We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and small, pleasant surprises all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giardino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Giardino to your Saves list
Hotel Giardino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Segnale 10, Ascona 6612, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Ascona
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Fantastic service and small, pleasant surprises all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife, son and I spent just three days at this delightful spot on our way to Italy. The hotel is beautifully set out, the gardens are immaculate and the facilities gym. What sets it apart is the quality of the service, the fantastic food and the way you get little surprises every day that make you feel good. We tried both restaurants and they were both better than we expected. The 2* restaurant is pricey but sublime if you're a real foodie - I have never experienced such combinations of flavours, textures and imaginative plating up. Breakfasts will be hard to beat anywhere. And the "normal" restaurant is pretty darn good too. The service, however, is extraordinary. Everyone is upbeat, cheerful, helpful and friendly without fawning all over you all the time. From the moment you walk through the front door you are know you are going to be looked after - but discreetly. The guy that checked us in - Stefano I think his name was - looked out for us the whole time we were there, and his colleagues were always aware of who we were, what we were looking for - sounds a bit over the top, but it really wasn't. We will go back, but if you want to leave the cares of daily life outside the door - go here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    22
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
70
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went there for an extended weekend with the whole family after a period of hard work. While it takes me usually a few days to wind down, here we were on vacation from the first moment. The service was superb, the food fantastic and the pool was a great place to enjoy. We took the hotel's bicycles to explore Ascona and Locarno. We went for one dinner to the restaurant "Ecco": the food and also the service were outstanding. While this place isn't cheap it comes with a very natural luxury - there are a lot of families with kids and you never feel out of place. It's just comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family and I spent a long weekend here (kids aged 7 and 8).
The elegant surroundings and the 'villa-like' atmosphere, which were attractive to the parents didn't stop the kids having a great time. The pool area is very cool but provides plenty of distraction for the kids. The Kids Club is TERRIFIC.
It was the first big weekend of the summer and and the service in the restaurants was a bit hap hazard, but I'm sure they'll fix that quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful hideaway and I can safely say that we will always remember it. The hotel grounds are gorgeous, with a koi pond, lemon trees, roman statues, and an indoor and outdoor pool. We loved our chic but comfy "morning sun" room and balcony with a spectacular view of the Ticino mountains. The very attentive, helpful and multilingual staff really made us feel welcome and attended to. We didn't bother dining outside of the hotel as the food (breakfast and dinner) was divine. This is the perfect place to unwind and recharge by enjoying the sheer beauty of the hotel and the nearby lake and golf club. If only I had the extra cash to buy a serviced apartment connected to the hotel, I definitely would!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having stayed at The Giardino before I was nervous to go back. Our last trip was absolutely flawless from start to finish. Im so pleased to say it was again an absolute pleasure to visit this hotel. From the moment we checked in (assisted with a glass of spumante) to the horrible moment of having to leave stff, food, room and hotel in general were faultless. This truly is an exceptional hotel and one that I will keep returning to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic but we love having a room overlooking the mountains rather than the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne, switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have returned to this hotel after its refurbishment some time ago. It is even more beautiful than before. No change as regards the friendliness of the staff, the sumptuous breakfast, the underground garage at no extra cost, the quality of the food at the Aphrodite and the sheer pleasure of having a drink in the evening in the comfortable lounge chairs around the pools. Some of your correspondents said that the mostly Swiss and German staff do not like to speak English. They have probably left as it is totally untrue. My wife is English and we live in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. When they overheard some of our conversation, they immediately switched to either French or English and spoke it very well. A most charming place to which we would love to return. The night butler offers you a choice of ten pillows and a "tisane" for a good night's sleep. Had a "morning sun" room with balcony on the first floor and were undisturbed by any noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Giardino Ascona is a gem if you want to hide away for a couple of days. The hotel offers everything you could imagine. The garden offers plenty of space to relax or to get involved in some great conversations. The food and drinks you get during the day are fantastic.

The hotel offers a daily program which includes daily wine tastings and different activities. The golf course around the corner looks fantastic. Unfortunately we haven't had the time to play.

The staff is fantastic and helps you with everything. The little attentions you get during your whole stay make you feel very special.

Choose this hotel if you want to spend some private time in a fantastic area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino

Address: Via del Segnale 10, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ascona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Giardino 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Giardino Ascona
Albergo Giardino Hotel Ascona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.