We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giardino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giardino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giardino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Segnale 10, Ascona 6612, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Ascona
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful hideaway and I can safely say that we will always remember it. The hotel grounds are gorgeous, with a koi pond, lemon trees, roman statues, and an indoor and outdoor pool. We loved our chic but comfy "morning sun" room and balcony with a spectacular view of the Ticino mountains. The very attentive, helpful and multilingual staff really made us feel welcome and attended to. We didn't bother dining outside of the hotel as the food (breakfast and dinner) was divine. This is the perfect place to unwind and recharge by enjoying the sheer beauty of the hotel and the nearby lake and golf club. If only I had the extra cash to buy a serviced apartment connected to the hotel, I definitely would!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    21
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
65
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having stayed at The Giardino before I was nervous to go back. Our last trip was absolutely flawless from start to finish. Im so pleased to say it was again an absolute pleasure to visit this hotel. From the moment we checked in (assisted with a glass of spumante) to the horrible moment of having to leave stff, food, room and hotel in general were faultless. This truly is an exceptional hotel and one that I will keep returning to.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic but we love having a room overlooking the mountains rather than the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lausanne, switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have returned to this hotel after its refurbishment some time ago. It is even more beautiful than before. No change as regards the friendliness of the staff, the sumptuous breakfast, the underground garage at no extra cost, the quality of the food at the Aphrodite and the sheer pleasure of having a drink in the evening in the comfortable lounge chairs around the pools. Some of your correspondents said that the mostly Swiss and German staff do not like to speak English. They have probably left as it is totally untrue. My wife is English and we live in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. When they overheard some of our conversation, they immediately switched to either French or English and spoke it very well. A most charming place to which we would love to return. The night butler offers you a choice of ten pillows and a "tisane" for a good night's sleep. Had a "morning sun" room with balcony on the first floor and were undisturbed by any noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Giardino Ascona is a gem if you want to hide away for a couple of days. The hotel offers everything you could imagine. The garden offers plenty of space to relax or to get involved in some great conversations. The food and drinks you get during the day are fantastic.

The hotel offers a daily program which includes daily wine tastings and different activities. The golf course around the corner looks fantastic. Unfortunately we haven't had the time to play.

The staff is fantastic and helps you with everything. The little attentions you get during your whole stay make you feel very special.

Choose this hotel if you want to spend some private time in a fantastic area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was treated to a week here as a Birthday present and Boy was I spoilt.
Everything about our stay was faultless and very relaxing.
Wonderful setting, lovely Hotel, Friendly staff and Great food.
This is my first review on Trip Advisor but I was so impressed I had to leave a review.
I am a sucker for detail and this hotel matched my expectations...Thank you everyone at Hotel Giardino
Once again Switzerland lives up to it's great standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Came back for the second time end of April, mainly for another visit to the restaurant Ecco which is (still) fantastic! Hotel service is great and very personal. Rooms are modern and nice. Lovely place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Giardino for 6 nights whilst looking at properties in and around Ascona. We drove down from London and arrived quite late, but we were greeted with smiles and a welcome drink at the bar and made a good friend in the barman!
Our room was really lovely, ditto the bathroom and there is a good amount of storage.
Although not in the centre of Ascona, there is a shuttle bus and if you miss it, a member of staff is always willing to pop down to get you, in our case the wonderful Claudio!
Every day you get a sheet with brief but interesting activities organised by the hotel, from a rendezvous in the cellar with the sommelier, to a bike ride up to the sister hotel for lunch or a trip to the market in a nearby town.
The service is what really sets the Giardino apart : friendly but professional, unobtrusive and seamless, with every member of staff going the extra mile for guests. We felt like family by the time we left and our only regret was not eating at the Michelin starred Ecco, so that is a definite on our next trip. The breakfasts are lovely and the food delicious in the Aphrodite restaurant and even in the lounge around the bar. I hope to return to enjoy the pool and beautiful gardens in warmer weather and get pampered at the spa. What a great place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino

Address: Via del Segnale 10, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ascona
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Giardino 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Hotel Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Giardino Ascona
Albergo Giardino Hotel Ascona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.