We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Forresters Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darwin Forest Country Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darley Moor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darwin Forest Country Park
Save
You added Darwin Forest Country Park to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Matlock, Darley Moor, Matlock DE4 5LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid Forresters Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just back from a 4 night midweek break at half term. The lodge was to a high standard and always warm. The only thing missing was a tumble dryer. It rained most of the time and it was hard to keep things dry. On our first night Forresters was fully booked and they were so busy they could not do take aways. We booked for the secomd night. It took 70 minutes to get our pizzas even though the restaurant was not full. I only had the pizza because they had run out of the vegetarian pasta. The pizza was not thin crust as advertised. It was stringy soggy and very difficult to eat. It was a real disappointment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you experienced a very busy "foresters bar & restaurant". Unfortunately with up to 400 people on site we have to run on a booking system to guarantee a table. Takeaways are cooked from exactly the same kitchen so when orders come into the kitchen they are cooked in an order if they are unable to cater for a takeaway they will recommend a local alternative who deliver to the lodge..
I am sorry you did not enjoy your pizza, they are normally amazing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    112
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
270
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have just had a fantastic family weekend at Darwin Forest Country Park - we stayed in the Woodland Cottage. It completely catered for all our requirements - five adults and two toddlers, there was a large dining room together with a large kitchen, spacious well laid out bedrooms with two large family size bathrooms, cots and highchairs also provided. To top it all the garden was enclosed and the children could play outside, they did need to be supervised however as there are a few steps and brick wall just off the patio area leading to the raised lawn. The swimming pool and facilities were excellent and there were plenty of outside things to do with the children. There is an indoor soft play area on site and there is a charge for this, but there is was sufficient to do as the weather was good - a last resort if its raining. We had Sunday lunch in the restaurant and that too was very good. All the staff from the reception, bar staff, on-site cleaners to the maintenance man were very friendly and helpful. We had such a good time we booked again for next year. Well done Darwin Forest!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a great holiday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Faultless! On the higher end of the price scale but worth every penny. Lovely swimming pool too on site and woodland walk/kids wooden play equipment around the site. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had an amazing Indian delivered to the lodge (so good we had it two nights!).
Can't wait to be back in august!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We cannot wait to welcome you back to Darwin Forest!! Thank you for the great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stopped for the bank holiday weekend at the beginning of May and had a fantastic time with our four year old. We stopped in lodge no 43 - an Chatsworth elite spa 2 with hot tub. The lodge was spotlessly clean throughout and well stocked with bin bags, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, spare tea towels, plenty of luxury bath towels etc. The lodge was really kitted out to a very high standard with modern decor and felt like home from home for the weekend. The hot tub water was checked twice daily and we felt that the hot tub was screened very well from adjacent lodges to provide privacy. Again the hot tub matched the lodge for cleanliness.
Onsite we used the "little monkeys" indoor play area, visited the outside playground, games room, on site store, played Crazy golf, enjoyed the woodland walks and orienteering and would recommend them all. All kept clean and tidy and all staff we met were helpful and polite. We didn't use the fitness centre or restaurant but only because we had fantastic weather so ate mainly on the decking of the lodge, both however looked to be in keeping with the high standards set in the park. We used the local Indian Shimlars for a takeaway- highly recommend for excellent service and food. We saw plenty of nice looking coffee shops, deli's, a fish and chip shop and a Chinese if you need them only 5 minutes from the park. Useful to know as well is that there is a large Sainsburys supermarket only 5 minutes from the park.
Can not recommend highly enough and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked a "Chatsworth" lodge and when we arrived everything was perfectly finished and spotlessly clean like it was in its first year of letting. We tried to book a lodge with a hot but but apparently they are hard to come by. The lodges had everything you could need, from towels to dishwasher and tablets.
The lodges are separated with a respectful distance from each other and the park was not noisy at all. The grounds are huge with a forest walk and a running track.
We used the restaurant one night, the prices were roughly just under the £10 mark, but the food was beautifully cooked, the portions were huge and the service was of a high standard. I would of liked to have tried the breakfast but that's only on the weekend and we did not get a chance.

Room Tip: Try the out restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Owner at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We are glad you had a relaxing break!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Very clean and new looking lodges, helpful staff and perfect location. Would definitely recommend!
We went for a hen party but great for all ages.
The restaurant on site had great service and tasty food!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Absolutely beautiful place. Hired 2 eight berth cabins for weekend break for party of 13 celebrating a birthday. Ages ranged from 2 to 60. Cannot fault staff, cleanliness of lodges or the park itself. Must say we were blessed with the hottest weekend of the year too. Will def return at some point. Everything included eg iron, towels,hair dryer,toaster,tea towels, washing up liquid,dishwasher with tablets and tea bags coffee sugar and milk. Even a stair gate for toddlers on the decking outside

Room Tip: Had rooms 17 and 33. The latter being slightly newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darwin Forest Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Forest Country Park

Address: Matlock, Darley Moor, Matlock DE4 5LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Darley Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Darwin Forest Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Peak District, Darwin Forest is a 5-star holiday park in a delightful woodland setting. Accommodation is in modern self-catering lodges with everything provided for a great family holiday. Lodges sleep form 2 to 8 people. Facilities include indoor swimming pool, indoor play area, bar/restaurant, tennis, beauty therapy, soft play and woodland walks. Darwin holds the David Bellamy Award for Conservation at Gold standard. Handy for Chatsworth, Bakewell, Haddon Hall and all the sights of the Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darwin Forest Country Park Hotel Two Dales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darwin Forest Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.