we carefully red all the comments before booking the hotel.
Third, we stay for 2 nights and had 1 dîner in the restaurant :
1° Accomodation : we were rather close to the jacuzzi and sauna area, on the first floor, so the corridor was rather hot, induced by these warm places. Nevertheless, keeping our window opened, we haven't been disturbed by the temperature nor the noise (it is very quite outside).
Nevertheless, I can believe that customers staying under the roof suffered from the temperature, especially in the sunny summer. (sunny and Luxembourg, does it go together) ?
2° Hotel : it is unfair to say that this is not a 4 stars hotel : this former castle or ruine, has been completely (give a look at the pictures before) refurbished in a neo classical style. The refurbishing is high quality : furnitures, camera, tiles, accuracy of the details....in line with the 4+ stars hotels (above Mercure's 4 stars then). But yes, it is not a 600 years old English mansion with old tapisseries, very little modern comfort and a risk of electrocution switching-on the light in the bathroom.
3° Restaurant : presentation, service, quality, timing, was ok BUT as observed elsewhere in other good restaurants (but without Michelin stars or bib-gourmand), the staff is often too friendly and doesn't know what they are serving...don't try to ask a wine advice regarding to the champagne composition (pinot noir or chardonnay)....or the subtile combination of the "trou normand", you will be disappointed....I even didn't receive the wine card.... It seems as you can only have this information in Michelin restaurant...Times are changing....
4° As other customers, we faced some technical problems : one towel missing in our room on the second day, hammam not warm, but all this has been solved on time very quickly by the hotel team.
5° Weak point : there is a farm growing pigs at 100 meters from the castle. Sometime, the air was an horror, but it was only outside...Inside, we didn't suffer any unappropriate smell, but the place is not appropriate for an outdoor event. Ndlr, we are living in the countryside not far from Brussels and we are used to "countryside smells" ;-)

Room Tip: A room on the first floor, ideally with a view on the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

As stater by others, location and views are very nice. Service when I came in was OK. However it was clear that as a businessman a 8am breakfast was too late. I asked for 30-40 min. earlier and was answered that this would have to been seen the next day. Next day it turned out that it was not possible. I only asked for a croissant or similar. Room was decorated with quality materials but was very small and bed too soft for my liking. Unacceptable issue however was that the room under the roof was that hot, thar I couldn't really sleep (even with the room fully open). So all together a so and so experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel , located in a superbly renovated chateau, is a real discovery. The rooms are spacious, furnished as in a booklet, with separate very nice bathroom (only some more toilet articles might be provided). There is a minibar in the room. It is located in a very quite part of Luxemburg, in the middle of a rural area. It is a relief to awake by the sound of the nearbuy bell in the clocktower and by the cows in the nearby farm. Unless you prefer to stay in a concrete hotel block, in the middle of a city, wakened up by the waste collectors at 4 o'clock in the morning, this chateau is a heaven of piece.
The breakfast is excellent, in a niece room, and the restaurant is more than good. You can not always expect to find a four star restaurant in a four star hotel. The winelist is superb and not to expensive for the quality received.
It is not completely true that the receptionists do not understand dutch. They do. However you cannot expect them to be fluent in this language as you cannot expect receptionists in a dutch hotel to be fluent in french.
It is a real discovery and, with some small details adapted (e.g. slippers in the bedroom-toilet amenities) , certainly a candidate to be granted five stars.
I travelled whole my life all over the world, for business, staying in the most high ranking hotels. I can confirm that many of the so-called 5 stars do not reach the standing of this hotel.
It is worth while staying there for a short break as starting point of some sight seeing in Luxemburg/Germany.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yannickruth, Responsable relations clients at Chateau d'Urspelt, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Albertbrussels,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback & stay with us !

Your review give us all the energy & motivation to work better day after day.

From all the team (informed of your review), biggest thanks from Urspelt !

We are all here looking forward to host you here again very soon !

Best regards from Luxembourg,

Y RUTH
Am Schlass
L-9774 URSPELT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau d'Urspelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Urspelt

Address: Am Schlass, Urspelt, Clervaux 9774, Luxembourg
Location: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Clervaux > Urspelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urspelt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau d'Urspelt 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Oesling region, this luxurious, 18th century castle is fully renovated and offers a classic and stylish setting for your stay in Luxembourg. With beautifully decorated suites and guest rooms that exude the authentic grandeur of this castle, château d'Urspelt provides you with a romantic haven of peace. This magnificent residence is classified as a national monument and features modern convenience and style, while adding its traditional charm.this castle is located in the area of Clervaux, surrounded by green fields and charming villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau d'Urspelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Urspelt Hotel Urspelt
Chateau D'Urspelt Luxembourg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau d'Urspelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.