We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden Roc to your Saves list
Hotel Eden Roc
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Albarelle 16 | 6612 Ascona, Ascona 6612, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Ascona
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Ascona ist beautifully located on a hook on the shore of lake Maggiore. The hotel is on the side of the central strip near the harbour. Main building and a secon one called Marina. We stayed in the latter in room 12 with little sea view sideways (cost more) and view to the main building where 2 of 3 restaurants, the bar and a lounge are (also for breakfast) and the elevator/stairs to the spa area. the rooms in Marina are at least CHF 230.-/night cheaper than in the "real" hotel, but we could use all amenities and never felt "second class". Room pretty small but nice with beautiful bathroom including "rainforest" shower.
There is a hallway from the Marina to the main building (very convenient).
We had half board (CHF 70.- per night and person) and 1 night included (4 for 3-package from the hotel webpage) so easily "saved" 1'200 swiss francs. We therefore had dinner 4 times in all 3 restaurants and the food was outstanding!

CHF 2'000.- for 4 nights is no bargain but worth every franc!

Spa: indoor "kneipp-weg", hot tubs, pool, heated outdoor pool with sea view!

breakfast: great variety but never too much. sea view from indoor as well as outdoor! perfect.

Room Tip: lake view, worth the money if you spend enough time in your room. otherwise you'll see the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
„Wonderful hotel in perfect location“


Ascona, 2 May 2014


We refer to your recent stay at the Eden Roc Marina and thank you very much for having chosen our hotel and for your positive comments.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays and appreciated the rich breakfast buffet, the different dinners in our three restaurants as well as the spa.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Eden Roc /Eden Roc Marina. In the meantime we wish you a nice and sunny spring and send you our kindest regards.

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    34
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
125
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Yes it is expensive, but it is worth it. I typically like the grand old hotels of the world with their traditional decor but the Eden Roc somehow radiates the same splendor combined with swiss efficiency and their inbred hospitality. The rooms are contemporary with high quality furniture and fabrics. Service is attentive and professional. The hotel is situated right on Lago Maggiore. I preferred swimming in the lake over the two large pools the hotel has. The food is superb - I enjoyed lunch in La Casetta, an old separate building, lake front on the hotels grounds; I believe some treaty or surrender was negotiated or signed there - read the plaque on the wall. You can walk to the village or use one of the hotel bikes. Boat rentals on the premise! Great spa. Breakfast buffet is overwhelming.

Room Tip: If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, go for the more expensive lake view otherwise Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and in a simply stunning location right on the lake and close to 'downtown' Ascona. Incredibly comfortable room with balcony overlooking lovely Lake Maggiore. Sensationally friendly staff and the finest food I've eaten in living memory. Gorgeous terrace from which to watch the boats drifting by and reflect on the meaning of life. My only regret is that I could only spend a couple of nights here as a month would have done me the world of good. I can't praise this place highly enough although I have done my best. Heaven!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Google Translation
„Perfektion“


Ascona, 24. Oktober 2013


Sehr geehrter Herr Clive A.

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie den Aufenthalt im Hotel Eden Roc so sehr genossen haben und am liebsten länger geblieben wären.

Das ist das schönste Lob, dass Sie unserem Team, das jeden Tag bemüht ist, die Anforderungen und Wünsche unserer Gäste zu erfüllen, und zu übertreffen, machen können. GRAZIE!

Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald wieder im Hotel Eden Roc willkommen zu heissen, und verwöhnen zu dürfen, und grüssen Sie freundlich.

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The night before I arrived at Hotel Eden Roc I stayed in a dump in East London. Now I am sitting at my desk on the third floor of this superb hotel gazing out on Lake Maggiore as the late Autumn sunshine glisters on the water.

The joys of Italian cuisine and warmth are coupled with Swiss precision to combine to deliver a world class hotel. This is an like old fashioned grand hotel but with modern twists in a small and charming town. I am unable to fault anything.

With its mix of restaurants delivering tasty pasta and fish dishes on a terrace overlooking the lake to fine cuisine in a sophisticated dining room this place does not come cheap, but for a weekend of unrequited luxury it is most definitely a place to put very high on the 'must do' list.

The staff are all first class with a world class spa and every creature comfort a jaded international traveller could look for. My suite is superb with a walk in wardrobe larger than the room I was offered at my previous lodgings hard by London City airport from where I flew.

We are here to play two local golf courses, popular with Germans and Swiss but rarely visited by my fellow Britons who favour the Italian side of the lake. They do not know what they are missing.

If you feel like pampering yourself and enjoy a small, quaint town to explore with its narrow cobbled streets and welcoming bars and shops then Ascona is a must. And the Hotel Eden Roc the very best place to make as your base.

Room Tip: Make sure to go the whole hog and book a room overlooking Lake Maggiore. When opening the curians on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
“A world class hotel in a sensational location”

Ascona, October 21, 2013

We refer to your tripadvisor comment dated October 19, 2013 and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Eden Roc.

Your description of the room, the positive comments about our restaurants and the assessment of our service have filled us with pride and motivate the whole team to improve and perfect our standards even more.

We appreciate your positive valuation very much and thank you for your praise. Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Eden Roc in the near future, we remain with kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent two nights here in September. The hotel and grounds are just beautiful and the service was excellent. We dined at the Marina as well as La Casetta and both were very good. Very short walk to old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We wanted to stay in Ascona and had the choice between the Giardino and the Eden Roc. From an architectural/amenities/design point of view, we might have preferred the Giardino, but then we figured the most important thing for us would be to stay on the lake, so we opted for the Eden Roc.

Oh and how glad we are to have made that choice! Not just because of the lakeside location. Not just because a later stay at another Giardino Group hotel proved to be utterly disappointing. But simply because the staff at Eden Roc offers outstanding service and does everything to make you feel welcome.

The buildings, and in particular the interior, may have a bit of a retro-feel about it. Tromp l'oeuils everywhere, strange color and material choices—at first sight one might be a little worried what this stay might turn out to be like. However, that feeling quickly dissipates once you realize just how much the staff care.

First of all, it's standard operating procedure to give all new arrivals a tour of the premises, complete with historical details of this house. After that, all your luggage is in your room. We had a suite with lake view, a spacious balcony, a big bathroom with all amenities you may wish for. We are quirky travellers who often make special requests, and guess what: At Eden Roc they're more than happy to make everything happen.

The restaurants are so good, you'd almost want to eat on the premises every night, although then you'd miss out on all the cute places Ascona and the region have to offer. The sommelier is extremely knowledgeable and, of course, more than happy to accommodate any wine requests you may have, if at all possible.

Do book the boat trip. The concierge will rightly recommend you go visit l'Isola Bella. What an unexpected and fun excursion!

There is no lack of attention you will get, and at the same time you can always just do your own thing and be left alone. Sitting on a beach chair on the lawn, with the view of the lake and the alps is simply one of the most relaxing things will ever do in your life. The hotel is so utterly peaceful and quiet—this has become one of our "happy places."

Your breakfast is included, and in line with the hotel's unassuming style, it's up to you if you want to have it in your room or at the buffet. We recommend the buffet however, as it is a classy spread with a selection of incredible produce, mainly sourced locally.

We often travel to five-star destinations, but this one is for sure among the ten best choices we have ever made!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
“Service second to none, awesome location”, Mr. Oliver P.,


Ascona, September 24, 2013



We refer to your tripadvisor comment dated September 19, 2013 and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Eden Roc at the end of August 2013.

Your outstanding assessment of our service and the quality of our restaurants has filled us with pride and motivates the whole team, who is constantly trying to improve and perfect the standards even more.

We appreciate your positive valuation very much and thank you for your praise. Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Eden Roc in the near future, we remain with kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Eden Roc is located right on the lake. We relaxed all day on one on the many sun lounges and just gazed at the amazing view. The lake is a hub of activity with boats coming and going - never a dull moment. For a bit of exercise, we took out a paddleboard or kayak. The rooms are beautifully appointed and exceptionally clean. The service throughout the hotel is amazing, we were made to feel very welcome. Also just a short stroll to the restaurants along the lake. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Address: Via Albarelle 16 | 6612 Ascona, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ascona
#2 Spa Hotel in Ascona
#3 Family Hotel in Ascona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden Roc 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Roc Ascona is a true small gem with unique Mediterranean charm. The five-star resort stands out for its spaciousness and unrivalled lakeside view. In addition to its 37 suites and 58 rooms the hotel offers a 2000sqm spa. The inspiration for the design of the luxurious wellbeing area, with water world, sauna and seven new treatment rooms plus hairdressing salon was provided by the natural beauties of Ticino - more precisely, seven local flower species and the many colours of the lake, ranging from silver gray to sky blue. The Eden Roc Marina contains 16 rooms, a casual restaurant and an unrivalled range of water sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.