We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem in the beautiful Derbyshire countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tansley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Foxholes Lane, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5LF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Tansley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem in the beautiful Derbyshire countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I needed a peaceful couple of days away and Silver Ridge was certainly the perfect place. From the moment we set foot in the place Claire and Paul made us feel extremely welcome. The room we stayed in was so clean, bright and the attention to detail was excellent-it was like a home from home! The breakfasts were delicious and there was a wide variety of choice using locally sourced produce. I especially enjoyed the fruit compots! Claire and Paul were also on hand to offer advice and suggestions on places of interest to visit. The local pubs were great for food at night, we particularly enjoyed the Tavern at Tansley. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone thinking of visiting the local area, it is within the lovely quiet countryside yet close driving distance to Matlock, Bakewell and Chatsworth. Fantastic trip away and the best B&B we've stayed in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
123
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just enjoyed our 5th break here - we never visit anywhere more than twice usually which speaks volumes! Wonderful welcome with coffee and cake, accommodation as delightful as ever and as for the breakfast - just forget about needing lunch! Claire's fruit compotes are very tempting and so unusual. Also worth a mention are the terrific new laid eggs from their chickens!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms seem great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a fantastic b&b. Couldn't fault it. From the outset Claire and Paul were more than helpful, especially when we had to change our booking and then cancel part of our re-arranged booking.
You are made to feel like a friend of the family rather than a guest and we can well understand why they have achieved 5 stars.
It was my mothers 88th birthday while we were there and Claire appeared with a bottle of wine for us . . . .it's the little things that make all the difference!

Room Tip: The large double room on the ground floor is more of a suite than just a bedroom and well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The warmest welcome and what a fantastic place. Claire and Paul are some of, if not the most accommodating hosts I have ever had the pleasure to meet. The accommodation was outstanding and the attention to detail superb. Haven't slept that well since coming around in post op.
On hand to give advice on places to visit and eat and directions.
Be warned though, the walk from the local, The Gate after a few ;) drinks is a bit of a killer (Pen Y Fan ain't that steep) and take a torch cos by Christ are those lanes dark.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemyock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Silver Ridge is absolutely fantastic. We were greeted on arrival with tea and fruit cake and an offer to carry our bags in. The room was very comfortable and extremely well appointed, from the robes in the built in wardrobe to the Denby tea cups and Rombouts filtered coffee. There were a range of packaged toiletries in the bathroom, luxurious towels and even an iPod docking station. It was also the leanest place we have ever stayed and this includes some expensive hotels!
Claire and Paul made us feel completely at home and could not have done more. The breakfast was served without delay and was very tasty. The sausage in particular was fantastic. We are about to book our second visit already and would not hesitate to recommend Silver Ridge to anyone else who is looking for a perfect stay in The Peak District.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pine Room but Claire and Paul showed us the Oak Suite which was very spacious and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

this is a great b and b, everything was good... very clean, quality furnishings, good shower, comfy bed, the hosts were excellent made you feel very welcome. we always "rate" the food in places and this gets a 9 for breakfast, it was superb. (no where has been worthy of a 10.... ever!) if you want peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings i suggest you give silver ridge a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent four wonderful nights at Silver Ridge and it was the finest B & B we have stayed in, ever. The location is beautiful - surrounded by fields and farms and the property itself is beautiful. Our room was extremely comfortable with all of the amenities one would expect from a first-class property. Everything was spotlessly clean. Claire and Paul were extremely friendly and helpful when we had questions. They had a variety of pamphlets and maps available to use when planning trips in the area. Cold bottled water was always available as were tea, coffee and packaged cookies in the rooms. The breakfasts were delicious and the home-made preserves, home-made bread and fresh fruit were always in abundance. A wonderful place to spend a romantic weekend or just to get away and enjoy some peace and quiet in an idyllic setting!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is the largest, but all three rooms are extremely well-appointed and very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Foxholes Lane, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tansley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Ridge is a luxury 5 star Bed & Breakfast with a gold Award. Set in 1 acre of mature gardens, surrounded by fields and woodlands. This quality accommodation offers peace & tranquility with a high degree of privacy to our guests, including a separate dining room and entrance. Along with award winning quality home cooking,using homemade & fresh local produce where possible, this all adds up to a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast Tansley, Matlock, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.