We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for a Lunchtime Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern at Tansley

The Tavern at Tansley
Nottingham Road, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5FR, England
+44 1629 57735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Tansley
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: English, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for a Lunchtime Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Decided to visit this pub after doing a search on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.
First of all - parking. Plenty of off-road parking in the spacious car park at the side of the pub on Nottingham Road.
The pub itself is of a reasonable size with a good number of tables for diners. Staff were friendly and polite.
Good choice of food, including Pensioners Specials (Mon - Fri) costing £5.25 for a main meal, or £7.50 which includes a 2nd course sweet. Drinks are normal pub prices - a 250ml glass of Merlot costing £5.05.
Our food was delicious (not huge portions, but adequate). The Cheesecake and Hazelnut Torte puddings were fantastic.
Would we visit again? Definately well worth a return visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    48
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Cavery a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have only done the Sunday Cavery but the value for money is excellent. Good selection of veg and choice of three roasts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious and fabulous service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Many thanks to the staff and chef at The Tavern in Tansley for a superb meal! We loved the home-made soup and prawn in garlic butter starters which came with a small side salad. This is my second time eating at this pub and everything we had was delicious, especially the home-made pies and chicken wrapped in bacon! If you want excellent food in a great atmosphere with friendly and efficient service, then you will love this pub! Can't wait to go again next time we visit Matlock.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous, friendly fayre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The food here is all made on the premises and sourced locally where possible. I went last September and had the Deli salad and booked there and then for a Christmas Fayre meal on 7th December. Both meals were really good with ample portions (could not eat the mince pie served with the coffee as I was so full). Service is exemplary and friendly. Can't wait to go again, its a good hours drive but definitely worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“perfect Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Called in at the Tavern at Tansley for Sunday lunch, the place was very busy but we only waited about five minutes and was given a table in the restaurant at the back never been in there before, it was nicely laid out, we decided to have the carvery ! there was a choice of three meats Turkey ,Beef ,and Gammon which you could have a slice of each if you liked there was a very good selection of veg and roast and mash also everything was hot and nicely cooked . The staff go out of their way to help are very polite . We have been many times to the Tavern at Tansley and it never disappoints ! . Very good value for money and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern at Tansley also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern at Tansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern at Tansley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.