We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 C's.... Clean, Comfortable, Central but Costly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Carcani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Albergo Carcani to your Saves list
Albergo Carcani
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Motta, Ascona 6612 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Ascona
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“4 C's.... Clean, Comfortable, Central but Costly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Albergo Carcani during a birthday celebration weekend to Ascona. The rooms are bright and fresh and very comfortable. More functional than luxurious...... For two people you need to schedule your bathroom time, as there is not a lot of space. The hotel is perfectly situated on the Ascona front. We had 1st floor rooms that did not have a view and suffered with street noise. The windows are well insulated, so you need to close the windows and rely on the airconditioning. A very good Continental breakfast was included in our room rate and substantial to say the least. No restrictions on number of visits to the buffet, or number of coffees.
Now the best part.... The staff at the Carcani were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was exceptionally pleasant.
Would I go back or recommend to a friend...... Most certainly....!

Room Tip: Get a room atthe top of the hotel.... Look for any special rates....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albergo C, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Albergo Carcani, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It was a great pleasure for us to welcome and spoil you in our Albergo-Caffè Carcani.
We thank you very much for your good ranking on Trip Advisor and to recommend our hotel.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in another occassion we send
you sunny regards from the beautiful Ascona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
49
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location, couldn't be better. Atmosphere, perfect. Clean, well appointed and service is excellent. We got a room on the top floor with a view of the lake and the mountains. How perfect for the end of our vacation. Given the cost of hotels in this area, this is a bargain. Breakfast is very good and plentiful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berbourg, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My best friend and I were spending 1 night in the Albergo Carcani.
The rooms are freshly redecorated, nice and trendy, not luxurious but functional.

The beds are perfectly comfortable, we slept like in heaven.

The bathroom was small, but clean and with a gigantic shower cabin.
The only minus here is a sliding door which is not really soundproof - and we all know the consequences^^

The situation of the hotel and our room were perfect, from the third floor we had direct view onto the lake and the surrounding mountains, just wonderful.

Moreover the breakfast buffet offers a rich variety of different breads, cornflakes, fruit, cheese and meet, each dish fresh and with really good quality!
We were spending two full hours in the restaurant ;)

Check-out was as easy as the check-in and done in 3 minutes.
All the staff were really nice and spoke italian as well as german.

The price is rather high, we would have paid 260 francs for one night, but as I had a special price voucher, we only paid half price for the room, which made it really cheap for Switzerland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelFotog77
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The clean, simply designed rooms with a beautiful view of the lake and promenade were just about perfect.

Beds were very comfortable, shower fairly spacious and modern, and there was very little late night noise from the restaurants and bars on the promenade. Noise levels may be different during peak summer season, but closing the window should take care of that.

Food in the restaurant was very good - regional risotto, Italian-style tapas, Ticino wines.
Breakfast fairly standard with addition of Italian meats.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Carcani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Carcani

Address: Piazza Motta, Ascona 6612 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Carcani 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend time where life is beautiful – Ascona’s main piazza and the Albergo–Caffè Carcani is the ideal spot to indulge in the fine art of dolce far niente – the pleasures of leisurely life – in Switzerland's very own sun lounge along the shores of Lake Maggiore. The fully renovated hotel is located right on the lakeshore promenade in Ascona and offers contemporary rooms with wonderful views of the shimmering waters of Lake Maggiore. The Albergo-Caffè Carcani features a unique bar counter and spacious sun terrace, and stands out by virtue of its culinary diversity and congenial atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Carcani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Carcani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.