We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect boutique hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Antica Posta

Save Saved
You added Albergo Antica Posta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Antica Posta
via Borgo, Contrada Maggiore 4, Ascona 6612 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Ascona
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect boutique hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We just loved every second of being in this hotel, it was a step above most that we have stayed in while in Europe, in room size, comfort, friendliness and sophistication. The location was great and the staff (the lovely owner couple) were just perfect. I'd definitely recommend to anyone heading to Ascona.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Once again, following Tripadvisor's review has led us to yet another wonderful stay! Albergo Antica Posta is a true gem in Ascona. The ratings says it all. Stéphanie & Christoph are the most awesome hosts!! Everything you ask for, they go the extra mile. I think Tripadvisor should have a category for a 6-Stars service award!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Friends booked for us this charming little hotel. They told us there were only 7 rooms. We got the superior room with the little balcony and the Swiss flag. The room was very spacious, the beds were nice and big. We had a lovely HD TV set but not enough sockets for our laptop and cell phone. The wi-fi did not work during our stay but they told us at the hotel that this will be fixed soon. There were a few steps to climb to our room some of them real squeaky but as we had no neighbors it was not a problem. Breakfast was ample, you do have to ask for eggs if you want them. Dinner was fine but we had better dinners in other restaurants. The Bechter couple are very nice and accommodating. They carried all our luggage up to our room and down again when we left. The location of this hotel is very convenient.

If you have a car you get special permission to enter the pedestrian area, unload and then park your car at the Migro or Co-op garage for a reduced price (12 SFr per day).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Albergo Antica Posta in Ascona, Switzerland is a lovely small hotel run by the very hospitable Bechter family. The design inside is somewhat Scandinavian, with an open court and a glass-enclosed restaurant. Our room and bathroom were huge and comfortable. We could see a church tower out our window which was beautiful in the moonlight. The owners were extraordinarily kind and helpful (and their new baby was adorable). Breakfast was so nice, we wished we'd eaten dinner there also. Ascona itself is a charming village on Lake Maggiore with a pretty waterfront, just big enough for strolling and perusing the vendor stalls, which have nice jewelry and other wares.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

The owners of the hotel were very responsive the weeks before we arrived. Because we were coming in to Ascona on Easter Sunday, we wanted to make sure we knew what services were going to be available to us (just an aside, there were many restaurants and stores open). They were very helpful.

We arrived earlier than they said we would, but were promptly brought up to our room. We stayed in the Double Room Superior and it was very spacious; there were two beds a little bigger than twin-size pushed together and then a cute sitting area. I remember commenting that people with small children would like all of the space. The bed squeaked a bit anytime either of us moved--bit it was comfortable.

The hotel also has a restaurant on-site. I am a vegetarian and there were plenty of choices. My partner is an omnivore and had some excellent meat dish. The food was very high quality. Not to mention the white chocolate mousse for dessert!!!

The hotel was a quick walk to the lake.

The owners were very nice and a great resource. I would certainly stay there again and even took back some brochures to give to friends who will be heading that way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Antica Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Antica Posta

Address: via Borgo, Contrada Maggiore 4, Ascona 6612 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Albergo Antica Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Antica Posta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.