We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldhotel Doldenhorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Waldhotel Doldenhorn to your Saves list
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kandersteg CH-3718, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Easy to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

After a long hike this is where you would like to be. Set back in the woods with mountain view . Fantastic spa and pool.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
57
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The town is nice, if not beautiful (compared to other Swiss Alpine towns) and the hotel looks the part of an alpine waldhotel. However, we were not given the suite that we reserved online and were actually lied to by the owner as to the reason (simply a case of overbooking after a later discussion with one of the staff). To make matters worse, his answer was to try to upgrade us and make us pay the full price for the upgaded room!!! When I rejected this absurd option I was continually interrupted so that the owner could make it clear that it was our fault for not reading the booking information in detail, examination of which still left us wondering what he was talking about. I won't bore you with the details any longer. Suffice to say the owner then declared that 'if we were not happy with him then he is not happy with us, and that we should stay somewhere else'. The arrogance that this man had throughout the entire ordeal was very surprising. In the end, he backed down from his threat to not give us any room and gave us the upgraded room that we did indeed pay more for so....he won I guess. We certainly lost on this hotel experience. Beyond this incident, I am unsure how this hotel received a four star rating. In short the aesthetic details are lacking and the entire experience seems very overpriced. To quote another gentleman staying at the hotel 'it's a four star hotel because of the price'.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Upon arrival we were offered a glass of Prosecco while completing our check in on the terrace, following which we were shown around the hotel's facilities before moving on to our suite. We meandered in the village in the afternoon before returning to enjoy the pool, spa, hammam and sauna. Despite the hotel being unexpectedly full due to the wonderful weather the staff continued to show that personal touch, right down to the excellent service and the menu on the table. The evening meal was a first class gourmet dinner, and the dessert trolley was enough to tempt even the most faint-hearted dessert eater like myself. The buffet breakfast was complemented with a la carte items cooked fresh to order. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed at the Doldenhorn for (unfortunately) only 1 night - will definately be back. Stunning location - quiet & tranquil. Front desk were helpful, friendly & professional and we were very well treated even though our stay was short. Our room was 'Economy' but it was large & well appointed and more than adequate. A welcome desk of Proseco (& hot chocolate for our son) was a nice touch. The Wellness Centre was excellent & one of the best I have been to in a non-Spa specialist hotel. There was a large pool (probably 17 metres, outdoor jacuzzi, indoor jacuzzi, 2 rock cave showers (popular with the boy!), 2 saunas, wet room, plunge bath & lots of space & beds for relaxing.

A nice touch at breakfast was the 'Doldenhorn News' paper listing activities in the area, guests & dinner menu + a summary of the world news. We loved the door hanging sign in our guest information pack which read 'Attention Dog in the Room' in 3 languages - next time we will bring our canine!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have just enjoyed a very relaxing and pleasant 10 nights in this very comfortable hotel. Our 'ambience' room was quiet, clean and spacious. The food was excellent and the complimentary afternoon tea with cake was especially appreciated. The staff were friendly and helpful though some were less confident when dealing with English speaking guests. Be aware that drinks and especially wine at dinner can be a bit pricey. The spa facilities were excellent and free. The hotel is a little way from the village but a free village bus( with guest card) is available and the hotel also offers transport into the village if requested. However the walk is a pleasant 15 minute stroll so it is no real hardship. Kandersteg is a very quiet village and not a place for nightlife but there are good hiking trails in the area. Good rail links for example to Interlaken and Thun made this a good base to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Recently back from a 10 night stay at the Waldhotel Doldenhorn. Rarely write reviews, but felt that the quality and service received were of such a high standard that a review was required.

From the initial arrival and being picked up by the courtesy bus, to the welcome drink in the bar and tour of the hotel the service was excellent. The quality and variety of the food on offer was superb - having stayed in some places where over 10 nights you see the same thing on the menu there was no danger of that occurring here.

The spa facilities were excellent, and given that the use of these was at no extra charge (unlike some places visited) and also came with free fruit juices available is great.

Overall I'd recommend the hotel to anyone, and Kandersteg's a great location for a summer walking holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I had long considered the Doldenhorn since my adult daughter lives in Switzerland and we search for quintessential Swiss locations and experiences but the opportunity to celebrate my daughter's birthday provided the chance. Contrary to other reviews we found the staff welcoming and friendly but not overbearing. When you arrive you are greeted with an apertif in the lovely living room area that feels like someone's home. The critique that mentioned the steps and carrying their own luggage was dismaying since there is another door just to the right of the main entrance that leads to the elevators. have no problem. Even if there was no staff you could pull your car right to that door and we had a large dog and the staff was glad to help us. We did encounter the problem with the construction but they immediately moved us to an upgrade that was a lovely suite. My suggestion: tell people when reservations are made or take the neighboring rooms out of service or offer a considerable discount for the noise.
Location-spectacular, food-among the best I have ever had anywhere in the world, spa-very well appointed with multiple steam rooms, saunas and lovely pool and jacuzzi. Walking into Kandersteg was special, passing Swiss cows and soaring mountains.
Afternoon tea, dessert and cheese carts that were astounding. Breakfast was bountiful-we had no canned fruit-perhaps it was a seasonal thing for the other guests but we encountered all fresh fruit, lovely meats and cheeses, bread to die for!
They decorated the table with hearts for my daughter's birthday dinner and gave us our own small chococlate cake. Annika was particularly helpful with recommendations of wine and menu choices.
We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldhotel Doldenhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Doldenhorn

Address: Kandersteg CH-3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldhotel Doldenhorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waldhotel Doldenhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel Doldenhorn Kandersteg
Waldhotel Doldenhorn Hotel Kandersteg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldhotel Doldenhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.