We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hôtel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castello Del Sole to your Saves list
Castello Del Sole
Via Muraccio 142, Ascona 6612, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Ascona
zurich switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent hôtel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

we spend 2 days in this hôtel. playing Tennis .we were3 times here.this hôtel is good situated.not far from ASCONA you can live your car at the parking ,you have the hôtel bus every hour.the rooms are very nice ,bath also .beautiful view from the room on the mountains plus the lake.staffs are extremly nice,the site is just marvellous breakfast is very nice, Food also. the Swimming pool is big +SPA ,NICE also .it is really a nice place to stay if you like Sport or relax.you can swin in summer in the like. and the park with the flowers is beautiful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
35
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pully, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We came here as a family of 4 (2 kids with age 5 and 3).

First, the hotel has great infrastructure. Other than normal hotel facilities (restaurant, spa etc),it has a big garden with outdoor playground for small kids, a little farm with donkeys and horses, direct access to a nice beach.

Second, the staff is super friendly and professional. When we checked out, there was even a senior management to come over and say farewell to us with a little souvenir. They really demonstrate how important they treasure their customers.

We spent our Easter holiday there so there's extra fun. We have easter egg in room, unlimited access to easter eggs, bunny during breakfast time. There is also an easter hunt for little kids. Each come back with a big basket of Lindt chocolate !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was our second visit this year just before the winter closure. We thought the service was even more attentive and the staff more helpful and charming than before - even though this was hardly possible. For the first time we had booked halfboard and the food was superb (e.g. a fantastic fish buffet). Once again we enjoyed the beautiful and tranquil gardens and spent an afternoon reading under the trees in the warm autumn sun - paradise! We´ll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have passed a week end at the hotel with my family, although we booked a suite but we were given a 3 room suite, the largest suite I have ever had. The day stated with a breakfast in the garden with a well prepared and good buffet combined with a very pleasant and friendly service. Concierge service arranged for many things we desired in great efficiency, the dinner was very pleasant with the same friendly service. I did not try the SPA but had my half an hour swim in the pool, which was very enjoyable for the water had 31c and half the pool extended to the exterior. If you want to treat yourself in Ascona, this place is a must.

Room Tip: if you have a slight wind, try sailing from Ascona, you coudl return to the Marina near the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We got an absolutely lovely room with a bay window and felt so warm cared for. Huge garden, really rare in Tecino, fantastic spa, rich breakfast, nice to go to the old Ascona by bike. we will come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beside all the amenities it offers for families, couples and solo travellers, the Castello provides a remarkable infrastructure for cyclists as well. A fully equipped bicycle repository, offering towels, fresh water, mechanic tools, air pump, etc. is at every guests disposal and is a perfect starting and arrival point for a tour into one of the dozens of adjacent valleys. Last but not least: if you're looking for some tips and directions, ask the hotel director. He is a passionate cyclist himself...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 4 days. Excellent attentive service. Beautiful hotel with lovely grounds and gardens. right on the side of the lake. Has the atmosphere of a family-run establishment. Al fresco dining on the lawn and super relaxing evenings. Fantastic Spa and tennis facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Del Sole

Address: Via Muraccio 142, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ascona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ascona
#2 Family Hotel in Ascona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Castello Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Sole Ascona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello Del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.