We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every Rappen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Save Saved
You added Hotel Eden Roc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Albarelle 16 | 6612 Ascona, Ascona 6612, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Ascona
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Worth every Rappen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Yes it is expensive, but it is worth it. I typically like the grand old hotels of the world with their traditional decor but the Eden Roc somehow radiates the same splendor combined with swiss efficiency and their inbred hospitality. The rooms are contemporary with high quality furniture and fabrics. Service is attentive and professional. The hotel is situated right on Lago Maggiore. I preferred swimming in the lake over the two large pools the hotel has. The food is superb - I enjoyed lunch in La Casetta, an old separate building, lake front on the hotels grounds; I believe some treaty or surrender was negotiated or signed there - read the plaque on the wall. You can walk to the village or use one of the hotel bikes. Boat rentals on the premise! Great spa. Breakfast buffet is overwhelming.

Room Tip: If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, go for the more expensive lake view otherwise Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    24
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
23
100
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and in a simply stunning location right on the lake and close to 'downtown' Ascona. Incredibly comfortable room with balcony overlooking lovely Lake Maggiore. Sensationally friendly staff and the finest food I've eaten in living memory. Gorgeous terrace from which to watch the boats drifting by and reflect on the meaning of life. My only regret is that I could only spend a couple of nights here as a month would have done me the world of good. I can't praise this place highly enough although I have done my best. Heaven!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Google Translation
„Perfektion“


Ascona, 24. Oktober 2013


Sehr geehrter Herr Clive A.

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie den Aufenthalt im Hotel Eden Roc so sehr genossen haben und am liebsten länger geblieben wären.

Das ist das schönste Lob, dass Sie unserem Team, das jeden Tag bemüht ist, die Anforderungen und Wünsche unserer Gäste zu erfüllen, und zu übertreffen, machen können. GRAZIE!

Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald wieder im Hotel Eden Roc willkommen zu heissen, und verwöhnen zu dürfen, und grüssen Sie freundlich.

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The night before I arrived at Hotel Eden Roc I stayed in a dump in East London. Now I am sitting at my desk on the third floor of this superb hotel gazing out on Lake Maggiore as the late Autumn sunshine glisters on the water.

The joys of Italian cuisine and warmth are coupled with Swiss precision to combine to deliver a world class hotel. This is an like old fashioned grand hotel but with modern twists in a small and charming town. I am unable to fault anything.

With its mix of restaurants delivering tasty pasta and fish dishes on a terrace overlooking the lake to fine cuisine in a sophisticated dining room this place does not come cheap, but for a weekend of unrequited luxury it is most definitely a place to put very high on the 'must do' list.

The staff are all first class with a world class spa and every creature comfort a jaded international traveller could look for. My suite is superb with a walk in wardrobe larger than the room I was offered at my previous lodgings hard by London City airport from where I flew.

We are here to play two local golf courses, popular with Germans and Swiss but rarely visited by my fellow Britons who favour the Italian side of the lake. They do not know what they are missing.

If you feel like pampering yourself and enjoy a small, quaint town to explore with its narrow cobbled streets and welcoming bars and shops then Ascona is a must. And the Hotel Eden Roc the very best place to make as your base.

Room Tip: Make sure to go the whole hog and book a room overlooking Lake Maggiore. When opening the curians on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
“A world class hotel in a sensational location”

Ascona, October 21, 2013

We refer to your tripadvisor comment dated October 19, 2013 and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Eden Roc.

Your description of the room, the positive comments about our restaurants and the assessment of our service have filled us with pride and motivate the whole team to improve and perfect our standards even more.

We appreciate your positive valuation very much and thank you for your praise. Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Eden Roc in the near future, we remain with kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent two nights here in September. The hotel and grounds are just beautiful and the service was excellent. We dined at the Marina as well as La Casetta and both were very good. Very short walk to old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We wanted to stay in Ascona and had the choice between the Giardino and the Eden Roc. From an architectural/amenities/design point of view, we might have preferred the Giardino, but then we figured the most important thing for us would be to stay on the lake, so we opted for the Eden Roc.

Oh and how glad we are to have made that choice! Not just because of the lakeside location. Not just because a later stay at another Giardino Group hotel proved to be utterly disappointing. But simply because the staff at Eden Roc offers outstanding service and does everything to make you feel welcome.

The buildings, and in particular the interior, may have a bit of a retro-feel about it. Tromp l'oeuils everywhere, strange color and material choices—at first sight one might be a little worried what this stay might turn out to be like. However, that feeling quickly dissipates once you realize just how much the staff care.

First of all, it's standard operating procedure to give all new arrivals a tour of the premises, complete with historical details of this house. After that, all your luggage is in your room. We had a suite with lake view, a spacious balcony, a big bathroom with all amenities you may wish for. We are quirky travellers who often make special requests, and guess what: At Eden Roc they're more than happy to make everything happen.

The restaurants are so good, you'd almost want to eat on the premises every night, although then you'd miss out on all the cute places Ascona and the region have to offer. The sommelier is extremely knowledgeable and, of course, more than happy to accommodate any wine requests you may have, if at all possible.

Do book the boat trip. The concierge will rightly recommend you go visit l'Isola Bella. What an unexpected and fun excursion!

There is no lack of attention you will get, and at the same time you can always just do your own thing and be left alone. Sitting on a beach chair on the lawn, with the view of the lake and the alps is simply one of the most relaxing things will ever do in your life. The hotel is so utterly peaceful and quiet—this has become one of our "happy places."

Your breakfast is included, and in line with the hotel's unassuming style, it's up to you if you want to have it in your room or at the buffet. We recommend the buffet however, as it is a classy spread with a selection of incredible produce, mainly sourced locally.

We often travel to five-star destinations, but this one is for sure among the ten best choices we have ever made!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
“Service second to none, awesome location”, Mr. Oliver P.,


Ascona, September 24, 2013



We refer to your tripadvisor comment dated September 19, 2013 and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Eden Roc at the end of August 2013.

Your outstanding assessment of our service and the quality of our restaurants has filled us with pride and motivates the whole team, who is constantly trying to improve and perfect the standards even more.

We appreciate your positive valuation very much and thank you for your praise. Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Eden Roc in the near future, we remain with kind regards.

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Eden Roc is located right on the lake. We relaxed all day on one on the many sun lounges and just gazed at the amazing view. The lake is a hub of activity with boats coming and going - never a dull moment. For a bit of exercise, we took out a paddleboard or kayak. The rooms are beautifully appointed and exceptionally clean. The service throughout the hotel is amazing, we were made to feel very welcome. Also just a short stroll to the restaurants along the lake. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nestled on the shore of Lake Maggiore aside the exquisitely pretty town of Ascona you'll find this gem of a hotel which ticks the box of just about everything you can ask for.

I have said in a previous article that the Swiss are probably the best at managing hotels and this establishment only goes to prove that point.

You will find few here that are not Swiss German who demand attention to detail and for things to run efficiently...On this, Eden Roc will not disappoint..

It is perfect for that peaceful rest you wanted to have at a place where you are royally treated.

Delightful terraces and gardens abound with separate pools for adults and children.

Dining options are plentiful and varied in the hotel or their marina who provide rental boats for those that wish to explore the wonderful scenery of this most beautiful lake.

No, it's not the south of France, its better, and who wants to be in that crass environment anyway !!!

If desired, a gentle stroll along the waterfront after supper to one of the many coffee or gelato locations makes a perfect end to a day of peace and relaxation.

It's a challenge to get to and will likely involve a lengthy car journey from either Milano or Zurich.

Trust me, you will not be disappointed...

Room Tip: Main hotel, lake facing second or third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Address: Via Albarelle 16 | 6612 Ascona, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
#5 Family Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden Roc 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Roc Ascona is a true small gem with unique Mediterranean charm. The five-star resort stands out for its spaciousness and unrivalled lakeside view. In addition to its 37 suites and 58 rooms the hotel offers a 2000sqm spa. The inspiration for the design of the luxurious wellbeing area, with water world, sauna and seven new treatment rooms plus hairdressing salon was provided by the natural beauties of Ticino - more precisely, seven local flower species and the many colours of the lake, ranging from silver gray to sky blue. The Eden Roc Marina contains 16 rooms, a casual restaurant and an unrivalled range of water sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden Roc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.