We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this hotel a miss” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lavaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lavaux to your Saves list
Hotel Lavaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Cantonale, Cully, Bourg-en-Lavaux 1096, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cully
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Give this hotel a miss”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We (3 adults) stayed at this hotel over the Christmas 2009 period and our Christmas holiday was spoiled by the hotel experience.

The hotel had absolutely no festive atmosphere whatsoever. The restaurant and bar staff were just plain unhelpful, unfriendly, rude and uninterested in you the customer. There is absolutely no grasp of customer service about the hotel at all.

The restaurant serves food that is childlike in potion. You will leave the restaurant feeling hungry and sadly the prices don’t match the small quantities, as you will pay a high premium for very little. Don’t even think about trying the traditional dinner and music in the cellar, as the food served here is even smaller in quantity and very poor quality.

The bar had 3 (yes 3) types of drink, brandy, whiskey and beer (excluding the usual soft drinks and water) and if you do like any of the above be prepared to wait as the bar staff are not interested in serving you and really do just ignore you.

As the hotel is situated along a main road and in the middle of nowhere there isn’t anywhere else you can go within walking distance so just be prepared to die of starvation and thirst.

The hotel itself is fairly clean but our lake view rooms did have that horrible lingering stale cigarette smell which was covered when we checked in by a pleasantly sprayed fragrance but thereafter we were left with the smell. The bathrooms were clean but could do with an overall, as there was the neglect of peeling paint, stains and wobbly wall units.

The train line outside the hotel is fairly busy which was surprising as it was the festive season but the trains didn’t annoy us.

Definitely not my idea of 3 stars. Bad experience all round and would suggest you do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    53
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
40
5
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Okay, it's not luxurious. It's barely just basic, but you can't beat the location, right in the heart of the Unesco Lavaux wine region, a few miles from Lausanne, and on the main road around Lake Geneva. The perfect base in other words.
The rooms are, well, basic and in need of an upgrade. But they are clean, and given that you're likely to spend almost all your time out exploring anyway, why should this matter?
What this place does have, is the most fantastic restaurant, a real surprise. The food is fabulous, akin to a luxury hotel and the chef is in need of great praising. Indeed, we ended up eating here all the time as it was so good.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Old hotel, nice restaurant with a very good food (specially the salad buffet)
Nice view to the lake and the french coast.
Every thing was allright, and the staff was very helpfull.
Every day, the manageress greets the guests.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOIDA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed one night at this hotel, and it was terrible. The hotel sits on a main highway near Cully -train station with lake front views. That is the only thing good about it. The building is very old and has been maintained just so that it can stand and fall down. The old shabby lift can fit in hardly two adults and if you are carrying big luggage forget it. The manager lady who is also owner we presume shows arrogant attitude towards customers and reads the rules when you checkIn like the customer is a kider garten kid and has no sense. There is no walkable restaurants around this place to either you have to eat the expensive not so worth lunch/dinner at the hotel or catch a train to go eat at some where else. The night we stayed there, there was a group booking of elderly/seniors from France so in the morning, we were told that majority of the sitting area is reserved for this Senior's group and we were denied a table for two to eat the complementry breakfast. Finally after lot of argument we were seated on a bar counter along with bunch of somokers and even though we requested that we are allergic to smoke were given no other option. Over all the hotel building infrastructure is frail and customer service attitude is terrible. Avoid this place at any cost.

  • Liked — View of the lake from hotel window
  • Disliked — Terrible customer service attitude of the staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

In view of the location right on the main road by the lake, the hotel is practical for people on the move and thus will always have customers whatever the price and service provided. Our room was at the back and so was not noisy but the view of a huge grey wall was not exactly charming and it made the room gloomy. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable which are the only positive points about the whole experience. The corridor was long, tacky and it felt like being in a hostel and the doors were not easy to shut.
The worst was breakfast. Situated in a region bursting with orchards and vineyards one would think that a few apples and grapes could have been offered rather than tinned fruit, processed cheese and waifer-thin slices of mortadella, ham and 'fresh' cheese. The coffee was out of a machine and was tasteless - not what normally finds in Switzerland. The breakfast manager was apparently stressed and unfriendly (don't know why because everything was self-service) and the staff on reception were not very coordinated between themselves with regard to finding our reservation and the fact that we had called to say we would be late.
If the hotel had been cheaper, I could have forgiven a lot of these issues but at SFR 180 per night for a double room it was absolutely disgraceful.

  • Liked — it was only for 1 night!
  • Disliked — breakfast, way over-priced, unfriendly personnel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Booked a cheap accomodation at this hotel but later regretted should have looked at all the negatives in the reviews. Hotel looks more like a hostel. Busy roa on the front which most people complain about but fortunately got a room on the back. Carpet looked mingy and the bathroom was so dark, couldt even shave properly. Had a dodgy shower which did work. Bed was creaaky and matresses needing changing.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — not clean
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

We spent a couple of weeks travelling in Switzerland. As our flight from London arrived in Geneva early evening we wanted to do a short drive to get some travelling underway. We picked this hotel as we just wanted one night acommodation before an early start next day. Certainly it is basic but fine for an overnight stop. Views across the lake are great and the rooms double glazed so the noise isn't too bad. However we had a long day travelling so would probably have slept anywhere. Restaurant served a good rosti , salad bar and local wine and coming from Australia we thought we got ok value for money which we did not expect in Switzerland!.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lavaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavaux

Address: Route Cantonale, Cully, Bourg-en-Lavaux 1096, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Vaud > Bourg-en-Lavaux > Cully
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cully
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lavaux 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lavaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lavaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.