We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent chill out place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darwin Forest Country Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darley Moor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darwin Forest Country Park
Save
You added Darwin Forest Country Park to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Matlock, Darley Moor, Matlock DE4 5LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent chill out place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I and our Manchester Terrier stayed at the Elvaston pet friendly lodge at Darwin Forest for a three night weekend break excellent to unwind great facilities with sauna and hot tub great walks fantastic food at the foresters couldn't have wished for anything more returning in November

Room Tip: Lodges on the edge of the park have more privacy if that is what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    112
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
270
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stranraer
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

just returned today 14/07/2012 from darwin forest counrty park for the 3rd year in a row ,
we just love it there , facilities are excellent , for a fairly large park it is very private , our lodge , number 47 , was overlooked by only one other lodge .
The lodges are of a high standard and are relatively cheap compared to equivalent parks elsewhere.
The athmosphere around the park is very relaxed , no night time entertainment so no shouting etc outside at night unlike a lot of other holiday parks. .
The area around the peak district has something for everyone , we are never short of something to go and do or see , on or off the park
Highly recommended to those with young kids , ours are 5 and 3 , we cant wait to go again next year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute 3 night at this holiday park with my wife and toddler, from the first impression driving into the park until we checked out everything was fantastic. The staff in all areas of the park are exceptionally friendly, every where is immaculate, we used the pool, little monkeys soft play and the restaurant all of which we would happily re use time and time again, we were staying in a ribor lodge which was a two bedroom lodge, it was really traditional but at the same time modern and very very clean. We have already enquired on coming back later this year. We would definately recommend to anybody

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our first ever trip to Darwin Forest . Our lodge was fantastic everthing we needed. It was clean and sat snuggled between the trees. The little extras like dishwasher tablets,cloths,washing up liquid was a nice touch. We used our hot tub at least twice everyday. It was checked everyday to insure it was clean for use. Our very sporty teenagers loved the gym and pool.We had great service from start to finished.The forest walks, trim track, mini golf we used most days where all great even in the pouring rain.On our last night we ate at foresters. Food was fab and price was what you would expect for a good meal. Staff made us feel very welcome. Wish we had tried it at start of holiday. Overall had a great time and will diffenently be back. Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boldon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have experienced fabulous holidays at Darwin Forest for many years. We have just returned from a week and I am now very disapointed with the whole experience. The lodge was very grubby . I found the food at the Foresters very poor and it has lost its community feeling. Cannot believe you have let such assests like Mike and Julie go BIG MISTAKE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Mrs H, We are truly very sorry to see these comments as you have been one of our most loyal customers and friend over many years. Our Head Receptionist has called you on a couple of occasions to discuss the issues that you have raised and naturally we would hope to convince you to reconsider. Unfortunately we have not yet been unable to have this discussion - but do call us and we hope to be able to find a way forward. On the specific points you raise, we would agree that certain aspects of the lodge you stayed in were a little below the usual high standards we set ourselves and we are now putting this right. Taste in restaurants is a very personal thing, but as we have stated in other reports, the vast majority of our guests find the new offering very agreable. Also as mentioned elsewhere, Mike and Julie were indeed highly popular but they chose to retire from the business, despite our best efforts to get them to stay. Our new team are settling in well and are creating a super atmosphere which we hope you will come to enjoy in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

just returned from a week at Darwin Forest, we really enjoyed our stay. even the constant rain didn't spoil the fun. We have used other "luxury lodge" parks around the country and this is up there with the best of them. the good bits were the fantastic grounds and location, the park facilities are superb, the beds are the most comfortable we have had in any previous lodge and the hot tub with the Peveril VIP was fantastic and maintained daily by the friendly park staff. the free WiFi is an added bonus and kept the kids occupied with their gadgets during the heavy rain. we had a few niggling itches in that although the accommodation was spotless clean it was pretty basic and not as luxurious as we have had before (for less money) fussy i might be, but also very measured! one of the reasons we booked this location was the tennis court. my son is an avid player and was quietly disappointed that the court was not up to his standard. i think what he meant was that you could not see the base line as the line markings were so worn and needing repainted! during the week we were there, I never witnessed anyone else using the facility (could have been the weather) but maybe it could be the £4 per hour to use this facility. I grudged it out of principal having paid what I did to stay for a week. so with my niggling itches aside, we had a fantastic week and i would recommend as a place to visit

Room Tip: go for the "hot Tub" it makes all the difference and the deck areas are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just spent a week at Darwin Forest Country Park, and although the june weather left much to be desired, we were very impressed with the park and accomodation. Our dogfriendly Riber v.i.p was very comfortable, and cosy and as frequent and very keen Center Parc visitors, we were really impressed and thought the lodges were better equipped and more comfortable than there. All verandas face south west, catching any sunshine through the day. We were in number 18 which had a beautiful view of Forty Acre Wood, which has lovely walks, and we had frequent squirrels visit, and a good variety of birds. The park itself is a joy, with plenty of space, woods, parkland and a couple of ponds. Everything is very well kept and there are rhodedendrons and foxgloves everywhere, with many wild flowers and well mown pathways through the parkland.
We had a bbq for the week which cost only £10 which was refunded when we'd finished with it.The service was brilliant. We had a toaster pack up on us and my husband reported this to reception, which was a five minute walk away, and at the same time told them we had finished with the bbq. A new toaster had been delivered and the bbq picked up before he had walked back!!!
We had our 14 year old norfolk terrier with us, who we don't like to leave, but as you are allowed to leave a dog for a short time, we ordered a takeaway from The Foresters, and had a quick drink. The staff were very friendly, and the food very good.On the strength of that we nipped out for sunday lunch while our dog was sound asleep after his walk, and we were delighted with the quality of the food and the service. I've read poor reports of the Foresters, and I believe it has been refurbished, so may have new staff but we were very happy with all aspects of our meal and would definitely go back. We didn't feel the prices were excessive. You can take a dog in the garden for a meal, weather permitting of course!!
We didn't use the pool,but we had a hot tub which was fun, especially in the rain!!
The park is quiet. I don't think it would appeal to teens, as apart from mini golf and soft tennis there is little for them, but I would think it's great for younger children.
There's a lot to do and see in the area. We were restricted because of the dog but there a plenty of dogfriendly pubs in the area, and Chatsworth allow dogs in the grounds and gardens, and that was well worth the trip. As was the Peak railway - short, but sweet! Dogs allowed too.
All in all, a lovely park. Well appointed lodges with lashings of hot water and large fluffy towels, and everything you need really. The woodland store is good for the very basics only.
When we left we were given a small packet of imperial mints for our journey. A nice thought!

Room Tip: Even numbers 10 through to 36, and 90 through to 110 have, in my opinion, the best views, but the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darwin Forest Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Forest Country Park

Address: Matlock, Darley Moor, Matlock DE4 5LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Darley Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Darwin Forest Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Peak District, Darwin Forest is a 5-star holiday park in a delightful woodland setting. Accommodation is in modern self-catering lodges with everything provided for a great family holiday. Lodges sleep form 2 to 8 people. Facilities include indoor swimming pool, indoor play area, bar/restaurant, tennis, beauty therapy, soft play and woodland walks. Darwin holds the David Bellamy Award for Conservation at Gold standard. Handy for Chatsworth, Bakewell, Haddon Hall and all the sights of the Peak District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darwin Forest Country Park Hotel Two Dales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darwin Forest Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.