We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy but small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luna to your Saves list
Hotel Luna
Via Buonamano 28, Ascona 6612, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Ascona
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfy but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed for one night with my friend. The room was very clean and it smelled good and fresh. Bathroom was a delight; nice big window, very clean, newly renovated(?) and surprisingly spaceous. The room was maybe a little bit too small for my taste but for one night it was ok. Nice balcony facing lush backyard.
Excellent location. Five minute walk to the pictorescue harbour and restaurants, one minute to the nearest grocery.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a nice big window in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed last weekend for 3 nights whilst on our holiday travelling from Lake Como to Lake Maggiore. We wanted to stay in Switzerland before going back to Italy. The hotel is clean and very near to the beautiful old town of Ascona. We preferred Ascona to Locarno as it had a medieval feel to the maze of little streets. The room was large enough for 2 comfortable chairs as well as the large bed etc. The gardens were nice to relax in after walking around most of the day. The big downer is the building site next door which did affect us on Friday morning but they weren't working at the weekend so that was ok. There is nothing the charming owners can do about this until the apartments are built. The breakfast was a good range of choices and it was nice to be served tea or coffee instead of having to get that yourself. Everything in Switzerland is so expensive so it was good to find this hotel. The owner was very helpful when our camera had a problem and it looked as if we had lost 9 days of our photos. He looked on his computer to check that they were still there even though we couldn't retrieve them. My husband has now sorted that thank goodness.

Room Tip: We chose a room away from the road but this was next to the building site so I can't really say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. rooms are basic but clean and spaceous. It's a very relaxed and nice feeling in this hotel. Within a few minutes you're almost everywhere in Ascona. Locarno is an easy 15 - 20 minutes walk away. It's the best value you can get in Ascona!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a one night stay and would definitely come back. It's not that far from the town centre and the staff were very accommodating. The room was basic but very clean and great value for money. The place has a very relaxed feel to it that you may not get at some of the more upmarket places. Many thanks !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Kids friendly and relaxed atmosphere - and great location: no need take your car to go to the Ascona lake front, just stroll past the post office into the old town and enjoy the little shops and restaurants...not having to look for parking spots!
My kids and I truly enjoyed our stay at the hotel Luna!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

After having visited Ascona for many, many years, this hotel is still the best, both quality- and price-wise!
The owners, Patrizia and Glen, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The approx. 30 rooms are spaceous, clean and so are the bathrooms.
Breakfast buffet room is large and light.
Breakfast buffet is very good, with various types of self-baked breads, ample choice of meat- and cheese products and of course various sweet products.
It is real value for money. Do not fully understand why this hotel has only 2 stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for one night in June 2011. The hotel is good but not great value for money but then nothing in Ascona is. It is a very expensive place. Pretty and nice views of the lake but not from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLunaAscona, Manager at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Seenabit,

We are sorry that you were not so happy with our Hotel, we always try to do our best to ensure a guest's happiness.
Ascona can be expensive depending on the budget one has.....
We have a very clear and straight price philosophy which is appreciated by our guests, and for Ascona we have a good value for money (see other reviews).
We hope that you still have a nice memory of our Town and our Hotel.

Best regards,

Glen Brändli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Address: Via Buonamano 28, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ascona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a clean, well-kept, family run Hotel with friendly and attentive service. Located in a quiet yet central area with own free parking spaces. All rooms are equipped with a bathroom (WC & shower or bathtub, hairdryer), balcony, laminate floors, telephone, radio, cable TV, safe, free Wi-Fi connection. Elevator, single garage boxes, garden, ping pong, game room (with pool table, table soccer & darts) and rental bikes are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Ascona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.